We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Angsana Ihuru, Maldives

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Angsana Ihuru, Maldives to your Saves list
Angsana Ihuru, Maldives
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Ihuru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Angsana
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2008

Ihuru is an absolutely stunning, intimate island with what must be one of the best house reefs in the Maldives. We went to Meeru two years ago and stayed in a Water Villa but Angsana Ihuru completely eclipses that experience, it is in a different league.

All of the staff, from being met at the airport and on the island itself to the housekeepers and waiters, are excellent, friendly and seem to enjoy their work.

The villas are well appointed, contemporarily furnished, decorated and have granite tops in the bathroom, additionally having a garden area with Maldivian swing is a nice touch and ideal for escaping the sun in the afternoon.

Whilst the food is generally very good it is on a 'weekly rota' so if you are staying longer than 7 nights it will repeat itself. Dinner alternates between a la carte and buffet, lunch is always buffet as is breakfast, as we have very little will power we found ourselves eating 3 large meals a day, usually with a curry dish featuring every lunch and dinner. My only critisism would be a lack of choice at breakfast, so I ended up with toast and fruit every morning, I did however convince myself, and my wife, that this would of course offset the effects of curry at both lunch and dinner.
The wine list is very good but unfortunately only a handful are available by the glass.

As I've already said the house reef and it's marine wildlife are both oustanding, the reef completely encirles the island and at some points is only a few yards from the beach.

Overall our experience has been fantastic, we don't normally like to return to holiday destinations but Angsana would certainly merit another visit.

As a slight aside another reviewer has mentioned the timing of Emirates flights, 2.20AM, and having to hang around the airport for hours. We left Angsana at 3.00PM, but had booked a room at the airport hotel, Hulule, there are two alternatives, a day room which needs to be vacated by 10.00PM or if you book for the night you can check out whenever you like. We had checked in on for a flight on line at Angsana in the morning so didn't need to leave Hulule until after midnight. The cost is well worth it.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    103
    24
    9
    2
See reviews for
111
383
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilts, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2008

Flew Emirates via Dubai as my boyfriend has long legs and their 777's have adequate legroom even in economy (avoid Monarch if you're tall!). Angsana is more beautiful than the pictures in the brochures. Everyone we talked to said the reef, which completely encircles the island, is one of the best in the Maldives AND it's only 10 yards from your villa! We snorkelled everyday and saw lots of coral, fish, sharks and even a turtle.
We stayed in Villa 21 which was on the northern tip and probably had the biggest stretch of beach. Villas 1 - 20 have less beach and face east whilst 24 onwards have more sand and face west. We didn't opt for the jacuzzi pool and were very glad - in our opinion, it's a waste of money.
Staff were friendly and helpful - our dedicated waiter was really nice. The only slight downside was the food - it's tasty but we just got bored of it. Not a great choice at breakfast. All lunches were buffet. Every other dinner was buffet. We were there 10 days and the menu seemed to repeat after 7. Everything is priced in dollars - we got $2 to the pound so drinks etc were not too expensive. A trip to the nearby Banyan Tree, via the free ferry, is well worth it to watch the turtles and sting rays being fed.
One final tip when considering the Maldives if you fly Emirates - Transfers from nearby Atolls are by boat. These run at night so if you're catching the Emirates 2am departure you can stay in the hotel much longer. If you choose a hotel further away with seaplane transfers - they only fly during daylight hours so you'll spend a lot of time waiting at the airport.
In summary, we thoroughly enjoyed our holiday. The hotel's fine and the setting is unbeatable.

  • Liked — Next to the beach & reef
  • Disliked — Black ash furniture!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doncaster
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2008

We flew with Qatar Airways , this was my first long haul flights the seat were comfy the entertainment good enough to last the whole flight and the staff very friendly,

As soon as we arrived in the Maldives it was amazing the warm air the open space felt so relaxing a million miles away from life in the UK.

It was a 20 min speed boat transfer to the resort and even though im not a fan of boats i even enjoyed it.

The resort was amazing the staff friendly and smiling waiting to great us as we arrived, the room was exactly like on the pictures, we stayed in a delux jacuzzi beach bungalow and it was well worth the money, Every day they left a gift on the bed for us, a small stuffed sea turtle some days a poem, the bed was neatly laid everyday and the sheets fanned. They had left a basket full of fruit and a half Bottle of champagne.

The outdoor bathroom with jacuzzi just added to the luxury of our room and looking up at the sky while i showered was a real experience.

The staff were friendly polite and helpful. The food was a buffet at brreakfast and lunch. Lovely fresh fruit and a chef cooking omelettes and pancakes in the morning plus ceareals and pastry. Fresly grilled steak fish and chicken at lunch along woth rice and loats of veg ect.

Dinner was a la carte and was nothing less than perfect every night we ate there and the food was differant everynight.

We treat oursealves to a couple of massages while we were there and was the ultimate relaxation, followed by some lovely fruit tea.

All in all i would go back here a 100 times over and i haven't got a bad word to say about the journey or the resort i would recomend this to anyone.

  • Liked — Clean and pituresque
  • Disliked — Nothing at all
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2008

Don't think twice about this one, it's a no brainer. It's utterly MAGICAL!

Angsana, Ihuru is simply a piece of heaven, once you get there, you won't want to leave. We were considering sending for the children and staying put!

*SETTING - Spectacular, picture postcard
*ACCOMODATION - Luxurious and immaculate
*STAFF - Attentive and friendly yet unobtrusive
*MEALS - Delicious and so much to choose from. You'll never be hungry
*SNORKELLING AND SCUBA - Magnificent!

A few things to note:

- Do the night fishing, it was great. I caught a sleeping shark on a handline!

- Do the ray feeding at Banyan Tree, Angsana's sister resort just a few mins away.

- If you are trying to decide between Banyan Tree and Angsana, go Angsana. It just seems that little bit more intimate than BT.
Plus, at Angsana your restaurant is RIGHT on the water, the jetty is shorter than BT which trust me, will matter to you when you are there and the reef at Angsana is better too.

- If you want a table right on the waters edge at meal time either be there at the beginning when meals start or wait till about halfway through the sitting times when the first lots of people are leaving. We wanted that true 'we're in the Maldives' feeling so wanted to sit right at the waters edge for our meals. It really is magical.

- Don't worry about the ants, they look scary but apparently they don't bite and the place is fumigated about 3 times a week to keep them at bay.

- We went on a day trip to Male and it was an experience, we didn't really like it much. After being on our beautiful Angsana we couldn't wait to get back!
Make sure you take a few $$ for tipping if you do go into Male, and be prepared if you leave your guide for a moment, to be mobbed by retailers trying to get you into their shops to buy things. The guide will take you into 'the best souvenier shops' but also be prepared, you'll feel obliged to buy something from them.

- Ask for a villa on the dive centre side of the island, the beach isn't quite as eroded there and you'll get to see the sunsets.

- If trying to decide between a spa villa or regular, honestly, we had the spa villa and used the spa twice. While it was nice for the short periods that we used the spa, I'd save the $$ and just get a regular villa they are exactly the same, just without a spa.

  • Liked — The open air bathroom
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2008

Not sure what I can add that hasn’t already been said on the posts before. I would definitely agree that Villas 27 – 40 on the West Facing Side of the Island are the best. These have the most beach and the sunset in the evening. I emailed them before I left requesting this and got a lovely email back saying they’d try their best but it would depend upon availability on arrival. As it worked out, we did get Villa 34 and it was perfect.

Not having been anywhere on a Full Board basis before, I did wonder if it would be a bit dull eating at the same place 3 times a day but actually I loved it, the food was absolutely gorgeous, there was lots of choice. A typical lunch for instance there might be several different salads, cold beef, smoked salmon, potato salad, rice salad, cheese, lamb curry, lasagne or pasta dish, sweet & sour chicken, beef stew, egg fried rice, a barbeque where they’d be cooking a couple of things such marinated chicken, vegetable kebabs, tuna & baked potatoes. Then the desserts, four or five different choices every lunch and dinner; an example would be coffee mousse, chocolate tart, apple strudel and custard, lemon meringue pie; tiramisu and fresh fruit. Breakfast and Evening meals were just as good. There was every type of breakfast food you can think of. For dinner, 4 of the 7 nights were a set menu, every other night – it’s always a different theme and always a vegetarian, a meat and a fish option. They asked us on arrival if we had any special dietary requests and I got the impression if you did have, they’d cater for you. Nothing was too much trouble – I was amazed that they have so many different foods and obviously from all over the world – in the middle of the Indian Ocean and seemed to be able to cook everything perfectly. Prepare to get fat people!

I’d never snorkelled before but we’d read, and were told by the staff, that Angsana has one of the best house reefs in the Maldives – it was amazing and very easy to access. If you’ve never seen a reef before, there are entrances (gaps in the reef) where you can just a few feet and be in 30m deep water looking back at a wall of coral and tropical fish, then turn around and swim a few feet and be back able to stand in the shallows again – so you don’t need to be a strong swimmer to enjoy it.

As someone has mentioned before, there were a few big ants in the bathroom and creepy crawlies do freak me out a bit, but don’t let this put you off, you don’t even worry about them once you’re there. I found that once you ‘flicked’ one away with a towel, they’d all run like crazy and disappear into the ground again. Leave the toilet seat up when you go out as they like to congregate under there….lovely!

The Villas are great, the décor is modern, the bathroom and outdoor shower is beautiful, all black granite and gorgeous smelling products. There are things I appreciated in the room, like lots of nice lighting with dimmer switches, a ceiling fan as well as air con, and another ceiling fan out on the deck. Fresh candles, incense sticks and aromatherapy oil in a burner – if you used any of them they’d top them back up for you. They kept coming back to tidy up; 2 or 3 times a day but were never bothersome and would always seem to have been when you got back from somewhere. It really was home from home and I’d thoroughly recommend it!

P.S. Will someone please feed our birds? They’re lovely, they’ll come running when you call them and take bread from your hands and they like a bit of fresh water to dip their bread into too please!

  • Liked — Thoughtful touches
  • Disliked — The bathroom ants
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2008

If you're not sure if this is the place for you...don't hesitate any further - just book it!

We had the best holiday there and I think we've spoiled ourselves for future trips. The staff are really helpful, the rooms are big and spotless, the gardens are manicured every day, the beaches are pristine and the lagoon is turquoise! Added to that are tonnes of different kinds of fish - everywhere! Snorkelling on the house reef is the best. You can see all the small fish imaginable, plus turtles, rays, baracude and sharks! But fear not - they stay clear of you!

The dive facilities are better than first class. All modern equipment, a brilliant dive boat (which we had to ourselves one day, with 4 staff just to us!) You get treated like royalty, with fresh water, scented handtowels and fresh fruit between dives. The dive centre staff all seem to speak dozens of languages, so it's perfect for everyone.

The food is amazing here - a mix of buffet evenings and a la carte. We stayed Full Board as we knew we wouldn't know what is house beer/wine and probably ended up paying less than all inclusive.

The only advice I'd recommend is to ask for a WEST facing villa. If you are on the east side, you will only get the sun in the morning and it can be a bit cooler on that side when the winds come up. We would recommend any bungalow between # 24 - 34.

The spa is amazing and the staff there are so lovely and friendly - they really do their utmost to make you enjoy the experience. Very zen!

Go now! Enjoy!

  • Liked — diving/snorkelling
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on-Sea,Essex, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2008

Me and My Mum stayed at the Angsana in April 2007 for a week. There is not much to say about it other than its PERFECT!! The island is very small,private and quiet. The food is really lovely,Breakfast is always Buffet, Lunch is Buffet and a barbeque, DInner is A' La Carte one night and Buffet the next.I am quite a fussy eater but I found the selection of foods to be adequate. All the staff are really friendly and helpful. The snorkelling is amazing! The rooms are lovely, really airy and very clean. They are cleaned twice a day. The bathrooms are really lovely and clean.There isnt anything really in the way of entertainment, but thats to be expected when you go on holiday to somewhere that tranquil. The only problem I had was with the ants in the room. This cant be helped in a tropical island, but i cannot stand ants and they were massive! There were usually about 20 of them on the bedroom floor at night,and usually quite a few in the bathroom, even on/under the toilet seat! The speedboat transfer to the island is about 15-20 minutes and was quite exciting! We flew with Sri Lankan airlines, which were terrible, The cabin crew were quite rude and the economy seats were very cramped for such a long flight. I definitely wouldnt recommend them to fly with. Other than that it was the holiday of a lifetime and i really want to go back this year! Dont hesitate to book a holiday an Angsana as it is simply outstanding! xxx

  • Liked — Views, Rooms, Service, Snorkelling!
  • Disliked — Ants in rooms!
  • Stayed April 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Angsana Ihuru, Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angsana Ihuru, Maldives

Address: Ihuru
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Angsana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Angsana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Angsana Ihuru, Maldives 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most picturesque islands in the Indian Ocean, Ihuru is an exquisite tropical paradise waiting to be discovered. Blessed with palm-fringed beaches, crystal clear waters and pristine house reefs, the eco and guest-friendly retreat is located on the North Malé Atoll, just 20 minutes by speedboat from Malé. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Escapio, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Angsana Ihuru, Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angsana Ihuru, Maldives Hotel Angsana
Angsana Hotel Maldives Ihuru
Angsana Resort Maldives Ihuru

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angsana Ihuru, Maldives, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.