We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort, great location, fantastic deserts!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Long Beach Mauritius

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Long Beach Mauritius to your Saves list
Long Beach Mauritius
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Coastal Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Beautiful resort, great location, fantastic deserts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

We have just spent an amazing week at the brand new Long Beach hotel:
- the location is first class along a (long) white sand beach;
- the architecture of the resort is contemporary yet well integrated in the landscape;
- our room was spacious and quiet with a nice seaview;
- sports facilities are state-of-the-art, we also had complementary access to the Touessrok's golf course, as both hotels belong to the same chain;
- food was great and deserts were simply divine (lemon and raspberry meringue among others);
- service is generally responsive and helpful but probably needs a little more time to get to the level of excellence of a 5-star hotel.

Thank you for our wonderful stay, we will definitely come back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    632
    235
    86
    45
    19
See reviews for
306
502
17
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

We just returned from a 10 day stay in Long beach. It was a wonderful experience. I rarely write reviews for hotels but felt compelled to do so on this occasion. We are a family of 4 with a 6 yr old and a 9 yr old. The rooms were very comfortable - spacious and light. The design of the hotel was very nice -- contemporary but still fitted with the decor and there was an attempt at environmental friendliness. Highlights: excellent kiddie club with great facilities, varied activities and very nice staff. We enjoyed being able to leave them for dinner there a couple of evenings and to have time off as a couple. The food was also excellent - very varied and tasty. I think it was a far better buffet than we have had in other 5 stars that we have been to in other parts of the world. I agree with some of the comments about the service - at times a bit slow (especially at lunch around the pool). However, as we were on holiday a few minutes here and there did not matter much and the staff were always eager to please and very friendly. It is true that there were many trainees but I am sure that they will learn with time. In particular, we enjoyed speaking with Jenny (our waitress at several meals) and the nice room cleaning staff who made us fun swan designs out of the towels (we had rooms 122 & 123, so you know who you are!. I would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely go back. What a wonderful vacation!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

My husband and I ended up being relocated to the Long Beach Resort on our honeymoon after our first resort (The Grand Mauritian) burned down!!!!!! So needless to say we didn't quite know what to expect when we arrived, but were pleasantly surprised.

The Long Beach property is gorgeous and brand new! The have 2 pools, a beach, a spa, and tons of athletic facilities. They also have a bar and 5 other restaurants. We tried all of them (Italian, French Buffet, Japanese, Chinese, and the pool-side restaurant) and all were great! We didn't leave the resort for any meals! The rooms are modern, clean, and very comfortable.

The staff was great. We had to have all of our stuff laundered because it was covered in smoke and soot and the staff took great care of us to ensure that everything came out clean and not damaged!

The only negative thing I can even think of was the wind. We visited in October and we may have just gotten some unlucky weather, but it was extremely windy and a little chilly to be by the pool during a few days we were there. I'm not sure if maybe the east side of the island is windier than the west, but the day we spent on the other side of the island was defintiely less windy. Might be something to look into before selecting a resort.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amble
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

We recently visited Mauritius to celebrate my husband's 65th birthday and our 40th wedding anniversary, so hoped everything would be special and perfect - AND IT WAS. Harry's surprise birthday cake and then breakfast on the beach and a special meal for our anniversary made it a holiday to be remembered and cherished. Thanks to all who did so much to make both days so special, especially Puttee, the food and beverages manager.

The buffet was the best we have ever had with the food freshly prepared and very well presented and ALL the chefs are to be congratulated on their special skills. We also enjoyed several evenings in the Italian and Chinese restaurants as well.

From the moment you enter Long Beach, the staff could not be more attentive, but without being obtrusive. They cannot do enough for their guests and make everyone feel like a friend.

The location, beach, gardens, food, rooms are all first class and the hotel will only get better as it matures. We always say that there are too many places in the world still to visit and usually don't go back to the same destination - this time we have definitely changed our minds and can't wait for our next trip to Long Beach.

Room Tip: Room 110 looked onto a quiet lawned area, with the beach and sea beyond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

We were recently at Long Beach for a ten day break. We were on a sepcial package and this hotel repreented exceptional value for money. The location was fantastic.. the hotel layout , decor and facilities first class and we had a really great break. The kids club was very well equipped and the weekly programme was fun and kept the kiddies amused.. they have their own pool and a small buffet when the facility is full. The four restaurants available at the hotel and included in your dinner , bed and breakfast rate gave a great variety of good quality food choices . We loved the italian restaurant. The boating house and the activities center was staffed by very willing and friendly staff.

I have rated the service down as it is inconsistent..sometimes excellent and sometimes very poor. This is due to the hotel being new and having many new staff members who are in training...It is a pity as this comment is apparrant in many of the attached reviews and will bring the hotel a poor reputation. The hotel Le Toussrock is in the same group and offers exceptional service so i am sure this will improve in time. The service deteriorates rapidly as staff comes under pressure of numbers.. If you get to a restaurant early you are surrounded by willing and helpful stafrf members who are trying very hard to please.... later on the staff gets distracted and things fall apart..

Thanks to all at the hotel for a great stay and good luck... We will be back !

Room Tip: Family room are very nice..All rooms have a beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

If I could give this hotel a 6 star rating, I would. The most wonderful hotel, service which is the best I have ever experienced, and the most beautiful beach and lagoon. Snorkelling is a dream right in front of the hotel. I would recommend the All Inclusive package. Real value for money. Food out of this world.... I cannot say more without writing a book!!!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

We were met by the summertime transfer bus. This is a 5* hotel so one expects the transfer to be on par. Oh dear a rather large,old thing greeted us in the parking area, they packed it to capacity and we had to wait for the other 14 pax to arrive. No water was offered and there were only horrible waist seat belts-certainly not adequate for a 4 and 6 year old. On return we paid about 150 euros to transfer back in a larger car that could accommodate our luggage.
We arrived at the hotel just before midnight with 2 very tired children. We were shown to our superior beachfront room to find that it didnt have the kingsize bed requested nor the extra beds for the children.Instead there were 2 single beds. The receptionist said that these were called queens(i beg to differ) and appologised for the mistake, saying there was nothing he could do and would swap us in the morning. That was that! My husband and i had to each sleep with one of the kids- not a great start to the holiday. No appology was given again.The service did not improve.
Each morning for breakfast I had to ask for sugar for my coffee, a spoon to stir the sugar in my coffee and even things like the salt and pepper were always empty. Juice for the children took about 2 promptings as well as everything else! Then we would go to the pool. This is the worst service by far on the resort. Often we would end up with not receiving our drinks at all!!!The restauarant at the pool we had had lunch in was also bad. On our first day we waited an hour for our food. Pancakes in the afternoon from the same restaurant took almost 30-40 mins!! We opted for the fully inclusive rate but found out on the first day that the only thing i drink(chardonnay) was not on the fully inclusive list. Quite honestly very little was on the fully inclusive list! Not even ice creams for the children at the pool- all extras!!! Even the lunch menues and dinner menues had loads of exclusions. Next time(not that there will be one) we would not choose an all inclusive plan! There is a DJ at the pool and restuarant and although we love music we could hardly hear ourselves- it thumped away the whole day. The days following it was slightly softer.Defintely not relaxing!

The food on a whole was really good, fresh ingredients and a good variety. From having to pour our own wine to begging for bills to sign off the dinners meal times were a frustrating affair despite the good food. We also found that the staff were not kept up to speed on the entertainment for the evening. We were told that there would be Sega and then we would get to the square for the show to be told that it was cancelled and upon leaving there would come the Sega dancers! There was a lovely dance show the one evening and we were told there was just a band- we almost missed it but hardly any guests knew about it! What a pity. Toilets next o the breakfast restuarant were dirty and out of toilet paper on most days.Total lack of communication and total lack of good managing. We never had one manager the entire 7 days ask us if everything was to our satisfaction and the only time we did see them they were with business clients.
Despite all of this we did have a good holiday! There were two gorgeous swimming pools. One heated(great for the kids- they swam for hours) and an infinity pool over looking the beach. We found the beach to be dirty- flotsam that had washed up and bits and pieces of litter. The resorts we have stayed in before had people cleaning and raking every day. This is not a good swimming or snorkelling beach. Very shallow. There is apparantly a good beach next door which my husband found on his daily run. They have to do the paragliding in the next bay and i dont think the sea was deep enough to ski which is a pity. OUr room was lovely and the cupboard space ample.It is worth spending the extra and opting for a superior room as they look out on to the beach.The kids club was good and the staff excellent. We had two baby sitters during our time and both were lovely.

It is such a pity the service is so bad as it is a lovely contempory hotel and i feel with proper management it could be nice. The staff are friendly it is just the total lack of control that reigns most times-each and everyone of them running around like headless chickens.
Did we have a good holiday YES! The kids enjoyed the swimming pool and as a result we had a realxing stay. Would we go back- absolutely not. We shall be visiting Shandrani and Paradis which are far nicer and better value.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Long Beach Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Beach Mauritius

Address: Coastal Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Belle Mare
#5 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#6 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#7 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#8 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Long Beach Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Long Beach Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Beach Mauritius Hotel Belle Mare
Long Beach Mauritius Belle Mare

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Long Beach Mauritius, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.