We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise ?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thulhagiri Island Resort

Save Saved
You added Thulhagiri Island Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agoda.com
Thulhagiri Island Resort
3.5 of 5 Specialty Resort   |   Kaafu Atoll   |  
Hotel amenities
London
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Paradise ?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Boutique paradise, that has the potential to be excellent.

As per previous posts...would I come again/recommend ? Yes !

July = rainy season...4/4 sunny days !

Points to factor...
No complementary water...surely inhumane, considering location and the parent company is a bottled water manufacturer !

Staff are friendly, but only after you initiate dialogue...management need to initiate a customer service culture.. Eye contact, warm smiles and acknowledge guests.

Wi-fi -chargeable...But still hit and miss !

Curtains, bed and linen -needs updating.

NonMotorised watersport equipment needs to be complimentary.

Swimming pool is obsolete, you have a beautiful beach...!

Charge 10% more, and address these issues. You will then have an excellent resort, which will "punch" far above it's weight. Bear in mind it is one of the cheapest resorts, at the minimum have a HB package.

General- If transfers (extortionate ) are mandatory why are they not incl. in the resort rate, thus able to compare apples with apples etc...

Room Tip: Request Beach hut, but one that has a clear unobstucted view and located with small sandy area in fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    86
    100
    26
    12
    5
See reviews for
32
138
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed in Thulhagiri from 7th to 14th May 2012 and had an absolutely awesome time. We were all-inclusive in water villa #225 and the views were stunning. Around the villa we had Jack fish, stingrays, eagle rays, black tip reef sharks and loads of other fish that we could see just by standing on our deck! The Jacks, in particular, would circle underneath the villa every day and, very skilfully, right underneath the glass-topped coffee table!

The staff were great and we had no complaints about any of them. In particular our waiter, Ali, was very friendly and we had a good laugh with him. He very quickly knew our requirements and would deliver without us having to ask. In the bar, the Sri Lankan guy (bar manager?) was also exceptional and all the bar staff friendly – always making sure we had a drink. Thank god we were all inclusive!

The island has a nice rustic feel – yes, it was a little tired in places but you have to temper expectations against the surroundings and the environment. Evening entertainment was perhaps a little basic but the ‘house’ band were great and, with the staff having discovered my wife & I are in a band in the UK, we were invited up on stage to play with them!

Other than perhaps wanting a little more in the way of evening entertainment (a very personal view) the only other ‘complaint’ (too strong a word) would be the cleanliness of the communal toilets near reception – could do with some regular cleaning especially on the floor.

Thulhagiri really is a paradise in miniature and lives up to ‘no news, no shoes’ - except for those toilets!

This was our second trip to the Maldives and it didn’t disappoint. Would we go back to Thulhagiri? Although our next trip is already booked to another island, yes we will definitely return.

Oh, just for the record, despite the weather in the weeks leading up to our trip, we did not have a single drop of rain all week!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koper, Slovenia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Back from honeymoon in Thulhagiri which is the best place for this in my opinion.
If you are into drinking cocktails on the beach, doing nothing etc etc this is the place for you.
The food is great, the drinks too. You have to take the "all inclusive" because it offers you the possibility of a variety of drinks (coca cola, sprite, fanta, ....) + water which is VITAL down there. Don't look for a lower value stay because you will regret it. Another couple had "only" the breakfast, lunch & dinner without all inclusive and was not satisfied (also it's very expensive to change to "all inclusive" once your there).
We were on a water bungalow which i highly raccomend. You open your door and go directly on the coral reef surrounded by beautiful and colorful fish.
Aldo the all inclusive provides you with all the snorkeling equipment, so you don't have to take it with you (- kg on the luggage) + snorkeling trip or another trip for free. So, once again TAKE IT.
It' also good to take the tour to Male, the capital, which is quite a cultural shock and the "island hopping" tour that takes you to 2 resorts and 1 island that is inhabited by locals + grill on a tiny small sand reef (which was poor - pasta + chicken meat ... cold).
The only minus I have to say it's for the last day. We had our flight planned on 11 pm but we have to leave our room at 11.30am. Two days and the last day before our departure I asked the staff if we have to reserve the "shower room" which they provide "if it is available". They said that there was "no problem" ... but the last day the room was not available and I say on their paper that some people have reserved it. I guess it was a misunderstand. Fortunately we have a couple that was so kind to us and gave they shower so we could spend the entire day swimming on the beautiful see that surrounds this tiny island.
Raccomended ++++

Room Tip: Take the water bungalow between n. 219 and 225 on the right side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

This island is suitable for people who are looking for a peaceful destination where you can walk around shoeless, eat fantastic fresh cooked food and hear nothing but the sea waves. The Managment has obviously a vision of providing a true tranquil vacation for people who has busy lives.
Coral reefs are surrounding the island, so if you are in a water bungalow (which will be great) or in a hut you would just jump into their ocean swim around the island and snorkel to see all kinds of fish, small sharks and sometimes dolphins. There is plenty to do if you want. They have diving center, water activities are available with instructors, so if you want to be active you can. At night once or twice they have a band after dinner,they could add some Activites at night though for people to get to know each other. Otherwise, ocean and view are gorgeous, food is delicious and we would certainly consider going back to the Maldives ( paradise).

Room Tip: Take. Water bunglow as it is certainly a wonderful experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

We stayed @ Thuhagiri Resort for 5 days on our honeymoon and it was the best vacation I've had so far! If you're into hanging out at the beach drinking frozen margarita's this is probably one of the best places for it. There's a pristine white sand beach and the most amazing blue ocean, its almost like a giant swimming pool.
We had a water bungalow with a deck that opens onto a coral reef. A few wooden steps and you are in the water surrounded by colorful fish and corals perfect for snorkeling & reef sharks which was such an exciting experience.
They also offer a private picnic for couples where you get to spend the day on a remote island, all by yourselves.
The only thing I can't rave about is the food which was mediocre and the spa was pricey. This is one place I'd definitely return to.

Room Tip: Water Bungalow is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

Like all resort hotels in Maldives, Thulhagiri Resort benefits from an outstanding natural setting - wonderful sea, beautiful beach and magnificent sunsets. If that is your first trip to Maldives, you will be overwhelmed by the sheer beauty and forget all the rest.
If you are a repeat visitor to Maldives, you cannot help but feel that at 400 USD per night for a beach bungalow, this is really poor value and the resort itself would go for a quarter of the price in Malaysia, Phuket or Bali. Bungalows have managed to retain some old charm but they are quite in need of a full revamp and I would not entirely assume that the cockroaches that visit your bathroom are part of the natural fauna of the island.
The biggest problem is the service - a huge letdown. Staff is poorly trained, unhelpful and regularly rude to the guests. Which is quite rare in South Asia, at least in this price range,

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catsSurrey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

we landed at maldives airport at 09.30 the speed boat was easy to find and we was at the resort by 10.30 and in our room by 11.00.
The staff from the reception to the waiters where frendly and spoak english ( this is their second language taught at school ) All the menues,bar menues and music was in english which was good as we where the only english people there.
The food was buffet but there was plenty of choise we counted 22 dishes one evening.
We went all inclusive and this worked out cheaper than buying your food and drinks.
The water bunglow was fantastic with a king size 4 poster bed a his and hers basins and two showes as well as your own verander with sunbeds and unbrella.
The bunglow boy changed the towels everyday and tidied up your room twice a day.
the island can be walked around in 8 mins. and ther was wild budgigars everywhere

Room Tip: water bungalows in the 220 are great and been refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Thulhagiri Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thulhagiri Island Resort

Also Known As:
Thulhagiri Island Hotel
Thulhagiri Island Hotel North Male Atoll
Thulhagiri Island Resort Maldives/North Male Atoll
Address: Kaafu Atoll
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Specialty lodging in North Male Atoll
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thulhagiri Island Resort 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Thulhagiri Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thulhagiri Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.