We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise on earth!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kanuhura

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Kanuhura to your Saves list
Kanuhura
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Lhaviyani Atoll   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kanuhura
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Paradise on earth!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We visited Kanuhura in Sept 2012 for our honeymoon. The stay was amazing, every little detail was perfect. Food scored 10/10..and met our halal requirements. the head chef Jamil would meet us every day to check everything was perfect. staff were all brilliant esp Janaka. enjoyed the private island,snorkelling, evening chilling lounging areas. Never felt bored for someone that gets bored easily...overall very relaxing trip, and we felt like royalty! Ooh and we were lucky to get a free upgrade business class flight :) I think Kanuhura had a fantastic reception and send off compared to all the other hotels.... And it looked fantastic.

Room Tip: Sunset view beach villa , and you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanuhuraFamily, Kanuhura Team at Kanuhura, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Shima86

Thank you very much for your positive comments about Kanuhura on Trip Advisor. We really appreciate that you have taken the time to score us and we are very pleased to read that you have enjoyed your time with us, especially that your food requirements were met. Thank you also for the praise of Jameel and Janaka and we will pass the message to them.
The entire Kanuhura family is looking forward to welcome you back.
With best regards

The Kanuhura Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    68
    19
    14
    7
See reviews for
170
333
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
wonersh, surrey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Lovely duplex room, ideal for our children, 12 and 14, food amazing, watersports incredible especially the dive centre. Paradise location, water indescribable turquoise. Our son had a birthday while there and the staff made a real fuss over him when we had a sunrise breakfast on Jehenuhuru, the neighbouring deserted island. All the hotel staff were kind, helpful and gentle, really special. The sunset cruise was dreamy, dolphins chasing our bow as we went. The rooms are being redone next year but still very comfy. Only downfall there was the shower which was just a trickle, but still in a lovely outdoor bathroom. The seaplane lounge at Male was a relief after the international flight. We were gutted to leave. Stunning!

Room Tip: Sunset side has a wider beach but noisier due to seaplane arrivals. We were on this side and prefer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanuhuraFamily, Kanuhura Team at Kanuhura, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear rustsarah

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your positive comments on Trip Advisor. The entire Kanuhura family is very delighted to read that you had an incredible stay on Kanuhura. We are glad that Toby was pampered on his birthday and that we could make it even more special. Thank you for the comment in regards to the shower, which we will take into consideration when renovation works will proceed.

We hope to welcome you back to our friendly shore soon.

With best regards
The Kanuhura Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

After looking at numerous hotels in the Maldives my wife and I decided to book Kanuhura for our honeymoon.

When we arrived in Male, we were meet by a representative from Kanuhura and taken to a private lounge before boarding our seaplane to the island, which was very nice after our long flight.

Stepping out of the seaplane and on to Kanuhura island you immediately know you're in paradise!

We stayed for 10 days in a breathtaking water villa, which included a private deck with water hammocks, outdoor sun-beds, shower, steps in to the sea and also a personal butler.

The water villas also have a fantastic semi-outdoor bath tub and fully outdoor shower, which is quite surreal at night, but great!

We both love quality food and booked full board. During our stay we were fortunate enough to eat in all of the restaurants, some twice, all were amazing and I would even go to say on par to Michelin Star!

The buffets dinners were great, with an excellent selection of sea food. Our favourite was the Japanese buffet!

The snorkelling around the water villas was good, but I would recommend going diving (PADI licence required) as obviously it's one of the greatest places in the world with crystal clear waters! One of the best diving sites we went to was called Caves where we were fortunate enough to see a huge amount of fish and giant turtles.

The only negative thing I can think of is that the beach dining experiences, excursions and water sports were quite expensive, so we didn't do as many as we would have liked.

The weather, sea villas, food, drink, staff were exceptional. Kanuhura is an idilic place for a holiday, especially honeymoon and I guarantee a holiday of a lifetime!

A big thank you to all of the staff at Kanuhura, we look forward to seeing you again soon!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanuhuraFamily, Kanuhura Team at Kanuhura, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Ihetherington

Thank you very much for your valuable comment on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to read that you had a fantastic honeymoon and we hope that your holidays are filled with fond memories. I would also like to take this opportunity to thank you for the praise to our Food & Beverage team and that you even compared the restaurants to a Michelin Star level. The entire Kanuhura Team is looking forward to welcome you back, maybe to your first wedding anniversary next year.
With best regards
The Kanuhura Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Kanuhura in the first two weeks of February. It was an outstanding experience. The beaches were great, the water crystal clear, the food excellent and the responsiveness of the staff amazing. Our tropical holidays previously were to Mauritius and Seychelles - mostly Beachcomber resorts (Dinarobin, St Anne), as well as a sister Sun hotel, Le Touessrok. We expect 5-star establishments to live up to their promise. Kanuhura is definitely in that same league and we will return. Yes, the rooms could use with refurbishing, but this is not an obstacle to the enjoyment of the resort. We also very much enjoyed meeting other vacationers. The clientele is largely friendly - refined, though totally down-to-earth. It's a testimony to this hotel that many of the clients are repeat guests. We hope to become repeat visitors at the Kanuhura. I couldn't end this review without mentioning the high standard of the diving center. Britta and her team were 5-star. My husband went diving daily and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. It definitely ranks among the best he had experienced. Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Everywhere is nice, but our preference went to the sunrise side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanuhuraFamily, Kanuhura Team at Kanuhura, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear SSK-Geneva
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your positive comments on Trip Advisor. We are extremely pleased to read that you had an outstanding experience and that you will return to our friendly shores. In regards to the refurbishment of the rooms, we have a project planned in the upcoming future. We are proud to hear to you have enjoyed your overall holidays and the entire team looks forward to welcome you back to Kanuhura.
With best regards
The Kanuhura Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southeast england
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Just arrived back after our 9th visit which says that we like Kanuhura very much. Nothing had changed it was still excellent. Could not fault the spa area at all. I did find that the waiters and bar staff needed to be brought up to speed but bearing in mind that many of them hadn't been there more than 3 months I am sure this will get better given time. The Olive Tree restaurant menu does need to be changed - it has been the same since we started going there. It won't stop me going back next year!!!

Room Tip: Sunset side of the island
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanuhuraFamily, Kanuhura Family at Kanuhura, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear foxycat-7

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your great experience in Kanuhura.
We are very pleased to hear that you had an excellent time with us and thank you for your loyalty over the past years.
Rest assured that your valuable feedback has been forwarded to the concerned department and we will review the selection.
The entire Kanuhura Team is looking forward to welcome you back for the 10th visit soon.
In the meantime, as always, anything we may be of assistance, please let us know.

With our best personal regards from our friendly shores,

Your Kanuhura Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

A magic resort where the staff takes great pride in taking care of you - just like Vladimir, the General Manager who's personal and genuine hospitality is the example for his team. From the moment we arrived to the minute we departed this beautiful island, we felt taken care of. Brilliant food (some of the best Focaccia and Ciabatta we have ever eaten and a magic surrounding make it well worth the trip.

Don't forget to book a dinner on the private island as well as a picnic / lunch on the sand bank. Having great lunch on this secluded place and then swim in the blue waters is sheer bliss..

Room Tip: Over water Villa - no question
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanuhuraFamily, Kanuhura Management at Kanuhura, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear GFK88,

thank you very much for your valuable comment on Tripadvisor.

We are really pleased to know that you have spent such a good time with us and enjoyed our Kanuhura personalized service.

We are looking forward to welcome you again soon at our little corner of Paradise.

Sincerely
Kanuhura Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greifensee
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

if you like to relax in a natural ambiente with outside-dining, excellent food in all 3 restaurants, you like clear water, snorkeling or diving, that's the place to go. Nice villas, with outside/bathroom, well equipped are waiting for you. Best villas in March due to the breeze are no. 100 - 130 or seavillas. Staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Drinks are quite expensive, also the food. Book halfboard and you can eat where you like and as much as you like. Snorkeling in front of villa 125, there are coralls, but do it only if high tide.

Room Tip: see above. If you need 2 beds, check it at the room, otherwise you will get 2 hard matrasses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanuhuraFamily, Kanuhura Management at Kanuhura, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear XileCH,

all Kanuhura Family would like to thank you for your words of appreciation and for sharing your experience with us on Tripadvisor.
We are really proud to know that you enjoyed our fine dining restaurants and that you appreciate our villas and personal service.

All Kanuhura Team is looking forward to welcome you again soon.

Kanuhura Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kanuhura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanuhura

Address: Lhaviyani Atoll
Location: Maldives > Lhaviyani Atoll > Kanuhura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kanuhura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kanuhura 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 26 natural atolls which make up the Maldives, contain some 1200 coral islands, infinite sandbanks and reefs spread over90,000 square kilometres of Indian Ocean. Only 200 of these islands are inhabited, while an additional 90 have been transformed into resorts. Kanuhura is located on the eastern rim of Lhaviyani Atoll, on its own private island. Famed for its laid-back luxury and authentic, natural Maldivian charm, the award-winning resort offers the highest standards of accommodation, service and culinary experience. Every effort has been made to retain the natural beauty of the island and wherever possible, employ the use of only natural materials. The island measures approximately 1000 meters in length and 200 meters in width, with a north-south orientation. It offers the best in watersports and diving. Travel is by seaplane and is around 40 minutes from the international airport at the Maldives capital, Male. The seaplanes, privately run by Maldivian Air Taxi Services, operate a schedule to accommodate international arrivals and departures. A private waiting lounge is available for guests of Kanuhura. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kanuhura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kanuhura Hotel Kanuhura
Kanuhura Hotel Kanuhara
Kanuhura Resort Kanuhara
Kanuhura Maldives

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kanuhura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.