We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice clean hotel and lovely garden” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Veranda Palmar Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Veranda Palmar Beach to your Saves list
Veranda Palmar Beach
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Coastal Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Belle Mare
Alsager, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“nice clean hotel and lovely garden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We spent 2 weeks at the hotel, it is very nice with a well keep garden, lovely private beach which is cleaned every morning, the staff are very friendly and very helpful,very pleasant waiters and waitress’s, we found there was a good of choice of food but the choice was consistent each day. The room was quite basic but clean. There were two pin sockets in the room so you may need an adaptor for your electrical items. We didn’t bother to hire a car because the taxies immediately outside the hotel were a cheaper option. There is not too much to see locally, so you will need to go further afield to explore. We found that the entertainment at the hotel in the evening was poor.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Member of Trip Advisor,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Palmar Beach. The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We have passed your compliments to the Team and they were happy to hear that they contributed in making your stay enjoyable. Locally, there is a natural reserve where you can hike, do quad biking, horse riding and go bird watching. The Mauritian east coast is also one of the longest beaches of Mauritius, hence lovely for walks, jogs and sight-seeing. There are also numerous Hindu temples, an extremely large market in Flacq, a very typical Mauritian village, in addition to waterfalls and the islet of Ile aux Cerfs, which offers watersports at its best. How unfortunate that you didn't get to discover all these. Hopefully next time. We are sorry that the evening entertainment wasn't up to your standards and we will look further into that matter.

We look forward to welcome you again.

Sunny Greetings
Jean Marie Chinnapen
Hotel Manager
Veranda Palmar Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    95
    16
    9
    0
See reviews for
77
170
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We have just returned from Veranda Palmar Beach, and we have had an amazing holiday. A special thank you to Boodhan who was so helpful and friendly, however all the staff couldn't do enough for us. Great food, pool, entertainment and beach. The kids club was brilliant too and my girls love spending time with Sharone and Charlene.

Room Tip: We had room 602 which overlooked the beach and was lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Member of Trip advisor,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Le Palmar. The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We have passed your compliments to the Team and to Boodhan, Sharone and Charlene in partciular and they were happy to hear that they contributed in making your stay enjoyable.

We look forward to welcome you again.
Sunny Greetings
Jean-Marie Chinnapen

Hotel Manager
Veranda Palmar Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

I returned from this hotel a couple of weeks ago having spent 2 weeks there. The hotel is very welcoming and sort of boutique type- small and friendly. The hotel has it's own beach which could have been a bit bigger but the sun beds were not occupied all the time as visitors took themselves off on trips. Bedrooms were very comfortable and had a vow of the ocean. The food was a bit repetitive although I did enjoy the breakfast and afternoon pancakes! All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Small pool but did not get crowded as most people spent their time on the beach. Not a lot of entertainment which was held outside but the majority of visitors were couples so they were probably happy to spend their time relaxing with a drink. If it was not for the long flight I would be going again tomorrow! Enjoyed my holiday there and would recommend. There were one or two hiccups for me but if there is anything you are not happy with the management will go out of their way to help. Do go and stay you will enjoy the relaxed atmosphere at this hotel.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 602 which was on an upper floor and had sea views and was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Member of Trip Advisor,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Palmar Beach. The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us, despite the few inconveniences that you mentioned and we thank you for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community.We look forward to your next visit.

Sunny Greetings
Jean Marie Chinnapen.
Hotel Manager
Veranda Palmar Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle united kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Flights: booked direct with Emirates flying from U.K. to Dubai then onwards to MRU : as always on time, pleasant with great connecting times. Slight problem with T.Vs which made listening to films poor : even after being reset, but other than than all good. That said our 8th flight with them since October & had the same problem more than once!

Accommodation booked via Travelbag : highly recommend on not only price but efficiency. Booked private car transfer with them which was there ready waiting for us which ensured quick journey on to accommodation.

Hotel: this is a very good standard 3 * extras such as mosquito plug-ins in rooms. Rooms were spacious we checked 3 out : highly recommend 721 or 502 both with close proximity to beach & awesome views. Very little time spent in rooms but large, well equipped , very clean & pleasant decor. Well stocked mini bar included in AI package along with tea/coffee facilities in room. Cleaned daily & table chairs on patio/balcony.

Beach : brilliant stretch of beach, cleaned regularly, beach beds aplenty and comfortable with options of thatched umbrellas. Safe to walk both right & left and the sellers on beach do not pester you, are friendly and will take payment from you day later if needs be.

Beach Facilities: daily glass bottom boat & snorkelling trips. Good to get out on with camera for views back over to shore. Kayaks, pedalloes free with option of scuba diving from hotel along the beach as well as option to pay for water skiing, parasailing, donuts. W.C & beach bar serving drinks / food from 11am until 5pm. towel change free daily. Safe for children as shallow and extremely clear.

Restaurants : buffet / this is not a fine dining experience however every meal time we enjoyed a selection of fresh salads, pastas, meats & fish from the grill.
Beach restaurant only open certain nights and has to be booked/ we ate a lobster champagne meal for our wedding anniversary. Service was good, table decorated lovely but not quite sure the lobster meal was worth the price we paid. A lovely evening though.

Recommendations: walking with the lions at Casela Wildlife Park followed by the Zip Wiring. Boat trip to Ill Cerf we booked with the Naz on the beach. Perfect day out with awesome BBQ setting & drinks.
Recommend A meal at the exclusive Prince Maurice which is a taxi drive away. Google it :) Tinos for a traditional Mauritius menu but go to both of these whilst still light to make most of views before dark. Trip to market for an hour just to experience the local way if life tho do not expect fancy shoes : bags etc tho for souvineers try Cavern D"Alibaba in Flac which is set over 4 floors & cheapest around. We got taxi from the beach to there & combined it with trip to market .

Tips : use taxis from beach as half price of hotel, if you are not happy with your room ask to change . We were located a pool room on arrival until our requested sea view one was ready the next day : well worth the change and wait.

Niggles : the reception staff & porter were extremely helpful & polite however the restaurant staff seemed to make little effort unless you spoke French. We did not let this spoil our holiday but did find it frustrating having to ask for the same thing several times.
Beach restaurant : food is limited and not everything included on AI ? For instance you pay for spag Bol yet can get this free from the buffet , I'd also like to see the beach bar utilised more of an evening instead of closing at 5 which forces most up to pool bar giving delays on service for drinks/coffees etc. for me they should have lanterns, music and make more of a venue for the beach lovers . It is after all Mauritius and certainly has the beach setting.

Would we go back ? Definitely, tomorrow ! would highly recommend. Chilled, relaxing, awesome setting, and well priced allowing you to get out and spend money outside the hotel on other experiences.

The Mauritius people we met were extremely kind, helpful and friendly honest people. Such a clean island and such a beautiful one.

One last thing for £110 you can take the seaplane from the beach and witness the views of Ill Cerf & the coastline/reefs. Views are embedded into memory for life !

Experience it for yourself it's a holiday of a lifetime.

Hakuna Matata :)

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Veranda Palmar Beach. The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay and we thank you for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We took all your remarks into consideration and we thank you for your feedback. It is true that some staff , especially those who have just joined our teams, sometimes have difficulty with accents and we apologise for this.


We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again.

Kind Regards

Jean Marie Chinnapen
Hotel Manager
Veranda Palmar Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

This hotel is not five star luxury, but doesn't pretend to be. As a three star hotel it is fantastic value for money, on an all inclusive package, offers all you could want for a superb holiday on the stunningly beautiful paradise island of Mauritius. The hotel has a stretch of pristine white sandy beach with crystal clear sea just sensational for swimming in, which is cleaned twice a day, and offers the best stretch of beach along the Belle Mare coast.
The rooms are spacious with super sized double beds which are very comfortable and offer a great nights sleep, the decor is fresh and rooms are cleaned to a good standard.
The rooms offer good clothes hanging and shelf space, along with room for case storage, so your not tripping over them during your stay.
The bathrooms are a good size with wash basins, shower cubicle with room for two,and large backlit mirror.
All rooms have a private balcony or veranda with chairs and small table, though the ground floor rooms are open to the garden, and have views of the gardens and some have sea views which are superb.
The staff all speak french and english and offer warm greetings, and are only to eager to help in any way possible, creating a calm, friendly, relaxed atmosphere to ensure a memorable holiday, that we really enjoyed.
The all inclusive package offers ample food in a choice of two restaurants, one buffet and the other al'a carte, every day was a large choice of fresh salads and fruits, with a choice of three main course dishes along with vegetables and rice dishes, and most days offered some pasta dishes also.
The hotel has two bars, one is poolside the other situated beachside, offering a wide variety of soft, alcoholic drinks along with tea and coffee.
The pool is large and very child friendly, the hotel offers a daycare service for young children during the day with activies in a creche area in the gardens, which was popular during our stay.
The entertainment team in the hotel provided activities during the day and evening, including aqua aerobics, beach volleyball,table tennis, amongst others, along with a daily glass bottomed boat trip out onto the reef free of charge.
There are free of charge kayaks, pedalows and surf boards, along with sailing boats, speed boats that are available to hire from the hotels boathouse on the beach, which offer fresh towels for use daily.
This hotel offered us a superb holiday in an awesome destination without paying a fortune, and will be somewhere we will definately be returning to in the future.
As a destination Mauritius is not just a paradise beach holiday, it offers many water sports, unbelievable stunning vistas from the mountains with walking trails, it's great for cyclists, and shopping for clothes, souvenirs, and local produce.

Room Tip: ask for a second floor room for a better sea view and private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Member of Trip Advisor,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Palmar Beach. The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We have passed your compliments to the Team and they were happy to hear that they contributed in making your stay enjoyable.

We look forward to welcome you again.

Sunny Greetings
Jean Marie Chinnapen
Hotel Manager
Veranda Palmar Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kent Riviera
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

From Rat Race to Fat Face! I blame the chef rather than my gargantuan and inquisitive appetite which forces me to try all the delightful delicacies on offer! Not that the Veranda Palmar Beach is only about the food there are other factors which make it a stand-out 3 star venue. Just what they are is difficult to determine. Perhaps that is because there is nothing that defines it as a 3 star from the moment you are greeted on arrival. The compact complex with its luxurious design features sits imperiously on a magnificent beach sandwiched between its haughty 4 and 5 star neighbours but refuses to be overshadowed. Maybe it’s the smiles on the faces of the staff always willing to go the extra mile to please that puts the icing on the cake. (Mention your birthday if you have one during your stay!).
Sure it rained but February is in the summer, the wet season; and the infrequent showers were no more than an amusing distraction rather than an inconvenience. Certainly no sign of a Cyclone other than the ones conjured up by the cheery bar staff!
The palm trees swayed, the coconuts threatened, the turquoise lagoon gently lapped at the sunbeds, and the sun warmed ageing limbs. So why am I back in Britain?!
As for the island well quite simply Mauritius is delicious! So if you are planning a sortie to the Indian Ocean you will not be disappointed and you won’t go far wrong if you choose the VPB as your base.

Room Tip: The 700 range have views through the palm trees to the lagoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Member of Trip Advisor,
Thank you again for choosing Veranda Palmar Beach. The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We have passed your compliments to the team and they were glad to hear that they contributed in making your stay pleasant.
We look forward to welcome you again.

Sunny Greetings
Jean Marie Chinnapen
Hotel Manager
Veranda Palmar Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shrewsbury
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

stayed at the beginning of feb for two weeks and had a great time.couple of niggles,the usual clowns saving sunbeds and then not using them.could have had more bar staff at peak times and the food was ok rather than good,but this is only a three star hotel so if you wany more you need to pay more.all of the staff were great and really looked after you.while we were there the snorkelling was poor but that was probably due to the weather.
not sure I would return but only because of the long flights.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Member of Trip Advisor,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Palmar Beach. The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us, despite the few inconveniences that you mentioned and we thank you for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We will work on the few issues that you mentioned and we look forward to your next visit.

Sunny Greetings
Jean Marie Chinnapen.
Hotel Manager
Veranda Palmar Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Veranda Palmar Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Veranda Palmar Beach

Address: Coastal Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Belle Mare
#5 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#7 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Veranda Palmar Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Veranda Palmar Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Veranda Palmar Beach Hotel Belle Mare
Veranda Palmar Beach Mauritius/Belle Mare

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Veranda Palmar Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.