We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great reef, lousy management” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Angsana Ihuru, Maldives

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Angsana Ihuru, Maldives to your Saves list
Angsana Ihuru, Maldives
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Ihuru   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Angsana
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great reef, lousy management”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights (room nos. 21 and 26) end February 2014. Having visited the Maldives 13 times and stayed at 5 different resorts over the years, Angsana Ihuru was certainly not as satisfying as any of the others, which were priced above as well as below this one. The rooms are about average by Maldivian standards, but the "arty" shower is really annoying. It wets the entire bathroom and one ends up having to mop the whole room down after every use. Water-temperature regulation too, sucks. Snorkelling gear is free, but when we went to the dive centre to get some the first morning, we were informed to come back at 4 pm for a briefing. A whole day wasted! The 5-minute briefing, however, is useful, but there is no reason to waste a day waiting for it. The main spoiler of the whole experience was the European manageress who, unlike the friendly Asian staff, was cold to the point of hostility. No smile, no courtesies and even at check out, when settling the bill, not so much as a "thank you". Just pay up and go, seemed to sum up her attitude. She should definitely not be in the hospitality business. It is also not welcoming, the moment guests arrive, to produce a detailed bill and ask them to pay it. Registering a credit card is OK: everyone does that. But this is the first resort I have been to (except cheap motels, maybe) where I have been asked to settle my entire bill up front. It kills the welcome. I paid it, of course, rather than starting an argument there, but when I checked it through later I found that the amounts billed were higher than those quoted on the Booking.com website, through which we reserved. With some 200 other resorts to choose from, I'm pretty sure we will never use Angsana or their sister group Banyan Tree, again. That said, the house reef is better than at most resorts, and almost all the local staff (including their airport receptionist) very friendly, helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed J, Manager at Angsana Ihuru, Maldives, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
Dear Rohan P,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comment on Trip advisor having chosen our resort for your recent stay.

I am delighted to learn that you found our associates friendly, helpful and courteous . Our team is dedicated and always ready to make each guest stay a memorable experience.

We are sorry to learn that you found our Villas average and the shower really annoying. In addition you wasted the whole day for the 5 minutes briefing in the afternoon.

I would like to seize this opportunity to present my sincere apologies for the regretful mishaps encountered during your stay. As it is our greatest goal to make sure that our guests have a most enjoyable stay with us, please be assured that this is not a usual standard. As an exclusive intimate island boutique resort, Angsana Ihuru Maldives places an emphasis on the attention to details and we will make sure for no such mishaps to repeat. All your constructive comments have been passed on to our team already so we can improve our service standards.

We would like to thank you once again for your comments as these will truly help us to monitor, and improve even further our Angsana Ihuru services and facilities.

I trust you had a pleasant and safe journey home and look forward to welcoming you back for a chance to exceed your expectations to Angsana Ihuru Maldives or to any of our other resorts worldwide.

Best regards

Ilias Vamvakas
Hotel Manager
Angsana Ihuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    574
    113
    25
    11
    2
See reviews for
145
440
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Only 25mins from Male by motor boat. Small boutique atoll with Banyan Tree atoll close by for variation. Possibly best house reef available,very close to shore with passages in and out so very safe ---could not be better. Ray feeding every day at Banyan Tree for added value,otherwise all kinds of colourful fish and turtles to snorkel with. Very friendly and efficient staff. at all levels. Good and varied food and cocktail offerings.Everything is clean and well managed and the whole ambiance gives one a good feeling. We were there for two weeks and could have stayed longer , particularly as weather in UK has been so abysmal.This was a good time to be away with excellent weather----sun every day and temp around 30%. overall ,must rank as one of the best value for money holidays in the Maldives.To add to the experiance look no further than Angel fish travel for your needs. They are first class, and know the Maldives intimately. This was our fourth trip with them.Everything ran smoothly---paperwork etc and you can always speak to someone at their office when needs be.You will not be disappointed.Needless to say we expect to be back there next year.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Angsana Ihuru is a relatively small island, but offers one of the best snorkeling sites we've visited so far. The house reef and coral is relatively well protected, and we managed to see dolphins, sea turtle, black tip sharks, tawny nurse shark, and many other fishes.

Similar to Banyan Tree, the room is always filled with aromatic essential oils smell. The size of the villa is fairly comfortable.

The resort offers free transfer to sister resort, Banyan Tree, every two hours starting from 930am. Do drop by at Banyan Tree for the stingray and sea turtle feeding, which happen at 5pm and 530pm, respectively. The boat leaves at 430pm.

We also did the Manta Ray snorkel, which is only 30 mins speed boat ride from Angsana. We managed to see 4-5 Manta Rays up close, which is truly amazing. Costs USD300 for the four of us.

After dinner, try to walk around the beach to see the glowing blue plankton. A wonderful sight, especially during the plankton season.

Room Tip: Villa 1&2 will be too close to the restaurant, and hence less privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, England
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

My wife and I spent 7 nights here in February 2014.

I have been to three Maldives islands now (Eriyadu, Baros and Angsana Ihuru), each famed for a good house reef and excellent snorkelling. I have to say that Ihuru has the best house reef of the lot, and it you want to snorkel, it probably can't get much better than this. We swam with a turtle EVERY day, and saw at least one black tip reef shark on each snorkel trip. Other highlights included an eagle ray, white tip reef shark and a plethora of colourful reef fish. The snorkel entry points are clearly marked, and each gives easy access to other side of the reef. We also saw turtles and the smaller black tip shark enter the lagoon on a number of occasions. The snorkelling was definitely the highlight of our trip (as we wanted it to be).

We were on Bed and Breakfast. This allows you to eat lunch or dinner at the restaurant or the bar. To be honest, after having a large and enjoyable breakfast, we never once had lunch, saving ourselves for dinner. The restaurant provides set menus, and buffets. I have to say, the set menus are short on variation and you could find yourselves 'bored' of the food if you were to eat here every night. However, the quality was very high. The bar menu serves many dishes (again of a high standard) and I was grateful of being able to vary our meals, even though were only visited for 7 nights.

The service in the restuarant is very good, but it can be slow in the bar. There were two nights where we had to wait 30 minutes just for drinks - not acceptable for a '5' star resort. The lone barman spent most of his time making cocktails, and it seemed he would fall behind at the peak time of between 7pm and 7.30pm before most people went to dinner at the restaurant at 7.30. The wine list is limited on the island, although we found a lovely Malbec and really good Chianti.

The rooms are very nice. Beds are comfortable and plenty of pillows. Air con works well and they are cleaned twice a day. We had a jacuzzi villa - and this made it that little bit special. The jacuzzi (and shower) is outside, and it's fantastic to be able to bathe under the stars. The privacy of each beach area is variable depending on room - it's pot luck, but I would say the sunset rooms offer more privacy.

My wife and I used the spa once during our stay. A very pleasurable 2.5 hour experience, with some expert massage techniques employed!

It really is a lovely place, and we had a fabulous time, but would I go back? I'm not sure. It just missed that certain something to give it 5 stars. Maybe something about the service, maybe something about the room density (this is a small island), and although it never once felt busy, there really isn't a lot of privacy between some rooms. Some rooms are clearly VERY private - but that's just pot luck on your villa allocation. I still don't think I've found my perfect Maldives island (although this was great) but I am sure it can be perfect for many others.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Angsana Ihuru is a beautiful small island just a 20 minutes boat ride away from Male. The decor is simple, effective, the villas have been refurbished recently and deliver all the comfort you need while giving you the enough privacy (there's only detached beach villas at Ihuru which for me is a bonus).
Most of the staff at the island is welcoming, efficient and happy to help. The reef and some of the beach that didn't get too much affected by the erosion are definitely the ex-libris of this beautiful little gem. The coral is of great quality, the sea life is amazing (from the usual suspects to reef sharks, turtles, nurse sharks, ...) and you can always go the sister property Banyan Tree (free boat every 2 hours which takes 5 minutes) for a different vibe, a visit to the turtles sanctuary and some snorkeling (the house reef is far more accessible at Ihuru though). I recommend visiting Ihuru mostly for the reef and for a few days at the start of your holidays in the Maldives. Don't miss the sunset at the bar, truly spectacular.
A few notes to the management: the meal plans are very confusing and that detracts and frustrates people, the variety of food also needs to be improved as the menus are very monotomous yet good quality. Additionally, the staff at the diving centre need to step up, not only they were nearly 1 hour late for my appointment but also just did a house reef visit with no explanation whatsoever on anything..

Room Tip: Villas 35 to 25. Don't see the jet pool villas adding any value to the stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

My husband and I recently spent five full days at this resort, and everything about it lived up to or surpassed my expectations. My primary reason for going to Angsana Ihuru was based on its beach access to the incredible coral reef that circles the island. Turtles, an octopus, reef sharks, the most incredible corals, starfish (Crown of Thorns), sea anemones and some 200 different species of fish--I've never seen anything like it in my life, and my snorkeling has been limited to the Caribbean and one excursion in Thailand. If you do not like snorkeling, than this is not really the place for you. You can literally walk around the entire island in about eight minutes, it's that small. The resort has a small exercise room--perfectly adequate, but who wants to go inside? We loved our room. The shower area does not have a roof (but it does have high walls) so you shower in the "outdoors." The bed was extremely comfortable, with good lighting for reading. There is also a little sofa area and table. When you step outside, there is a little shaded deck area with an outdoor table. Step on to the sand, and there is a nice upholstered "swing" for two, a large wicker sunbed (again for two) and two chaise longues. Towels are fluffy and plentiful. There are two deep water buckets with ladles, at the front door and at the back terrace as well as two faucets (again in the front and at the back)to rinse your feet. Your room will be swept several times a day as well. We also found the food delicious. The resort serves quite a variety of food to an international clientele, and we were pretty amazed that most of the dishes ranged from very good to excellent given the multiple types of cuisine. The entire staff were lovely and gracious throughout our time there. You can eat inside the tented pavilion or outside on the deck. There is also a nice tented pavilion for the bar, and our last night there we heard some of the local music in a half-hour program. Oh, and the snorkeling equipment is excellent and in good condition. Don't miss the sting ray feeding and baby turtle marine project at sister resort Banynan Tree. As for non-marine wildlife, the most adorable bird family (sea hens) lives on the island. The male bird, and occasionally the female, will eat crumbs out of your hand or take said crumb back to their fuzzy black chick. Look up in the sky for the fruit bat. It looks like a raptor bird at first, but it is a large bat and pretty amazing.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We booked this trip through Angelfish, excellent service. I injured my ankle few weeks before leaving. As requested to Angelfish, we had the room close to the restaurant which was perfect. It is a small island which is 25minutes from Male by speed boat. All the villas are fully detached with a lot of privacy. Every villa has its own swing, sunbed…We have been to Maldives 3 times (Filhaholi, Kuramathi, Filitehyo) and Angsana Ihuru is definitely the best reef. We saw sharks every day, all the beautiful fishes that you can see (parrot fishes, angel fishes, surgery fishes), turtles. It is also great to go for free to the sister island "the Banyan Tree" (5minutes by boat) and see the ray feeding and small turtles. You can also go there for dinner or lunch for only 30 dollars per person. The food at Angsana Ihuru was good but the buffet could be improved (no much choice compared to Filitehyo and quality of dessert not as good). However the dinner "A la Carte" makes a big difference. Compared to other hotels where the restaurant is in the middle of the island , the main restaurant is right on the beach so you have an amazing view for breakfast and lunch. Rooms have been renovated recently. Wifi is free and works pretty well. Spa is really good: there is an interesting discount on the day of arrival, perfect after 11hours of flight. Overall we loved Angsana Ihuru. We would definitely go back for the reef, villa with a lot of privacy and restaurant on the beach.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Angsana Ihuru, Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angsana Ihuru, Maldives

Address: Ihuru
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Angsana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Angsana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Angsana Ihuru, Maldives 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most picturesque islands in the Indian Ocean, Ihuru is an exquisite tropical paradise waiting to be discovered. Blessed with palm-fringed beaches, crystal clear waters and pristine house reefs, the eco and guest-friendly retreat is located on the North Malé Atoll, just 20 minutes by speedboat from Malé. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Escapio, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Angsana Ihuru, Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angsana Ihuru, Maldives Hotel Angsana
Angsana Hotel Maldives Ihuru
Angsana Resort Maldives Ihuru

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angsana Ihuru, Maldives, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.