We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Long Beach Mauritius

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Long Beach Mauritius to your Saves list
Long Beach Mauritius
Coastal Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Belle Mare
Bucharest, Romania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dream honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Awesome resort, delicious food, lovely beaches and, above all, stunning people. The latter give the place even more value.
Thanks to the kind staff of Long Beach resort, our stay was the most relaxing time of this whole year.

A perfect destination for honeymooners and those in search of relaxation and stress relief of all kinds.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident Manager at Long Beach Mauritius, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
We are delighted to read that you had a perfect honeymoon stay at Long Beach and would like to express our gratitudes for your positive comments relative to the product and service offered.

Many thanks indeed for having chosen Long Beach for your honeymoon and looking to the pleasure of welcoming you back to our shores in the not-too-distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    574
    185
    70
    34
    13
See reviews for
251
449
14
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed here for 8 nights with my wife as part of our 3 week honeymoon. Overall we had a great time and the hotel was good, however there are quite a few things that dont really function/make it the true 5 star it is advertised as.
Having read alot of the reviews on here and the responses from the management team, it seems our views are pretty much shared by a few people who have stayed here. So here we go:
- Rooms: We had an upgrade to an ocean front villa (from our holiday company not the hotel). Room was spacious, very clean, full of mod cons (TV, coffee machine, ipod deck, loads of storage), so tick for 5 star standard. However, the toilet is contained in a glass cubicle that can be seen into it! The bathroom is not separated off by a door and one can be seen doing what they do in the toilet! this we found very weird. we are a young couple and open minded but this was odd. Surely this must have been considered when designing it?! Overall we slept well, but the shutters onto the windows to the main path didn't block the light out, given that there was a light outside the window this wasnt helpful to a good nights sleep. I raised this to see if it could be turned off (remove the bulb - simple), but just got a blank look! we ended up draping a blanket over the shutters. Also our door to the fridge was broken, raised on first day and wasnt fixed till day before we left
Facilities - Couldn't be faulted across the hotel. Spacious, lots to do, pools are nice/big, beach huge and always able to sit somewhere without being hassled by other guests.
Spa - Both had treatments and couldn't be faulted, 5 star!
Restaurants/food - Hmmm, very average! we stayed in some decent hotels across the world with a similar operation and this was below the standard. The Italian is literally pizza/pasta, Japanese was ok with average sushi and expected dishes. Chinese was simply rice/noodles and main dishes, nothing special. Buffet was fine, good mix of food, a little over cooked/dry as it is left out. By far the best restaurant was tides, good mix of dishes and best location on the beach.
Cost/value - We where on a fully inclusive package, which in my experience should mean fully inclusive, NOT as it was a small selection of the foods/drinks on the menu that we iuld have without extra cost! The wine we could have was below average, since we have been backed i have checked and you can buy the pearly bay for £5 online. A small selection of spirits and cocktails. Food wise, you could have the main dishes but the better dishes where quoted as with "supplement", this is where it becomes even more confusing. A supplement should be a cost to pay on top, this wasnt the case, the cost was for the whole dish. IE if i am having dinner and want a main that isnt in the package, why do I need to pay £30 not the cost of a main inclusive plus a fee on top? Very strange costing policy. Having seen comments on here, that the management try to explain this, is still isnt good enough. Makes you feel consistently like you are having the "free" stuff and not the top level service. We did pay for alot of extras as we wanted to have the better food, but was very pricey! £40 a head for lobster, £50 a head for the japanese (Not worth it as i say above!)
Service - This is where they fail. 2 of the service team (Dario and Dany), where exceptional. Overall you get a feeling that the staff are only interested in tips. The service is slow, you have to repeat yourself a few times to get orders (Wine and teas/coffees in the am - very tough to get!), on one occasion in the buffet we where completely ignored for 30 mins. I managed to speak to someone else (maybe a manager to ask for a drink) and watched as he went over to give the waiter a rollicking. Dario was a star, from the first day he helped us order some fries at the bar (had been said we couldnt have as it was late past 9?!) and on every occasion we saw him he would take the time to speak & ensure we had what we needed. Dany too, we spent alot of time at Tides bar and enjoyed Dany's top service. The rest of the team should have thorough training, it was noticed when a manager was around (breakfast) it went alot more smoothly. Check out was a bad experience. No one offered to pick our bags ( we called to request), then they wherent picked up! This was check out on 24th Nov, 2 other couples had the same problem. Then the check out bill was wrong. No offer of a drink/take away breakfast etc. very average

on a whole the place has loads of potential. Has a great facility, just needs the operational and overall quality lifted. We are experienced travellers and this is written in comparison with other hotels we have stayed at across the globe.

Room Tip: Try to keep away from the main plaza as could be busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Manager at Long Beach Mauritius, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
The Management wish to thank you for having taken the time to express your feeling with regards to your honeymoon stay at Long Beach. We certainly appreciate your observations and suggestions which will definitely assist us in improving our product and services. However, we wish to reassure you that all the bad experiences you were subjected to have been lengthily discussed and reviewed by all parties concerned for corrective and preventive actions.

We must admit that we have new recruits presently and rest assured that constant training is being conducted by the Hotel to improve our level of services and standards.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope to welcoming you back to Long Beach for an another experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed here recently with my wife and young baby. Overall we had a lovely time. There are many positives aspects of the hotel, but a few small niggles. With a few small adjustments they could have a truly outstanding offering.
On the positive side, the property is lovely. Very spacious with an un-crowded feel. The rooms are lovely. Very modern, with good space, nice terraces, great showers, a good coffee machine and the most storage space I have ever seen in a hotel room. We booked a sea view / beach front room, which had a lovely view, and which truly was only a few steps from the beach.
It feels a very spacious property. I understand that it was around 85% occupied when we were there but it never felt crowded. On the contrary it always seemed easy to get beds next to the main pool. This pool was huge and ideal for small children. There is also a separate adults only pool, and of course a huge beach, which again never felt crowded.
The piazza around which most of the restaurants are situated is a great idea. It creates a nice atmosphere in the evenings and gives children somewhere to run around and burn off steam whilst parents can still keep an eye on them, and without getting in the way of other diners (there are also plenty of tables in quiet corners of the restaurants if you prefer). There is decent enough entertainment each evening which we thought enhanced the atmosphere. The lay out of the restaurants and bars was also very nice.
There is a great gym, tennis facility, games area and lap pool in a quiet area of the property. The spa was excellent. Also included is free golf (you just have to pay for a buggy) at Le Touessrok, the hotels sister property, about 20 minutes away. This is a fabulous facility and well worth playing if you are a golfer.
On the food front, we had booked the All Inclusive option and found that there was just about enough choice. The food was good without being excellent. There was also more than enough choice drinks wise (a large choice of cocktails and the wine included was perfectly acceptable).
On the downside, as we stayed in the room on a few evenings (because of the baby), and found that the room service menu was limited (surprising given their choice of restaurants). However to their credit, Sapori restaurant allowed us to go in and choose from their menu, and then have the food sent to our room.
Some have mentioned that it is windy, and it can be. However we found this to be a benefit. Firstly it helps keep you cool, but secondly it keeps mosquitos etc at bay (there were one or two on the calmer evenings)
The only other downside, was the slightly patchy nature of the service. There were pockets of excellent service, where they really surpassed expectations, and in general it was decent, but on several occasions was not anywhere near 5 star standard. Check in seemed a little disorganised, once we received our welcome drink, and it took a while to get the baby cot in the room, despite having requested this ahead of time. This was a little frustrating given that we arrived at his bedtime, after a long day of travelling. The service at Shores bar was especially poor, and we repeatedly had to re-order / chase drinks up. It was also frustrating in the buffet breakfast that there were staff insistent on carrying your plate back to your table (even if it was only 5 yards away), but it could take 20 minutes to get a coffee. It felt as though many staff were inexperienced and were still learning their trade. If they can just bring a consistently good feel to the service standards, it could be an outstanding resort hotel.
On balance we thought it was excellent value. It is not a Four Seasons in terms of service, but then neither is the price.
Overall we felt it was exceptional value, and ideal for either couples or families.

Room Tip: Beach front / sea view room very nice, but from what we saw all rooms had easy access to the beach a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident Manager at Long Beach Mauritius, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
The Management would like to express our gratitude for your valuable feedback relative to your recent stay at Long Beach which have been much appreciated. Thank you for having chosen this venue for your holidays and we read with pleasure that in all aspects your stay was an enjoyable one.

Your comments pertaining to the request of baby cot has been well noted and wish to reassure you that we have already reviewed this issue for remedial corrective action. Similarly, our standard of service at the restaurant has also been reviewed for prompt action. We admit that few of our members are new recruits but would like to confirm that constant training is being conducted to improve our level of services.

Thank you once again for your comments which has been taken positively and will definitely help us to offer a legendary service to all our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We are a young couple who were looking for a last minute holiday, we booked long beach and got a decent deal because we went just before the winter season in Mauritius. You risk unpredictable weather this time of year but it was great during our stay. The hotel is on the windy side of the island but I like this, however if you want complete calm stay on the west side of the island!
We've been lucky to stay in a lot of incredible hotels over the years and in my opinion long beach is right up there. It's modern, clean, beautifully designed from the reception to the gym, the staff are fantastic, food varied and delicious, and our room was amazing! We had a beach front deluxe.
I liked so many things about this place it's difficult to list everything but I'll try and include here the main things I look for when scouring the reviews on TA.
-Rooms clean, spacious, and all in separate blocks of four to six rooms so not main hotel block. This minimises the risk of noise from surrounding rooms. Everything you could possibly need in there; hairdryer, bath robe, wifi, even one of those mosquito things you plug in. Although I was annoyed you had to pay for tea and coffee and for the ladies there was no conditioner so bring some with you!
- Food brilliant in all of the restaurants. Our fave was actually just the buffet. And we've eaten a lot of great Japanese in London and actually I wouldn't pay the extra supplement for the Japanese place if I went back. This was our least favourite meal of the trip.
- Facilities were fabulous. We used the spa which was so luxurious and the treatments fantastic. The tennis, gym, steam room, and lap pool were all great. We also did water skiing and the staff were really good fun and helpful who took us to do this. We don't have kids and usually avoid places unless they are adult only but although there were quite a few children in the hotel during our stay there is a kids club and so much to do we genuinely didn't really notice them! Just went a bit later to dinner also and seemed to miss them.

It wasn't full to capacity during our stay so I can't say if this is the case in high season but there were always plenty of sunbeds and staff available to help out. We always booked for dinner (except the buffet) but table availability never seemed to be a problem.

I would highly recommend long beach. We had a brilliant time, would go back, and have told our friends about it.
The only negative for some I think would be the wind.

Room Tip: Beach front can be a bit windy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident Manager at Long Beach Mauritius, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Your positive feedback are certainly gratifying for which we would like to sincerely thank you. We are delighted to read that you have been satisfied with the overall services provided by Long Beach and that you had an enjopyable stay among us.

Thank you once again for having chosen this venue and for referring our hotel to your friends.

We hope to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon to our shores.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

Not done a package/all inclusive holiday for about 10 years but thought would give it a go as just wanted some sun and not bothered about much else. I agree that it is a package holiday type place but for the money on an all inclusive deal it is incredible value for money. If you come here having written the cheque and see how much it's for you would be a little silly to think its going to be like four seasons or claridges.

Staff were all fantastic and far exceeded my pre arrival expectations. Rooms are brilliant (again for the money) they are like a top end crowne plaza or w hotel style,axor taps etc

Mountain biking trip was really good,lots of activities to do tennis courts etc

My only criticism is the lack of pay per view in rooms, would be nice to have movies available.

In conclusion if you like a big resort place and all inclusive type of holidays you will struggle to find anywhere as good as this. If you don't I would stay elsewhere.

Thank you once again to the lovely people that work at long beach.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident Manager at Long Beach Mauritius, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Your comments have been well appreciated and we are pleased to read that the overall aspect of the hotel has been to your expectation for which we wish to express our heartfelt thanks for having chosen Long Beach for your holidays.
Looking forward to welcoming you back to our shores next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paarl, South Africa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We traveled in a large group (thirteen) with ages ranging from two to sixty plus. We arrived late and the trip from the airport to the hotel took more than an hour. Luckily the staff greeted us with a smile and immediately offered us dinner, which was great! We had a problem with our room and it was dealt with proffesionally and we even received an upgrade and had a room on the beach! I loved the design of the room, bathroom and lovely extras! We had a superb coffee machine and as we chose an all inclusive package (highly recommended) we had lots of bits in the bar fridge to choose from. The kids could choose from many activities and had interesting excursions on the sea. We mostly relaxed by the huge pool and by the sea, had a fantastic spa experience and enjoyed the superb food. Should you wish to venture outside the resort, you will find a small cafe and some restaurants very close by (within walking distance). This hotel is a stylish version of a Club Med, with healthier choices in food, superb choice of music, well designed rooms and a fantastic, relaxing atmosphere. The underground tour that they offer to guests is a must and will give you a different perspective of the running of such a huge operation. Well done to the GM and his team of Long Beach Hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms on the beach is absolutely lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, resident manager at Long Beach Mauritius, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
On behalf of the Management and the Long Beach team, please accept our gratitude for having chosen this destination for your holidays. We are grateful to read from your valuable feedback that you had a fantastic and relaxing stay with us. We take note also about the room problem you experienced since your arrival for which we apologise sincerely.
Thank you once again for your praises and we hope to the pleasure of welcoming you back to our shores in the not-too-distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

No wonder this hotel is in the Sunday Times '100 Best Hotels in the World' - it was just stunning. We went for a beach front superior room and the all-inclusive package - and it really is all inclusive too - there is plenty of included dishes and drinks to choose from (we had the menus emailed over beforehand, so we knew). Ok, is not cheap - but the food was first class. The beach area is safe and clean and the rooms are spacious and spotlessly maintained. The whole design is modern, interesting and highly photogenic. We went in November 2012 and there was plenty of room for everyone - you never have to fight for sunbed space here. Staff-to-guest ratio is high. Most guests seemed to have been French, with some Brits, Germans and Japanese. Plenty of activities too - you really can't fault this place.

A couple of minor grouses. Why the hell does the shower and toilet have to be glass cubicles in a bathroom that was open to the rest of the room. I share intimacies with my wife, but that doesn't extend to taking a dump.

In my view, the restaurant staff are way over-attentive. I am 55 years old - I can pour my own wine, put my own napkin on my knee and even carry my own plate back from the buffet. There may, God forbid, come a time in my life when I become so infirm that I can't do any of these things, but until then I'll do it myself. Ok, I know they are only trying to be kind but it gets tiresome in the end.

Lastly, if you are on an all inclusive package - please be aware that your 'all-inclusivity' comes to an end at 12 midday - even if you don't fly till much later on that day. We made the mistake of having lunch at 12:30 and got stung for near £50 worth. Just imagine what that bill would have been if we had sat around the pool quaffing cocktails to while away the time. Nobody told us about that - so please remember this.

All-in-all though, a top holiday at a top resort hotel......

Room Tip: I can vouch for room 129 - ask for that and you'll get one within sight of the beach, but not ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident manager at Long Beach Mauritius, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
We would like to express our heartfelt thanks for your complimentary feedback pertaining to your recent holidays at Long Beach. We are very glad to read your gratifying words and that your holidays was a top one.
We take note of the all inclusive package which has not been communicated to you and sincerely apologise. However, we wish to inform you that a letter is being given to all guests upon arrival at the hotel, of course those partaking into the “All Inclusive package” whereby it stipulates that this offer ends at midday. We sincerely regret if this information has missed your attention. Nevertheless, this matter has been addressed to the Front Desk team in order to reinforce this information upon guests arrival.
With renewed thanks for your loyalty towards Long Beach and we look forward to welcoming you to Long Beach soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Long Beach Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Beach Mauritius

Address: Coastal Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Belle Mare
#6 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#6 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#7 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Long Beach Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Beach Mauritius Hotel Belle Mare
Long Beach Mauritius Belle Mare

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Long Beach Mauritius, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.