We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream Holiday!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Long Beach Mauritius

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Long Beach Mauritius to your Saves list
Long Beach Mauritius
Coastal Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Belle Mare
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Dream Holiday!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We are a young couple who were looking for a last minute holiday, we booked long beach and got a decent deal because we went just before the winter season in Mauritius. You risk unpredictable weather this time of year but it was great during our stay. The hotel is on the windy side of the island but I like this, however if you want complete calm stay on the west side of the island!
We've been lucky to stay in a lot of incredible hotels over the years and in my opinion long beach is right up there. It's modern, clean, beautifully designed from the reception to the gym, the staff are fantastic, food varied and delicious, and our room was amazing! We had a beach front deluxe.
I liked so many things about this place it's difficult to list everything but I'll try and include here the main things I look for when scouring the reviews on TA.
-Rooms clean, spacious, and all in separate blocks of four to six rooms so not main hotel block. This minimises the risk of noise from surrounding rooms. Everything you could possibly need in there; hairdryer, bath robe, wifi, even one of those mosquito things you plug in. Although I was annoyed you had to pay for tea and coffee and for the ladies there was no conditioner so bring some with you!
- Food brilliant in all of the restaurants. Our fave was actually just the buffet. And we've eaten a lot of great Japanese in London and actually I wouldn't pay the extra supplement for the Japanese place if I went back. This was our least favourite meal of the trip.
- Facilities were fabulous. We used the spa which was so luxurious and the treatments fantastic. The tennis, gym, steam room, and lap pool were all great. We also did water skiing and the staff were really good fun and helpful who took us to do this. We don't have kids and usually avoid places unless they are adult only but although there were quite a few children in the hotel during our stay there is a kids club and so much to do we genuinely didn't really notice them! Just went a bit later to dinner also and seemed to miss them.

It wasn't full to capacity during our stay so I can't say if this is the case in high season but there were always plenty of sunbeds and staff available to help out. We always booked for dinner (except the buffet) but table availability never seemed to be a problem.

I would highly recommend long beach. We had a brilliant time, would go back, and have told our friends about it.
The only negative for some I think would be the wind.

Room Tip: Beach front can be a bit windy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident Manager at Long Beach Mauritius, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Your positive feedback are certainly gratifying for which we would like to sincerely thank you. We are delighted to read that you have been satisfied with the overall services provided by Long Beach and that you had an enjopyable stay among us.

Thank you once again for having chosen this venue and for referring our hotel to your friends.

We hope to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon to our shores.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    159
    58
    26
    13
See reviews for
232
411
14
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

Not done a package/all inclusive holiday for about 10 years but thought would give it a go as just wanted some sun and not bothered about much else. I agree that it is a package holiday type place but for the money on an all inclusive deal it is incredible value for money. If you come here having written the cheque and see how much it's for you would be a little silly to think its going to be like four seasons or claridges.

Staff were all fantastic and far exceeded my pre arrival expectations. Rooms are brilliant (again for the money) they are like a top end crowne plaza or w hotel style,axor taps etc

Mountain biking trip was really good,lots of activities to do tennis courts etc

My only criticism is the lack of pay per view in rooms, would be nice to have movies available.

In conclusion if you like a big resort place and all inclusive type of holidays you will struggle to find anywhere as good as this. If you don't I would stay elsewhere.

Thank you once again to the lovely people that work at long beach.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident Manager at Long Beach Mauritius, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Your comments have been well appreciated and we are pleased to read that the overall aspect of the hotel has been to your expectation for which we wish to express our heartfelt thanks for having chosen Long Beach for your holidays.
Looking forward to welcoming you back to our shores next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paarl, South Africa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We traveled in a large group (thirteen) with ages ranging from two to sixty plus. We arrived late and the trip from the airport to the hotel took more than an hour. Luckily the staff greeted us with a smile and immediately offered us dinner, which was great! We had a problem with our room and it was dealt with proffesionally and we even received an upgrade and had a room on the beach! I loved the design of the room, bathroom and lovely extras! We had a superb coffee machine and as we chose an all inclusive package (highly recommended) we had lots of bits in the bar fridge to choose from. The kids could choose from many activities and had interesting excursions on the sea. We mostly relaxed by the huge pool and by the sea, had a fantastic spa experience and enjoyed the superb food. Should you wish to venture outside the resort, you will find a small cafe and some restaurants very close by (within walking distance). This hotel is a stylish version of a Club Med, with healthier choices in food, superb choice of music, well designed rooms and a fantastic, relaxing atmosphere. The underground tour that they offer to guests is a must and will give you a different perspective of the running of such a huge operation. Well done to the GM and his team of Long Beach Hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms on the beach is absolutely lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, resident manager at Long Beach Mauritius, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
On behalf of the Management and the Long Beach team, please accept our gratitude for having chosen this destination for your holidays. We are grateful to read from your valuable feedback that you had a fantastic and relaxing stay with us. We take note also about the room problem you experienced since your arrival for which we apologise sincerely.
Thank you once again for your praises and we hope to the pleasure of welcoming you back to our shores in the not-too-distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

No wonder this hotel is in the Sunday Times '100 Best Hotels in the World' - it was just stunning. We went for a beach front superior room and the all-inclusive package - and it really is all inclusive too - there is plenty of included dishes and drinks to choose from (we had the menus emailed over beforehand, so we knew). Ok, is not cheap - but the food was first class. The beach area is safe and clean and the rooms are spacious and spotlessly maintained. The whole design is modern, interesting and highly photogenic. We went in November 2012 and there was plenty of room for everyone - you never have to fight for sunbed space here. Staff-to-guest ratio is high. Most guests seemed to have been French, with some Brits, Germans and Japanese. Plenty of activities too - you really can't fault this place.

A couple of minor grouses. Why the hell does the shower and toilet have to be glass cubicles in a bathroom that was open to the rest of the room. I share intimacies with my wife, but that doesn't extend to taking a dump.

In my view, the restaurant staff are way over-attentive. I am 55 years old - I can pour my own wine, put my own napkin on my knee and even carry my own plate back from the buffet. There may, God forbid, come a time in my life when I become so infirm that I can't do any of these things, but until then I'll do it myself. Ok, I know they are only trying to be kind but it gets tiresome in the end.

Lastly, if you are on an all inclusive package - please be aware that your 'all-inclusivity' comes to an end at 12 midday - even if you don't fly till much later on that day. We made the mistake of having lunch at 12:30 and got stung for near £50 worth. Just imagine what that bill would have been if we had sat around the pool quaffing cocktails to while away the time. Nobody told us about that - so please remember this.

All-in-all though, a top holiday at a top resort hotel......

Room Tip: I can vouch for room 129 - ask for that and you'll get one within sight of the beach, but not ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident manager at Long Beach Mauritius, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
We would like to express our heartfelt thanks for your complimentary feedback pertaining to your recent holidays at Long Beach. We are very glad to read your gratifying words and that your holidays was a top one.
We take note of the all inclusive package which has not been communicated to you and sincerely apologise. However, we wish to inform you that a letter is being given to all guests upon arrival at the hotel, of course those partaking into the “All Inclusive package” whereby it stipulates that this offer ends at midday. We sincerely regret if this information has missed your attention. Nevertheless, this matter has been addressed to the Front Desk team in order to reinforce this information upon guests arrival.
With renewed thanks for your loyalty towards Long Beach and we look forward to welcoming you to Long Beach soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

When we heard the The Times newspaper had included the Long Beach in it's top 100 hotels in the world, we we're pretty excited. We knew of it's famous older sibling, Le Touessrok, so had high hopes for the hotel before we'd even left.

Our hopes we're met and without doubt, completely surpassed.

Long Beach is an excellent high-standard hotel, a with fabulous balance of modern, chic architecture and open spaces. In many ways I'd draw comparisons to Swedish architecture, balanced wonderfully with large open air spaces and angles that really complement the Mauritian surroundings. This goes from the reception (which was absolutely stunning) through to the open and generous layout of the rooms, to the restaurant courtyard and beaches.

Service-wise we thought Long Beach was excellent. The staff we're courteous, polite and professional. But with a nice balance of humour and non-pompous attitude - unusual at a 5-star!

The facilities we're excellent, with a good and varied pool area. Top-class beach sports facilities and even a climbing wall! They should be clear that the Scuba facilities (Blues Diving) aren't in the complex. You have to go to the hotel next-door, but it's either a quick car ride or 10 minutes walk. Hardly a problem! We had a 45-min massage at the Sea Spa. This was fabulous, and with (again) top-class staff.

Our room (we had a deluxe beach front room) was of very high calibre. The style and finishings we're excellent, reflecting the overall quality of the hotel. They do have an open glass-bathroom - as in you don't have complete privacy from anyone else whom is in the room. This might not be to everyone's taste, but in general is fine once you get used to it! They also serviced our room twice a day, and always maintained a good supply of beer in the drinks bar - including a free bottle of champagne on our first night! Whoop.

The culinary experience was, on the whole, top-class. The buffet was the best we'd been to (in the world! - the curry's are fantastic) and the beachside restaurant had a great menu - we were on all-inclusive, so didn't have the whole menu to choose from. The Chinese and Japanese restaurants we're a little bit of a disappointment. Stylistically great, but culinarily not up to the same standard as their better-valued equivalents in the complex. A shame, but I stress, not a big issue in terms of our holiday.

We chose to spend our honeymoon at Long Beach and we were very very happy that we did. We loved every minute and would happily go back or recommend it to family and friends.

Looking at a few other recent reviews, I think some clarity on expectations might be needed for certain readers.

If you were going to book the Four Seasons or Le Touessrok but can't as it's booked up or unavailable. Don't stay here. It's not the kind of 5-star you're looking for.

If you're looking for a chic, modern, different but friendly 5-star experience. With a fresh, open , modern style of class. This is the place for you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident Manager at Long Beach Mauritius, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you very much for all the praises about Long Beach. We are proud and glad to read that you had an enjoyable and wonderful honeymoon at our resort. These compliments will be shared to all our team members. However, your opinion relative to the standard of our Chinese and Japanese restaurants has been discussed with our Chefs and will be reviewed shortly.

Many thanks again for your honesty and Long Beach recommendation to your family, friends and other acquaintances.

We hope to welcoming you back to our resort in the not-too-distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This hotel is not what you think...At best it is a 4* package hotel, at worst it is Bultins in Mauritius!!
If you are travelling on a budget, or with young children, and want to go to a "nice hotel in the sun", then maybe this is for you. If you want to go to a luxury hotel, then keep looking.

We stayed in the best suite (one of only two at the hotel) which was nice and had a great view, but the food and service was really poor. I think that the Sun Group, who own the Le Touessrok should know better, and have really over sold this place and they need to change the way they market it.

The guest services were totally useless and the restaurants were awful and had all the charm of an airport lounge. This is a package hotel, no more, no less...

Room Tip: Suite 535 is spacious and has a great view, but for the money you can do a lot better at another hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident Manager at Long Beach Mauritius, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for your comments and we take note about your dissatisfaction relative to your vacation experience at Long Beach. We sincerely regret if our services have not met your expectation. Your comments will help us to improve our service delivery.

Please rest assured that we will definitely look into our standards of service to ensure that they live up to the experience we promise to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver, canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

we were very glad that we were on an all inclusive basis as everything was very expensive. that said, it was a tad annoying to have to study the menus to see what was covered in our plan (marked by green star). rather limiting if you were there for more than a week. however, the buffet food was the best we have ever had at an hotel, delicious and lots of choice. on our AI package we had water bottles in the room, a coffee machine and lots of chocolate and various drinks available from the mini bar. i would agree with previous reviewer that a touch of luxury in the bathrooms wouldn't go amiss - e.g. some nice toiletries. i didn't take shampoo or conditioner with me as assumed they would provide good quality stuff - i was wrong - no conditioner left me with very tangly hair!! the staff are all very friendly and helpful and we especially loved the buggy service on the beach. the rooms are stylish, large and light and airy and beds very comfortable. the beach is gorgeous but corally so probably not the best for swimming but it is beautiful and not crowded at all as most guests with children tended to stay by the main pool. the sports facilities and gym are first class, there is even a climbing wall! despite the odd gripe we had a wonderful time and are hoping to return next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident Manager at Long Beach Mauritius, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Your overall feedback is very much appreciated and we are delighted to read that your overall stay was an wonderful one for which we would like to express our sincere thanks for having chosen Long Beach for your holidays.
With regards to toiletries, we have always provided all our guests with basic bathroom amenities such as soap, shampoo and shower gel. We would like to inform you that conditioner is upon guest request only whereby we offer with pleasure.
Thank you once again for your fidelity toward Long Beach and we have the great pleasure to welcome you back to our shores next year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Long Beach Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Beach Mauritius

Address: Coastal Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Belle Mare
#5 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#6 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#6 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#7 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Long Beach Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Beach Mauritius Hotel Belle Mare
Long Beach Mauritius Belle Mare

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Long Beach Mauritius, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.