We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon @ BAROS” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baros Maldives

Save Saved
You added Baros Maldives to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Baros Maldives
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 2015, 20-02   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Exclusive Summer Saver
Ranked #2 of 68 hotels in North Male Atoll
Kuala Lumpur
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Honeymoon @ BAROS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2008

My hubby & I celebrated our honeymoon in this wonderful resort full of friendly staff and beautiful scenes! We stayed in water villa 309 but was view was obstructed by resort's boats anchored nearby (our villa was quite near the main area of the resort, i.e. restaurants, pier, etc). Try choosing villas from 311 onwards.

Our comments:
1) Raining season when we visited. Best time to visit is in Dec & Jan. Stayed for 4 nights, raining 2 nights.
2) A lot of ants wondering around. Do not leave sweet stuff around! Made a comment to the resort.
3) Love the in villa dining! They have on deck BBQ (we didnt try this), on deck picnic (we tried this and nearly faint at the amount of food-note next time just order for 1). Based on the 1st day dinner price (USD75/person for maldivian night), our in villa dining was much cheaper (that also depends on what you order-less than USD40 for pasta & pizza)
4) There are on deck massage but we didnt get it because we were informed that only 1 person can do at 1 time and limited massage can be done (due to materials needed)
5) Snorkeling gear is free of rent so that's great!
6) Daily excursions keeps you occupied if you dont want to stay in your room :) but our glass bottom boat & dolphin cruise was cancelled due to weather condition. Other excursions include to MALE, snorkeling resort's reef, snorkeling outside reefs, etc
7) Breakfast was good! Only 2 sets of buffet breakfast alternately served daily
8) In villa nuts are not free! We were informed that it was when we checked in -- this was really disappointing!
9) In our villa, we had players so you could bring your DVDs to watch or I think you can also get them from the resort's retail shop
10) For our honeymoon package, the resort provided 1 bottle of champagne/sparkling wine and 1 dinner (complete with photo of both of us). Dinner was suppose to be on the beach but unfortunately it rained and we ended up couped in the corner of the restaurant but food was good

  • Liked — Its cleaned everyday!
  • Disliked — Ants!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,063 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    946
    88
    21
    7
    1
See reviews for
48
881
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nicosia, Cyprus
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2008

Just GO!!!. Me and my wife we stayed there for 5 nights during our honeymoon. it couldnt have been better believe me.We chose to stay in the Deluxe Villa (no 109).It is a very small island with increadible scenery and unbelievable service and staff approach (no children allowed).It worthed every cent. Great beaches and calm warm waters.Great shades beneath palm trees as well. We had our own private beach spot just a few feet from our villa. These villas (deluxe) are hidden underneath the thick vegetation and you can hide from the sun if you like (during meals). They offer large verantas relax and dinner chairs and outdoor table. Inside luxury in every inch (we cant forget the outdoor bath and showers).It had great spa and 3 increadibe restaurants (the 2 were more budget friendly). It also had a beautiful bar with live music.Anyway choose deluxe villas (on the good beachside of the island - numbers 105-119).Do take the romantic candle dinner by the sea and a boat trip if you like.Unforgetable honeyoon moments and unbelievable fotos are guaranteed.

  • Liked — White (sand) Green (vegetation) turqoise and blue (waters and skies)
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2008

Just returned from 10 days on Baros and it was the most wonderful experience. We stayed in a Baros Villa which are all directly on the beach, the villas are very clean and well furnished with every thing you could possibly need - I loved the outdoor shower! The island is small , it takes about 10 mins to walk round but the villas are privately set and you don't really see a lot of other people apart from in the restautants. All 3 restaurants served superb food and breakfast was very good, Sails bar and the Lighthouse Lounge were both good to relax in with a cocktail. Food and drink was pricey but we expected that and budgeted for it. Staff are all very friendly and can't do enough for you - nothing was a problem. Snorkelling was fantastic and very safe. I also had a few treatments in the Spa which again was expensive but well worth it. The weather was excellent even though it was monsoon season we only had 4 showers in 10 days. If you are thinking of going to the Maldives look no further than Baros - we can't wait to return!

  • Liked — Outdoor Shower and the cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2008

My husband and I visited this as a 10th wedding anniversary trip looking for something more exotic than France, sunshine, beauty and relaxation. It was perfect. We stayed in a water villa (ask for one facing the sunset as they don't all quite do so) and stayed a week.
Good aspects: island is perfectly manicured with lovely displays of flowers everywhere, rooms are fantastic, staff are friendly (to a point), reef is very accessible, easy to snorkel being shallow and sheltered by the sea wall, plently of fish and sharks(!), transfer from hotel not too long and close enough to Male to allow a visit, food is good and large range.
Less good aspects: as well as being expensive to book, drinks, extra food (beyond the half board) and trips are expensive with an automatic service tip added. As long as you go anticipating and budget accordingly this it is OK. Some of the trips were not worthwhile - fishing for 2 hours and only 1 person caught a fish which was so small it was thrown back straight away; snorkelling on reefs out to sea did not show us anything we didn't see on the house reef and was hard work in the choppy water. The trip to Male I did find very interesting although too long. Food gets a little repetitive by the end of the week but not a major problem. Our weather was not great and we had massive thuderstorms for the first few days but then it was sunny.

Overall though, if you want a smart hotel in a setting so beautiful that it seems unreal this is your place. I would go back.
Oh yes, Sri Lankan Airlines was scary and shabby.

  • Liked — It was beautiful
  • Disliked — Not enough fruit provided every day
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turriff, Scotland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2008

We stayed at Baros for 8 nights and cant recommend it enough! After a hectic 2 weeks travelling round Thailand & Singapore, a week in Baros was just the perfect way to relax.
We stayed in water villa 319 & didnt find it noisey - as one of the other reviews suggesed. (Noise from what??? The passing reef sharks or the lapping sound of the ocean???). It was the perfect villa with the sun all day on the deck.
The service on the island is second to none & we cant thank the staff on the island enough for all they did for us to make our stay special. I can highly recommend the Nooma evening sail.
The food in all restaurants is amazing with a great choice even for non fish eaters like me! The Asian night and also the Maldivian night are also recommended.
Other reviews suggest the island is expensive for food and drink, but to me you have to pay for quality. It is an island after all and with any island you have to expect things to be more expensive.
Was very sad to pack my suitcase to come home!

  • Liked — The deck on the water villa - great for sun worshipers!
  • Disliked — Nothing !
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nott
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2008

We've just arrived from Baros today. We spent a great honey moon. To make this review different I will just mention the most special things:
- We stayed in a water Villa: It was great>> We recommend Villa 330 till Villa 322 since the villas on the other side face Male and the windy area which is noisy specially at night.

- As for the beach Villas: they are also nice. If you prefer to set and lay down on the sand infront of your villa, getting in and out of your villa easily to the beach then go for the beach villa. If are looking for something really romantic where you can set in the balcony above the water and have an easy access for snorkling then I recommend the water villa.

- Baros: We visited different islands. I can title Baros "The Laxuray Island". As for the other islands, they were more natural, but still Baros was nice.

- Beach: It has great beach all around the island. You will enjoy snorkling, diving and different water sports. Don't forget you scuba camera and enjoy swimming aroung the harmless sharks.

- Weather: remember to take a sun block cream. We stayed there for one week and I believe that the weather was fine. There is awlays something to do even when it is raining.

- Spa: great, little expensive,but you are getting a high quality service so it is worth paying!

- Staff: are very friendly but staff at the restaurant needs more training.

- Food: honestly comparing the quality of food at Baros Island with the other Islands we stayed in, I personaly didn't enjoy the food except once while having the Asian Cuisin (Personal).

In general, Baros is great. Dont forget to set on the "fatboy" chairs under the coconut trees watching the fabiuolous view of the beach. Also, read the daily program kept in your room to know about the activities for the whole week so you can plan your stay and get better prices by joining the group. We were told on the last day that there is an indoor swimming pool , but we didn't have the chance to see it.

  • Liked — View
  • Disliked — A/C quality
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldwick, Nr Bognor Regis, England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2008

We absolutely loved Baros. I was a little worried when we first booked Baros as it is very close to Male. Yes you could see it in the distance but it in no way did it mar our feeling of seclusion. We have stayed at the Four Seasons and Conrad (Hilton) Rangali Island before. The Hilton was fantastic and you certainly felt you were on a secluded island but I actually enjoyed Baros more (far better value as well). I don't know if the food was as good as it sometimes seemed to be a bit hit and miss, but staff were wonderful and restaurants all offered different dining experiences.
We loved our deluxe beach villa which we had for 5 days, we then moved round the island for a different view to a Baros Villa.
The Deluxe had a beautiful outside bathroom. But your cosmetics etc nearly get to boiling point! The Baros Villa is larger with an inside bathroom but outside shower. The position on the beach was wonderful. The sea was beautfiul and clear and just so warm. Our days were spent just lazing around on loungers, reading, swimming and snorkling, enjoying each others company, the evenings spent enjoying good food and wine (pricey), and again just spending time together. The beach was nearly always empty as our neighbours were diving or snorkling.
Baros is great for people who want to be busy and those of us who just really want to spoil themselves and enjoy a well earned rest.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Baros Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baros Maldives

Address: PO Box 2015, 20-02
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in North Male Atoll
#2 Romantic Hotel in North Male Atoll
#2 Spa Hotel in North Male Atoll
#2 Top resorts Hotel in North Male Atoll
#2 On the Beach Hotel in North Male Atoll
#3 Family Hotel in North Male Atoll
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Baros Maldives 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lush, tropical island set in the shimmering waters of a shallow lagoon, ringed by a reef vibrant with marine life. Stay in elegance in Villas created from timber and sandstone, poised and peaceful over a translucent lagoon, or nestled discreetly among exotic blooms by the beach. Revel in romantic privacy on the perfect vacation. The essence of the Maldives, defined at Baros. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Baros Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baros Maldives Hotel North Male Atoll
Baros Maldives Male
Baros Maldives Hotel Male
Baros Maldives North Male Atoll

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baros Maldives, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.