We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise found....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kanuhura

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Kanuhura to your Saves list
Kanuhura
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Lhaviyani Atoll   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kanuhura
Matlock, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Paradise found....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

A large part of me doesn't want to write this review as I want to keep Kanuhura as our delicious, gorgeous secret.... but having read the (allbeit very few) negative reviews I now feel compelled to put the record straight!

We recently returned to Kanuhura for our sixth time to celebrate my "big" birthday, and I'm so happy we did.

We have travelled the world extensively and stayed in some amazing resorts but never have we stayed anywhere that allows us to just go "Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh..." within the first few hours of arriving. As with most people, that's something that normally takes a good three to four days... but not here!

The Island is just breathtaking in every sense, but in addition the WHOLE team of staff, from top to bottom level are just bursting with warmth and commitment to ensure everyone's stay is as perfect as possible.

Yes, maybe the fit out within the accomodation is no longer the most sumptious or high-tech that you may find in the Maldives, (the Management are already on top of this) but this is a place with a serious heart... and that you can never argue with.

Never have I felt safer - either physically or materially - so I would question anyone's word with regard to honesty or God forbid, theft - and when I mention physical safety, that absolutely includes my seven year old daughter spending hours playing with any number of staff members, both male and female without us having any qualms or concerns whatsoever.

I can only assume those few negative revues are from people on a parallel universe when they talk of the Management Team not caring less, being around and visible, or having any interest in moving forward with the resort.

Nothing can be further from the truth, Vladimir Scanu is always very visible around and about the Island. He is completely charming and has that rare knack as a General Manager with a huge job, of making you feel you are the only guests on the Island
.
And when I say that he and his team really go the extra mile to exceed expectation you just have to believe me... as sixth time returners we have no reason to fabricate!!

Kanuhura is every bit as good under the Management of Sun Resorts as it was with One and Only, and we have experienced it under both.

So... for anyone who prefers the type of slick and glossy 5* resort which is actually identical to any other around the world, (I'm talking here about that superficial identikit type of resort which may have a winning formula - but absolutely NO soul) then this may not be the place for you - but if you want a true taste of Maldivian paradise that makes you cry afresh every time you leave it - then this is the place to go.

Oh and finally... for that intrepid traveller who prefers, and is heading back to Kuredu.... well I think you made a good choice...

Room Tip: Remember to choose from the "sunset" or "sunrise" side of the island
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    71
    19
    14
    7
See reviews for
171
337
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

We were very happy to spend our romantic hideaway there. Villas are maybe not state-of-art and some equipment needs renovation but still in a good condition. The food was excellent. I would like to outline very good management - you feel the real hospitality in this hotel. Without any doubts I recommend this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

We went to this resort for our honeymoon in May 2011. From the minute we landed at Male airport till we went back to depart, our experience was absolutely fantastic!

We were collected by a staff member from the airport, taken to Kanuhura's own waiting lodge where we were treated to a refreshing drink while we waited for our seaplane transfer to the resort itself.

After arriving at the resort, we were allocated to our villa, which was beautiful. The villa was on the beach, and we had a very quiet secluded area away from everything. The only thing that bugged me was the noise from the waves... the beach was huge and we had a lot of privacy.

The resort has three restaurant areas and one bar. The bar provides drinks as well as food, and you can play board games, smoke sheesha on the beach lying on a bed... or a chair... The main restaurant carried different themes each night, and the food was simply amazing. Some of the best I have had anywhere in the world!

The staff at this place are happy, and always happy to help as much as possible. It is almost as though they are on holiday themselves, having a good time with us. We bonded well with all of them and cannot put in to words how wonderful they were.

Upon mentioning the noise from the waves to the manager, he came over to visit us about our 'concern'.. he took us for a ride in a buggy to different parts of the resort. We found that the water villas were most amazing and we said we would like to upgrade. He said he would check if there was availability. 20 minutes later - we were given a free upgrade!

We tried snorkelling which was a great experience, but the highlight would be when we tried the Januhura island experience. We got picked up just before sunset on a boat from the back of our water villa... on arrival to the island, we were greeted by two chefs and a waiter... there was nobody else on the island. We went for a walk with a drink in hand, found a quiet spot and watched the sunset. Later we had some dinner on the beach under the stars, relaxed with some tea, listening to my ipod on their speaker system... then went back home when we were ready.

This island is proffessionaly managed, a fantastic example of what a 5 star resort should be and I recommend it 100% - you simply cannot go wrong with this.

One of my worries when looking for resorts was that I didn't want to be upset on my honeymoon, its a once in a lifetime moment, and comes at a great cost. The staff at this resort realise this, and made sure there were no disappointments throughout our stay. Even one day when it was a bit dull, they had a wet day back up plan - activities to do while the weather is not great... they set up games and parties in the bar, a cinema show, reading classes, massages etc... amazing!

5 stars ALL the way for this place. Cannot think how to fault this place. One word - AMAZING!

Room Tip: Ask to be on the side opposite reception (Near to the water villas) Although the beach space is less...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iow
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

Wow our trip to paradise, Kanuhura truly is amazing and from the bottom of my heart i will try to tell you why it truly is paradise and our best holiday ever. From arriving in Male we where met straight away and taken to the Kanuhura departure lounge which straight away makes you feel relaxed , nothing is to much trouble, we where given lovely iced tea while we waited for our air taxi and they sorted our passports etc ,followed by cold towels to refresh us and lovely coffee we set off to the island, this was an amazing experience flying over the atolls which all look stunning surrounded by the clearest sea and whitest sands, after a 35 min trip We where met by the manager Vladimir Scanu (lovely guy ) and some of his team .Check in was easy as most of paperwork was done at the lounge before, while preparing to take you to your villa we where given a lemongrass drink made from the chefs garden, delicious ! we stayed in a beach villa number 123 on the sunrise side of the island, i would recommend this side as its nearer to walk out to sea , more fish for snorkelling , quieter ,rooms 120-126 are the best,we did think about a water villa and had alook around one but preferred being able to walk out onto the beach and less noisy from the ocean although they are still lovely .We where taken to our villa by buggy, no cars on island just little sand paths, you dont need to wear any shoes on the island we didnt all week it was lovely ( no shoes no news !! ) so they say !,Our butler met us there with our luggage and showed us around our villa a fantastic outside shower which i did shower under the stars ! Kanuhura chillout music playing from tv , that extra special little touch, a coffee maker which is refilled every day and bottles of water and ice left by your butler, also daily fruit which is a nice touch.Dvd playing ,very comfy bed and your own sunloungers outside with fresh towels put on them daily.John Png( ex assistant manager rooms division) a lovely man makes sure everything is comfortable for your entire stay and couldnt do enough for us. The food is excellent we went half board i would recommend this it includes all restaurants and food with the exception of lobster and wagyu beef and in villa dining, you cant take any alcohol into the Maldives, we had wine every evening with our meal which was about 40 usd depending on what you like and 15 usd for a bottle of water.Breakfast is at Thin Rah a buffett, the best breakfast buffett ever, i chose from 24 different kinds of fruit which they peel and cut for you, prosecco/ bucks fizz !! every thing you could possibly want for breakfast was available, with a egg cooking station to the best coffees, they have a morning newspaper which they print of in all languages .We didnt have lunch as so full except for one time when we went over on the little boat to their other little island Jenunuhura , that was lovely we where all alone on our little private island and the best snorkelling, reef sharks !! its only 5 min on the boat , they pick you up from your room and take you over.Lunch was delicious , they have a few sunbeds and towels there as well. Thin Rah is at night the best buffett ever , with themes every night, chinese, fish , italian ,cooking station, they will make anything you like, Sumudu here at thin rah is amazing , he always checks to see that everything is ok , a realy lovely man, also the head chef who has been there for 11 years and truly passionate about his food excels this buffett, it truly is mouthwatering food.Velhi cafe is a lovely setting , had steaks which where delicious, lovely little lights surrounding your table, very romantic. olive tree also very lovely where you are seated around the pool area. Before dinner there on certain nights there are aperitifs at aaram beach, veli beach in front of veli cafe , while you sit on the big comfy beds watching the sun go down , cocktails and a resident dj playing his decks behind you, so relaxing, also sunday night is nashaa club their own night club , fab club, great music and lighting .Wednesday is mojito party at the Handhuvaru bar , dj under the stars.Monday after dinner is crab racing , would recommend this at Handhuvaru bar. The management cocktail evening is a must you get to meet everyone and try some of their amazing cocktails.WE didnt do any trips in the day but the sundive centre does a snorkelling trip wich is supposed to be fantastic. We went on the sunset trip all on our own to the sounds of the Bodu Beru drums calling the dolphins with a glass of champagne in our hands watching the sun go down with 30-40 dolphins dancing around us, i will never forget this most romantic moment in my life !! Vladimir the manager told us to expect the unexpected !! he was right , so unexpected and so magical. While out there it was green tourism week, we planted our own tree wich was a lovely memory and cant wait to return and see how its doing, we also did the nature walk , very interesting , we where given some orchid cuttings to bring home, they have the most amazing orchids they grow on the island. Snorkelling is the best here in Kanuhura , we took our own as easier. You dont have to get all dressed up for dinner , i didnt even wear make up as by by candlelight ! so relaxing.On leaving the manager and team waved us off on the seaplane , we both cried !! we enjoyed our stay so much, we are Kanuhura fans now through and through ! So there you have it .... a truly magical holiday within the beautiful ambience of Kanuhura the paradise isle !! we miss you Kanuhura and cant wait to return.

Room Tip: sunset side rooms 120-126
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

we love the maldives and after staying at reethi rah twice we decided upon another island for this years visit and chose kanuhura. this is a smaller island than reethi rah but still quite large in comparison to others in the maldives.it is also a very natural island with lots of greenery. you take a 35 minute seaplane ride from mahle and are greeted at the jetty by senior management from the hotel, check in is easy, enjoyable and quick.we stayed in a beach villa which was very good although a little bit of sprucing up needed in some areas but nothing to spoil your holiday. in comparison to reethi they were smaller and also the space outside was smaller but still adequate and of course within 15 metres of your villa you have an immense stretch of beach . the food is excellent from the main buffet restaurant to the romantic villa cafe overlooking the sunset side of the beach and the mediteranean restaurant next to the beautiful swimming pool.the staff are so welcoming and very , very good, i don't know how they remember everyone's names.the island was 75 percent full when we were there but you hardly saw people during the day and the restaurants were never anywhere near full.the head chef is a lovely man who is passionate about his work and his staff are superb. the spa is beautiful and the massages were excellent. my husband scuba dives and did some amazing dives and one dive in particular he saw, dolphins,white tipped reef sharks, mantas, sting rays, turtles,morays , groupers and napoleon fishes. he couldn't stop talking about it for days.there is a resident doctor on the island and a well stocked library where you can exchange your holiday books.kanuhura even has a disco once a week, unheard of in the maldives. we were there for 10 nights during september 2011, it was pouring down when we arrived but then had 10 days of sunshine with the odd shower here and there.men are allowed in the restaurants in the evening with bermuda shorts and polo shirts which is really good as in reethi he had to wear long trousers and shoes.they have a very small sister island where you take a little boat across in 4 mins.where you can just wander around or book for lunch or dinner. we went for lunch and were the only ones on this very beautiful hideaway, very romantic. kanuhura encourage you to go barefoot. all in all the island is a 'barefoot luxury' resort and very, very relaxed. we met lots of lovely people, some whom we dined with in the evening. we enjoyed it more than reethi, although not as posh ,it was a much more relaxing and sociable holiday and we will definitely return to this beautiful paradise.

Room Tip: north west side of island for the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

It was our second trip to Kanuhura within 2 years. We've been to another great Maldivian resorts however I can say Kanuhura has got that special charm in it, people just come back many times in a row. We even met a couple we had met 2 years ago during our first stay! Incredible.
What's so special about Kanuhura? It's a family oriented resort that is so unusual in that part of the world. They do cater for families especially those with kids. As you may understand, our 8 y.o.is our main priority, so we're always happy when she's busy and engaged. It happens to be Kanuhura Kids Club that keeps her busy second year in a row! Because it was the rainy season (in fact, we had couple of showers within 2 weeks, not that much), sometimes she was the only child there however she could enjoy the full program (pizza making, crab hunting, treasure hunting, etc) every single day! It was a real pleasure watching our daughter at 9am sharp walking down the beach towards the Kids Club, whilst we were sipping our bubbly. They have three 3 hour sessions every day and the kid can even stay a bit longer when necessary. One day we were running late from our scuba diving, so I simply rang the Kids Club from the dive boat asking to wait for us a bit longer than expected, and so they did for no extra charge.
As for the service, it's truly outstanding. Everyone here call you by your name (in our case it's a real achievement, it's not that simple). They treat you as their personal guests and keep asking about your views, intentions and desires. Next day after you've arrived they remember your favourite drink and type of coffee/tea. The food is scrumptious, and even more so - they can cook for you what's not on the menue. Dinners here are extremely long as you just can't leave the place when watching the gorgeous sunset and then twinkling little stars. Being cradled to sleep by the sounds of waves...
We particularly loved the GM reception where we enjoyed some heston blumenthal sort of treats, like "blue caviar" made of Curacao liqueur or a "fried egg" made of pina colada (the white) and something yellow (the yolk). Nice and funny touch!
There are I believe newer and more glamorous resorts in Maldives however if you're after some nice and relaxed atmosphere and some quality time with your family and - especially - kids, it could be the right choice for you.

Room Tip: Beach bungalows on the sunset side have nicer beach and you can enjoy gorgeous sunset there. However...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Tirso, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

I had an excellent experience in Kanuhura on my first trip to Maldives. You arrive on this island after an amazing flight on a Maldivian Air Taxi, which is a fabulous experience on its own. Me and my husband stayed in a beach villa on the sun rise side, in May this side of the island has the best weather. The villas are very confortable, very clean and right on the sand, only a few steps from the sea with a nice outside area to relax in privacy. We went on HB (breakfast and dinner) and I recommend it because at this hotel you can choose from any of the three restaurants and the food quality is very good . All the staff were very nice in particular Fairy, our butler, who always trying to make our stay special. I think the hotel has a very nice atmosphere and it is perfect for relax and unwind.

Room Tip: In May the sun rise rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kanuhura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanuhura

Address: Lhaviyani Atoll
Location: Maldives > Lhaviyani Atoll > Kanuhura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kanuhura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kanuhura 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 26 natural atolls which make up the Maldives, contain some 1200 coral islands, infinite sandbanks and reefs spread over90,000 square kilometres of Indian Ocean. Only 200 of these islands are inhabited, while an additional 90 have been transformed into resorts. Kanuhura is located on the eastern rim of Lhaviyani Atoll, on its own private island. Famed for its laid-back luxury and authentic, natural Maldivian charm, the award-winning resort offers the highest standards of accommodation, service and culinary experience. Every effort has been made to retain the natural beauty of the island and wherever possible, employ the use of only natural materials. The island measures approximately 1000 meters in length and 200 meters in width, with a north-south orientation. It offers the best in watersports and diving. Travel is by seaplane and is around 40 minutes from the international airport at the Maldives capital, Male. The seaplanes, privately run by Maldivian Air Taxi Services, operate a schedule to accommodate international arrivals and departures. A private waiting lounge is available for guests of Kanuhura. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kanuhura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kanuhura Hotel Kanuhura
Kanuhura Hotel Kanuhara
Kanuhura Resort Kanuhara
Kanuhura Maldives

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kanuhura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.