We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Guten Apetite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Symon's Restaurant

Symon's Restaurant
Pointe de Flacq, Belle Mare, Mauritius
+ 230 415 1135
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 8 Restaurants in Belle Mare
Cuisines: Chinese, Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Bel Air
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Guten Apetite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

First of all. the calm & peaceful atmosphere reigning in the east of Belle Mare is unique, We appreciated the Chinese foods and the wide range of seafood too. Not expensive at all. we have been there three times during our stay.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    14
    7
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Slough, United Kingdom
1 review
“enjoy the seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I was there for my holiday, staying in hotel nearby.After 10 mins walk to Symon's, I was satisfied with the warm welcome from the staff, cocktail well decorated and cosy atmosphere. The food I ate, was the seafood platter, with huge prawns with a very good price. I keep going frequently during my stay and with a happy atmosphere with the late opening bar. Really good place for food, drinks at a very competitive price, and cheap beer as well....

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good food for a reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Constance Belle Mare Plage Hotel. There are excellent restaurants at the hotel but all are quite expensive. From a taxi driver we learned about Symon's and we tried it out. Eventually, in our 1 week stay, we had dinner 4 times here. Although the ambiance is simple, the food was excellent with lost to chose from. The Maefoon Soup is excellent as well as the prawns. Service is very friendly. The restaurant is a 15 minute walk from the hotel. Take a flash light with you or use a flash light app on your IPhone as the road is quite dark but very safe.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California City, California
1 review
“Such a good find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We were in Mauritius for a friend's wedding and stayed in a hotel not far from Symons. we decided to check the place out after we have heard the locals said it has been renovated, well guess what? it was awesome! The place looks really nice and staff were so friendly. As a tourist choosing something to eat can be a pain, but we enjoyed our starters as well as main courses. it was reasonably priced.

I must say next time i visit you Mauritius i am definitely popping in Symons!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Huge prawns”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We walked down the road from Constance Belle Mare Plage to Symon's for lunch. It's about a 10 minute walk. The King prawns with Mauritian curry sauce was recommended. It was truly the largest prawns I have ever seen. It was succulent and absolutely delicious. The service was very good.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Symon's Restaurant also viewed

Belle Mare, Flacq District
Belle Mare, Flacq District
 
Belle Mare, Flacq District
Belle Mare, Flacq District
 

Been to Symon's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Symon's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.