We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfull holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Angsana Velavaru

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Angsana Velavaru to your Saves list
Angsana Velavaru
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   South Nilandhe Atoll   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
“Wonderfull holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Feeling of having an island for myself. everything is soo nice. vila is spacious. food was great. the staff is soo friendly and always provide what ever i need. i enjoyed every single moment in this resort. it is worth spending.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMANMVVE, General Manager at Angsana Velavaru, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear ShintaCicilla
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on your recent stay with us. I am so pleased you had an enjoyable holiday and the friendly service provided by our colleagues. I sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Best regards
Nicholas Mason
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    116
    47
    19
    9
See reviews for
96
350
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The trip to Angsana Velavaru was a mix bag however the place still leaves with very few words to describe it. So 3 letters ....WOW

For me the Angsana can be divided into 2 parts and 2 experiences:

Part 1- The Administrative Staff- They need to get thier act together
Part 2- The service Staff- They rock

The great part of the property is the luxurious villas both in ocean or land intertwined with the absolute beauty of maldives. its so beautiful you just cant take enough of it.

Everyone from the housekeeping staff to the restaurant staff humbles you with thier service and care. I forgot my camera at one of the restaurants one night and it was spectacular to see how they traced me out and returned my camera even before i discovered I had misplaced it.

They are such a talented group of people as they multitask into an entertainment group in the night to making grasshoper out of palm leaves...amazing

The food served is extremely well layed out and delicious. From local cuisine to tropical fruits its a scrumptious spread.

PART 2

Despite a confirmed booking the air taxi transfer from Male to Angasana cancels while we wait in thier lounge. Asking us to fend for ourselves ....not something you are expecting after paying $3000 upfront.

We are finally ferried to the hotel at 2 am ensuring we have missed the first night of the planned stay.

I request for an upgrade to the ocean villa on extra payment and am confirmed the same. the morning of the transfer when I quiz I am told that there is a technical glitch and the upgrade would not be possible.

In all did not get all that I paid for, please be carefull with what the admin team promises you

Nonetheless highly recommend the property and the location. Great place great service

Room Tip: In ocean villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMANMVVE, General Manager at Angsana Velavaru, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Amit S
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your stay with us in JULY 2013.
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Since your stay there have been a number of
changes and enhancements within the Resort. I am confident the issues you have raised have been addressed. However It is good to read you enjoyed your stay.
Best regards
Nicholas Mason
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

The place is stunning and there's a surprising amount of things to do. The food was lovely as well. Especially the Japanese restaurant above the sea. Staff are quite helpful except for the rude staff member at the beach shop. Think he was Australian. Serious attitude problem. Other than that we had a pleasant stay. The snorkelling trips in particular were a lot of fun. Amazing sea life!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMANMVVE, General Manager at Angsana Velavaru, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear sashawicky
Thank you for taking the time to post the review on your stay in September 2013.
it is fabulous to read you enjoyed your stay wih us. Since your stay there have been a number of changes within the resort and I am confident the issue you raised has been rectified.
Best regards

Nicholas Mason
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guizhou,China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We stayed four nights and received excellent service from the hotel. Both the Spa or the scenery on Angsana Velavaryu is really very good which makes me very comfortable and memorable. We wish we could have same kind of tirp once more.
Thank you for all staffs of Angsana and Banyan tree.

Room Tip: Excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMANMVVE, General Manager at Angsana Velavaru, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Zhou S
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your recent stay with us.
I am so pleased you enjoyed your time at Velavaru and We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Best regards
Nicholas Mason
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

It was very good experience with resort. service and staff was friendly and cearing. resort was great and rooms were good. Food was also tasty. Would love to again. Facility wise, it was perfect. love it.

Room Tip: Have privacy and on beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMANMVVE, General Manager at Angsana Velavaru, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Tariq H
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.
I am so pleased you summed up your experience as "Love It" I look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Best regards
Nicholas Mason
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

It was perfact place for honeymoon
Really miss everything in Angsana..
I stayed 2 days in mainland and 2 days in ocean.
Both are very nice
Especially IOV was so great
The dinner was amazing
There are a lot of beautiful fishes near IOV.
I really enjoyed..

Plus,
Special thx to Korean staff Yoon :)

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMANMVVE, General Manager at Angsana Velavaru, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for taking the time to post your review on your recent stay with us. I am so pleased you had a fabulous Honeymoon and Many Congratulations on your Wedding. I am glad you enjoyed our "Best of Both Worlds" package experiencing both the land and in Ocean Villas.
I hope to have to opportunity to welcome you back soon and I will pass on your thanks to Yoon.
Best regards
Nicholas Mason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Wonderful experience! All the sevices are perfect, specialy the lady of the children's centre. Our girl had passed very happy time with her. The unique problem impeding us to visit the island again is the price, hehe.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Postednow, General Manager at Angsana Velavaru, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear XuZ
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on your recent stay with us. I am so pleaed you enjoyed your stay and that your daughter enjoyed her time at Children's Centre giving you the time to also relax and enjoy yourselves.
I look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Best regards
Nicholas Mason
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Angsana Velavaru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angsana Velavaru

Address: South Nilandhe Atoll
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Haa Dhaalu Atoll
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Haa Dhaalu Atoll
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Angsana Velavaru 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Angsana Velavaru Maldives. Early Bird Offer (450 per person) valid from 01/11/2011-30/04/2012. 25% discount for land Villa and 15% for Ocean Villa for Booking more than 90 days and above, applicable to above periods. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Angsana Velavaru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angsana Velavaru Hotel Haa Dhaalu Atoll
Angsana Hotel Dhaalu Atoll
Angsana Hotel Maldives Velavaru
Angsana Velavaru Maldives/Haa Dhaalu Atoll

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angsana Velavaru, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.