We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved Kanuhura; can't wait to return” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kanuhura

Save Saved
You added Kanuhura to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kanuhura
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Lhaviyani Atoll   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Kanuhura
zodman
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“We loved Kanuhura; can't wait to return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

My wife and I have just returned from our vacation at Kanuhura Resort, where we had an outstanding, truly memorable vacation.
The Atoll is beautiful, idyllic. The facilities at the Resort were absolutely top notch and the service and food were truly fantastic. Our stay exceeded our expectations.
We snorkelled and saw manta rays and turtles; we swam in warm, turquoise sea. We ate truly wonderful food at every single meal at the various restaurants. Our beach villa was lovely, as were the white stands which were a step away.
The Maldivian massaages in the lovely Spa were superb. We also enjoyed the snorkelling trip organised by the Dive Centree (James, you're a star).
But, above all, what truly impressed us was the passion, courtesy and attention of the staff. Led by Mr Scanu, the level of service delivered made our stay a real joy.
We hope to return and, in the meantime, highly recommend the Resort, whether you're a honeymooner, celebrating your 3th wedding anniversary like us or siimply want a great chill our holiday in barefoot luxury.

Room Tip: Beach Villa 126 is perfecty located
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    428
    65
    17
    14
    8
See reviews for
148
311
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

Listen, this hotel is the best value for money you can find! Book through LHW and go!

It is exceptionally good, the service is unreal, the food is unique in all the restaurants. Thin Rah, Veli Cafe - hard to choose...
The SPA, pool, beach, everything is absolutely fabulous! Don't hesitate, just go there! it is THE best!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

We returned on Wednesday after a 10 day holiday on Kanuhura and what an amazing time we had.
The food, the staff, the service was fantastic, from the moment we landed to the moment when we left.

All I can say about the few negative reviews that have been posted,these people must have gone to a different island to us !!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

Truly stunning location. The island is quite large and the perfect size for walking around and finding a spot for us both to relax on the white sand without another person nearby. This resort was perfect in every way from the moment we arrived until we sadly had to leave. We stayed 9 nights but wished we could have stayed another week. The food was amazing from the quality of the ingredients to the preperation and presentation which was beautiful and the service excellent. We will without a doubt be returning.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

My husband and I decided to go to Kanuhura for our honey moon at the end, we were doubting among Kanuhura, Diva and Medhufushi. But we believe that we made the correct choice.
All the nice things had been told by others already, so just summerize the attentions that you should be paying:
- We chose full board which included breakfast buffet, lunch at Three Olive and dinner buffet. However, we realized that the food was so good and abundant that you barely were hungry between the two meals.
- All the expense on the island will be charged additionally for a 10% service and 3.5% tourist tax in Maldives since 2011.
- We booked Jenuhura island romantic dinner which was really nice, however, I would say it was very expensive for the menu they provided and especially during our second course, the storm came and we had to finish our dinner under the camp. If the weather is unpredictable, please do cancel before 12. Instead, I would recommend the jenuhura picnic which is much cheaper and if you are lucky, you will still be the only couple on the island if no one else booked on that day.
- Highly recommend island excursion, we visited Abdula's (staff) island and you are able to see the real Maldives (not the Kanuhura wonder land), see the local people, cementary, school, house, homemade delicatenssen like coconut juice and herbal fish crepes. On the way back in the speedboat, you can enjoy the snorkel spot which was amazing. There were several tiny virgen isles in the middle of the crystal water.
- I also had 7-day-yoga package with Ramunni during my stay. One morning we had sun salutaion on the beach at 7 a.m., I really felt the energy of the sun and everything was so peaceful and beautiful.
- There are also massage packages, I chose the soothing 3 day spa pack in which it contains: maldivian massage (both of us), cucumber & yogurt cooling wrap (little alergical reaction on my skin because of the cucumber), back massage, pineapple & papaya scrub (my skin was so soft afterwards), facial treatment with massage and finally pedicure. Everyday, you feel like queen after all the treatments meanwhile your skin is renewed, your body is more flexible and your feet looks fabulous.
- My husband rent the snorkel equipment and did windsurf (it hurts him quite a lot as the wind was very strong the other day). He also went to the snorkelling excursion and got impressed with the marine life.
- There is fumigation everyday to have insect free, although, I got some mosquito bites as souvenirs. Please do apply some before bite spray everyday after 6 p.m. There are huge vegetarian bats flying from tree to tree in the evening when sunset, at the beginning I was scared but then you just loved them, they only eat the fruit on the trees and just like big birds.
- The food buffet in Thin Rah is absolutely great, you have a theme every day, seafood, indian ocean, italian, chinese, japanese, middle eastern, and maldivian. You must try the lemon ice tea and the angus beef tenderlion with wild mushroom sauce and grilled vegetables in Three Olive. Oh, please do try the ice cream, they are all home made. Especially, Chocolate Fudge with huge piece of brownies!!!
- FYI, the island is 1000 metre long and 200 metre wide. Everything is very natural, this is one of the reasons that I love Kanuhura, there is no sign of artificial exagerate luxury buildings. Wood, coconut, linen, cotton, palm tree leafs, banana leafs, they use all made from Kanuhura to build the ecological environment. Even the logo is so simple and nice. There are 360 staff living in the island to secure your stay. Everyone is smiling and nice to you, you will be surprised that they know your name and they do listen to you and care about you.
We would love to come back!

Room Tip: We were in room 120 (beach villa) which is far away from the main restaurants as well as the kids cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

Third time in 4 years and it just gets better. The facilities, ambience, food and location are only bettered by the outstanding staff in all Depts. EVERYONE makes you feel special, and EVEYONE therefore makes it such a special time. From the spa to the restaurant, housekeeping to gardening staff you are greeted with a smile, a sincere welcome every time you meet anyone, and nothing is ever too much trouble whatever the request. Having stayed at many 5 star locations around the world. the staff at Kanuhura must be six star and genuinely make the difference. We will be back next year!! Mr Patrick & Mrs Nicola!x

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

i went to kanuhura some 10 years ago and decided to return to see what it was like again - it has the benefit of a 2 bed villa on the beach and with a young child that was really unique in the maldives. i hadn't written this review before as there were a lot of good things about kanuhura that i like but i felt i ought to put my view across

the good - the beach is stunning and the lagoon really wonderful - i have been to several islands and you would be hard pressed to find a prettier one - you can literally pick up large shells on the sea shore and watch the rays go by - the kids club is lovely and the staff really excellent - always helpful and keen to make sure you are ok

the bad - its tired and needs a real overhaul - it does not look to me like there has been much upgrading going on - some of it is very dates, espescially the main dining area and what is with the awful piped music everywhere - it was so much nicer to hear the waves

the buffet is incredibly expensive ($90 per head) for what you get and whilst it is in line with the kind of prices charged elsewhere the choice of food is not - our son was meant to eat free but when we ordered food to the room for him, they tried to charge us - that was soon rectified but we did have to challenge them on that. Apparently we had to be eating with him for him to get free food - i tend not to have dinner at 5.00pm however. Then when we tried to take a cut apple back to the room for him we were told that we couldn't that buffet food could only be eaten in the buffet itself.

Water was available in the room (local filtered water) but in the restaurants you were forced to buy expensive evian and the like $15 a throw (the local water was not available to buy)- in temperatures like this you really need to be able to just have water when you need it, especially with children without breaking the bank -

i go to the maldives probably every year and have seen a number of resorts - the problem is that small issues like this really get on your nerves and start to spoil the holiday.

The villa was really pretty tired, espescially the living room. Ants came in the bedroom over our sons bed - it is the tropics so you do have to expect that but one evening the main part of the island was fumigated and all the insects flew into our bathroom - not good

overall a great island, lovely staff and sparkling - if the management relaxed a bit and stopped trying to squeeqe every last pip out of you they really would have a fantastic resort -

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kanuhura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanuhura

Address: Lhaviyani Atoll
Location: Maldives > Lhaviyani Atoll > Kanuhura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Kanuhura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kanuhura 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 26 natural atolls which make up the Maldives, contain some 1200 coral islands, infinite sandbanks and reefs spread over90,000 square kilometres of Indian Ocean. Only 200 of these islands are inhabited, while an additional 90 have been transformed into resorts. Kanuhura is located on the eastern rim of Lhaviyani Atoll, on its own private island. Famed for its laid-back luxury and authentic, natural Maldivian charm, the award-winning resort offers the highest standards of accommodation, service and culinary experience. Every effort has been made to retain the natural beauty of the island and wherever possible, employ the use of only natural materials. The island measures approximately 1000 meters in length and 200 meters in width, with a north-south orientation. It offers the best in watersports and diving. Travel is by seaplane and is around 40 minutes from the international airport at the Maldives capital, Male. The seaplanes, privately run by Maldivian Air Taxi Services, operate a schedule to accommodate international arrivals and departures. A private waiting lounge is available for guests of Kanuhura. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Kanuhura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kanuhura Hotel Kanuhura
Kanuhura Hotel Kanuhara
Kanuhura Resort Kanuhara
Kanuhura Maldives

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kanuhura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.