We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay, ultimate destination for tranquillity” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Angsana Ihuru, Maldives

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Angsana Ihuru, Maldives to your Saves list
Angsana Ihuru, Maldives
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Ihuru   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Angsana
Certificate of Excellence
Borculo, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent stay, ultimate destination for tranquillity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Angsana Ihuru is by far the best experience ever!

we have stayed in many luxury resorts and were afraid Ihuru would be a bit less than these, but turned out to be our favourite by far.
The ecologything isn`t for "woolen sock" kind of people, but just shows you can have a luxury resort with respect for the precious environment it is situated in, it merely helps you loving and respecting it all! The Housereef is incredible, the best we have ever seen in the Maldives ( stayed at Vabbinfaru ; Rangali and Centara as well), there is just as much to see at your doorstep at 2mtr depth than it is in the most astonisching divelocations. Turtles, Rays, sharks, all are there plenty!

Food is great, not as elaborate as in larger resorts but there is always enough choice and teh quality is very good. Loved the Tuna grill lunches!

the staff is excellent, rooms are nice and clean ( loved the no TV!), beach is flawless. since it is a small resort it is very quiet, which we adored.

We`ll be back for sure!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    602
    117
    26
    11
    2
See reviews for
155
451
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

My girlfriend & myself spent 5 nights at Angsana Ihuru from 16 to 21 Dec 2011. We would recommend this place to anyone that love snorkeling. The island is surrounded by beautiful coral reef that is filled with rich marine life. We spent many days snorkeling round the island (it takes about an hour) & we saw many reef sharks such as the nurse sharks, whitetip & blacktip. We also spotted tuna fish, baby baracuda, lion fish, parrot fish, puffer fish, eagle ray & a huge moray eel. I strongly recommend the night snorkeling tour as you will be amazed by the night marine creatures such as the spider crab, starfish, squid, urchin, snail, lobster & plankton that glows when you switched off your lights. But do give night fishing a miss as there were hardly any catch among the 15 of us who went out & they charge you USD20 to cook the fish you caught on top of the USD65 for the trip.
The luxury villa that we stayed is pretty old & the bed is uncomfortable. Gym equipments are not well maintained, especially the step machine which has a loose pedal. The food in the resort taste blend & has limited choices. And we had the same buffet spread for breakfast for 5 consecutive mornings! Service quality among the staffs is average in general. As a result, I would only recommend Angsana Ihuru for a maximum of 2 nights stay.

Room Tip: Choose villa from no 8 to 18 where you have reef access at your doorstep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, Manager at Angsana Ihuru, Maldives, responded to this review, January 6, 2012
Dear Mr. William TCT,


Thank you very much for your feedback which is always taken in a positive light and appreciated as we strive to continuously improve on our services and product.


We are delighted to read your compliments related with our reef and marine life. However we are sorry to learn that despite enjoying the night snorkeling, you were disappointed with your night fishing experience. Nature is difficult to anticipate and there were many times when the night fishing trip return with large catches.


In regards to your comments about the age of the villa and the comfort of the bed; we are pleased to share with you an exciting event that will take place this year. Starting in April this year, Angsana Ihuru has been schedule for a refurbishment throughout the resort. Upon completion it will offer our valued guests an even better product and services to enjoy and relax in.


Your comment on the breakfast has been highlighted to our Executive Chef attention for immediate improvement.


Once again, thank you for sharing your experience. I certainly do hope that despite these shortcomings, you had an overall relaxing stay at Angsana Ihuru.


We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you again in Angsana Ihuru or to any of our other Angsana and / or Banyan Tree properties.


Kind Regards,


Henar Rios

Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

We do love the experience on Angsana Ihuru. All the persons here are so friendly and patient. The room is simple and cozy, we like it very much.
The environment of the island is very beautiful and natural, we thought it would be better if with less flies. : )

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

I stay in the hotel during nov. 20-23, the location is very good, only 20 mints by boat from Male. During the stay, i start with my Padi course, and my hasband made an advance course of Padi, we use 3 days for snorkling and diving, but founded not enough, we already plan for a 5 days stay next time for diving and snorkling.
People who wanna relax in this island is also cool, the beach villa connect the white beach, birds come to visit you every morning in your personal gardern, spa is cheap but very good, food is interneational taste, people here is so frankly.
It is easy to visit Banyan Tree, hotel offer a shuttle boat every day, 2 hours each shift, guest will have different experience on snorkling and diving.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We went to Angsana Ihuru on November 16 for our anniversary. Our flight was delayed by 5 hours due to Indian military exercise that would block our flight path. Not very happy about that, and it would also mean that we would miss dinner. We were welcomed by a Banyan Tree staff at the airport and we asked if there still would be dinner at the resort. He looked at his watch, which would be 11pm Ihuru time, and said unfortunately kitchen was closed. We took the speedboat to the resort and were warmly welcomed again by Mr Jihad. After we settled into our lovely room, we received a phone call. The staff at the airport (unfortunately we don't remember his name) had phoned the resort when we were on the boat and mentioned we were hungry. So the staff at the resort had prepared some sandwiches for us! This is service! This kind of warm and friendly service had been consistent throughout our stay.

The island itself was just the kind of place we dreamed of. We selected the island because there is a house reef, 5 - 10 meters away from the beach surrounding the entire island. The island takes only 5 minutes to walk across. We went snorkeling 3-4 times a day. We saw countless beautiful fishes, plus sharks, sea turtles. The free shuttle boat runs every two hours to Banyan Tree Resort (another island), where we could watch sting ray feeding at 5pm everyday. Ihuru's reef is much better though.

Food was fantastic. There is always ample choices when it's buffet, and set dinners are excellent as well. Our server Sayid would greet us by name and serve us attentively at every meal. The executive chef came out to greet us at one dinner which was such a personal touch. All the food was so tasty.

The villa itself was clean and comfortable, though we were not crazy about the bathroom. It's an outdoor bathroom which is very pretty with plants growing, but ants and some mosquitoes (if you attract them) do get in.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

We spent 5 nights here in November as part of our Honeymoon. It was very relaxing. The island and marine life is just amazing. You can snorkel with turtles, sharks, big schools of tropical fish and rays just metres off the beach on their pristine house reef. I went on 3 dives and saw Manta Rays, Moray eels and more. The visibility was up to 30m. The food and service was fantastic, sometimes buffet, sometimes a la carte menu. Buffet can include tasty seafood and wonderful salads. We went fishing and caught a big snapper and the restaurant cleaned and cooked the fish for us beautifully. We also did a private sandbank dining, where we had a beautiful meal sitting in the middle of the ocean - sensational !!
The only very small negatives are the sand bags on the beach, and the rooms are very nice but not total luxury. But the surroundings and service more than make up for any short comings. Highly recommend for a peaceful, relaxing romantic getaway.

Room Tip: West facing rooms 33-38 get great views of the sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

Can't find anything wrong with this place, had a great relaxing holiday.
Excellent marine centre.
Beautiful house reef.
Good service, especially room service (Atfal was great!) and would recommend in villa bbq.
Overall excellent holiday with lots of sleep and snorkeling.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Angsana Ihuru, Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angsana Ihuru, Maldives

Address: Ihuru
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Angsana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Angsana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Angsana Ihuru, Maldives 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most picturesque islands in the Indian Ocean, Ihuru is an exquisite tropical paradise waiting to be discovered. Blessed with palm-fringed beaches, crystal clear waters and pristine house reefs, the eco and guest-friendly retreat is located on the North Malé Atoll, just 20 minutes by speedboat from Malé. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Escapio, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Angsana Ihuru, Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angsana Ihuru, Maldives Hotel Angsana
Angsana Hotel Maldives Ihuru
Angsana Resort Maldives Ihuru

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angsana Ihuru, Maldives, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.