We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Found paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Angsana Velavaru

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Angsana Velavaru to your Saves list
Angsana Velavaru
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   South Nilandhe Atoll   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A TripAdvisor Member
“Found paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

It was the best choice that we could make for our honeymoon!Amazing place and the people that worked there, very kind and smily.The food was amazing and so was the view from wherever you sit and watch!Thank God we tried the spa, also amazing!The souvenir shop was also excellent, smells like heaven in there!The best moment was when we first saw our room, there was a cd playing the most beautifull sound i' ve ever heard!I totally wish we could come again some day!Thank you for the memories!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    117
    47
    19
    9
See reviews for
96
351
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

the place is so beautiful and i have never forget it . so i will get there again.the sea is so blue .the beach ,the white sand.the peapole ,finally. i like every thing . but is so pity . the maidives was effected by the climate. the global weather change warmer and warmer. i realy hope that day is nver happen. the beautiful place si belong to maldives people and it's also belong to the world .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Beautiful scenery, clear water and white sand, good service.
Maldives Yue Chun AV island palm trees swaying, pristine beaches and rich marine biological green sea, the resort offers activities including scuba diving / swimming adventure, night fishing and looking for dolphin tour.In general is the perfect travel

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Angsana Velavaru – Maldives is what I cannot stop talking about since our return on August 28, 2012.
 
We stayed for 8 nights including 3 nights in the jet pool followed by 2 nights in the IOV and another 3 nights with the private pool.  I must admit that the reception staff especially Amjad has been very accommodating in taking extra care for all the check ins and check outs.
 
The island is a paradise in itself. The sea plane transfer is a breathtaking view. When the ride of 40 minutes is over you just don’t realize it; watching all the small islands, different colours of waters, water villas as so much more.  During our stay of 8 nights it was just one day where it rained heavy whereas rest of the days it would rain for say 5-7 minutes and stop and we would resume back our activities again. It’s  very clean and well maintained island with white sandy beaches and crystal clear waters. The staff is super friendly and provides whatever you need based on your phone call that too immediately.  We have been really impressed with the coral plantation/ protection initiatives undertaken by the Marine Lab Staff, Good job guys keep it up !
 
 
The rooms are nice, equipped with all that you need on a beach vacation right from lots of towels, toiletries to body lotion. The best part was the sea view from the room where we would day in and day out listen to the waves sound banging on the shore. The  jet pool villa had a good stretch to the beach whereas the private pool villa was fantastic in terms of snorkeling watching school of fishes including baby sharks right on the beach. We nearly spotted all the commonly found fishes in the lagoon. Kayaking is fun too and we are really glad that motorized activities are limited and not affecting the tranquility of the island. The IOVs are priced more in our opinion and are very quiet and aloof, whereas the beach villas are very lively and happening throughout day and night.  
 
Kuredi Bar is just perfect for an entire day hangout. Thanks to Rojin for making lovely drinks for us throughout our stay. I still cherish the Sambhuka that Siby made for me J We enjoyed playing chess and pool every day however, we could not enjoy the outside table tennis as we are really scared of the lizards(geko’s) seen crawling on the wall. Movie watching and Crab Race is what we cherish now as and when we run through the pictures.
 
 
The best part of the our trip was the Indian Chef Prasantha- the dishes that he made especially the Chicken Biryani and pav bhaaji has got the maximum likes on our FB page and it was treat to have Indian food rich with Indian spices and Indian flavor. Prasantha all your cooking tips are now experimented by my wife and thanks a lot for all that you did for us right from the cardamom tea to the Cajun chicken- loved it all.
 
My 4 year old son enjoyed watching sting ray feeding every night and developed a great admiration for the kids club lady – Lisa! Thank you lisa for taking care of him while we were snorkeling.
 
I would definitely recommend Angsana Velavaru to all my friends  and relatives; everything is just perfect at Angsana, right from the weather, island, friendly staff  , super duper resort;
Using “Fantastic” would be very small and  inappropriate to describe Angsana Velavaru! It is exactly as you see on their website and on trip advisor!

Room Tip: Pool villa's are great for snorkelling ! Reef is full of corals and colorful fishes ! Inocean vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tn
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

My Fiance and I decided to get married in the Maldives and chose Angsana Velavaru after researching resorts and visiting to compare. We were blown away by the service and attention we received from the moment we arrived. We reserved an InOcean Villa and the hotel upgraded us to a Sanctuary InOcean Villa. We loved the large pool and immediate access to the coral lagoon.

For our wedding Angsana make it an incredible occasion. We wanted a special beach wedding, so the resort arranged an intimate beach location with beautiful design. The hotel also called some of the guests of the hotel and invited them to create a more complete experience (we wanted more guests- so this was really awesome)...

To top it off, the hotel has a Maldivian band that plays at the resort on Friday nights. They arranged the band to play at our wedding. We had 10 band members play at our wedding using traditional drums.

The ceremony was sweet and full of laughter, energy, and passion. We credit the resort for making our experience unbelievable.

As for the hotel itself- we loved it. The staff was great, the rooms were luxurious, and the activities were plentiful.

For fun, we got to plant a coconut tree for our wedding... Please go visit it...

Room Tip: InOcean Villas are the way to go for the best experience- unless you have small children. Immediate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tangerang
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I enjoy the unique location and the design of the resorts.
I like the room and amenities and also the food.
The beach is also nice but need improving to be more clean of maintenance
The hospitality of hotel servicer is very good

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from another amazing 10 day stay with our friends on Angsana Velavaru. For context, we have previously stayed at Soneva Gili, Soneva Fushi, BT Vabbinfaru, BT Madivaru, Baros and Four Seasons LG so have experience of the highest quality food and accommodation. This was only our second visit to this island but as we also already knew the GM, his family and many of the guys from sister island BT Vabbinfaru, where we have holidayed over the last ten years, it felt like we were coming home.

From start to finish our holiday was amazing. We were welcomed on the jetty by Albert Ocasio (GM) who has recently moved from Vabbinfaru down to Velavaru. After catching up with him, and meeting many of our friends we were escorted by a growing welcoming committee to our deluxe pool villa#43. Albert kindly arranged for food to be delivered to our villa after our sea plane had been delayed and we had just missed lunch. We spent some time catching up with Sherin (our friend from the front desk- do stop and say hello to her, she loves a giggle and can arrange the most wonderful 'blessing' in the island wedding pavillion) and then we rested. Narendra (head of housekeeping) was very quick to ask for our requirements on timings for housekeeping and anything extra his team could provide. He managed to source an extra-small bath robe for me, provided additional hand towels and had the guys fog right around into the front garden as there were a few bugs on the deck during lunch - worked a treat. He offered the service of the gardeners if we needed any garden maintenance done and checked in periodically to see if we needed anything further. Thank you Narendra you were a star! Our room boy was Johann and he did an excellent job of looking after us, he took pride in his work and it showed. Narendra should be very proud of you.

We had a great time with all our meals. Last holiday we had half board, this holiday we decided to try full board. 

Breakfast: Each morning Zameer would prepare for us a wonderful selection of fruits. They all remembered from last time how much I love mangosteens, so as soon as the supply ship had made its weekly delivery the mangosteens would magically appear not only at breakfast but at all meals.  My other favourite food is French crepes with a squeeze of lemon and sugar. We had high expectations knowing that chef Shaffee last year produced amazing crepes every morning; following his departure, the pressure was on Prasanta! It took a few attempts and a change to the batter mixture before we finally got there. In the interim, other chefs wanted to test their skills including chef Tony (amazing with asian food but crepes are not his forte, good try!) to Wayan (an amazing pastry chef, excellent!) From then on, i had a special batter mixture made up ready and Prasanta was always keen to try and make it better than the day before, thinner, bigger....it was great fun. Prasanta was such a sweet guy and so eager to please, thank you!

Lunch and Dinner: well, where to start....two words CHEF EDY! We made friends with Edy on our last holiday where he introduced us to some of the most amazing Indonesian cuisine. This time his culinary services were offered to us for each meal, WOW, what a privilege. With a brief check to find out what ingredients we like, we left it up to him to conjure up for us amazing meal after amazing meal and we were indeed delighted with every mouthful. Thank you so much Chef Edy, we were so lucky to coincide our holiday with your last week at Velavaru. Edy has moved back to Indonesia to be with his family; he is now working at Amanjiwo, Java where if good fortune prevails we hope to meet him again. His presence will be sadly missed at Velavaru as all the team speak very fondly of him. That said, we were well looked after on his departure; both Chef Tony ( our chinese friend who can be spotted either at Azurro or behind the live cooking station) made an amazing chilli crab for my Hubby and on our last night Chef Deepan prepared a wonderful Indian meal for us. Chef Pandy also gave us a masterchef cookery lesson so we can make our own Maldivian Curry, Mas Roshi and Gulhi back home. So although Chef Edy has left , Albert still has an amazing team of highly skilled chefs working for him...a huge thank you to everyone. Including, last but by no means least, thank you to Pastry Chef, each night he would offer chocolate delicacies (usually fondant!) to my husband and  crepes, coconut ice cream and mangosteens to me, yummy!

Every meal we ate on the island, Hasan the waiter did an excellent job of looking after us. From finding us a table away from smokers,to changing my chair to a lower one so my feet would touch the floor ( I'm slightly vertically challenged:))  or remembering our drink preferences, Hasan you are a top bloke, thank you for your kindness.

At the bar: All the bar staff were great. Sibi prepared for us our favourite drink, Ginger Lemon Cooler, now known as a " Sibi Special", and always had some ready to go and Adhil was great company and enjoyed a chat. We spent most of our evenings at the bar. Once the staff 'clock off' a few of them will always come to the bar which makes for a lovely atmosphere; we would enjoy a drink together well into the early hours.

Velavaru has an amazing spa. We both enjoyed many treatments, I had a few extra whilst Hubby went night fishing! 'Back energy' was my favourite, given by Neni and Hubby enjoyed 'Siam' stretching.

At the dive centre and marine lab we met up with our old friends Hana and Solah, and also got to know Romain, Kudo and Lateif.
Solah took us out on several private snorkelling trips to nearby reefs and lagoons. He is an excellent guide, very patient ( we are very slow snorkellers as we like to look for the small things in all the nooks and crannies ) and great on the camera. He has the amazing ability to become negatively buoyant, he will quietly slip down below the surface and descend to mind boggling depths with no effort what so ever and stay there for great lengths of time, watching and waiting, taking photographs, investigating caves, he definitely put our snorkelling skills to shame!

One of our highlights was finding a pod of perhaps 200 dolphins which we stayed with for over an hour. Solah and Hubby were at the front of the boat, on their stomachs with our underwater cameras in the water taking footage whilst I managed to snorkel with them- magical!

Another amazing experience was snorkelling with the whale sharks and manta rays of South Ari Atoll. It took about 1 hour 15 mins to reach the area ( due north from South Nilande Atoll where we were) and we were lucky enough to find 2 whale sharks on our first trip and 3 on our second trip. (The first one was so amazing, we had to go back!) After seeing the whale sharks on each occasion we found manta rays feeding in a nearby lagoon. On our first trip we went to the lagoon for a bathroom stop and a bite to eat, suffice to say it was the most exciting toilet stop I have ever taken!!! Before we travelled to Velavaru we had no idea this experience was possible, but as soon as word got out that the trip was arranged the boat was filled very quickly. Our second trip was with just the dive centre staff. So, if you would like the opportunity to snorkel with the whale sharks of South Ari just ask...they will be delighted to arrange this for you. It's not a cheap trip but well worth the money.

We also went night snorkelling along the reef off IOV with Solah and Hana. Very exciting, we took their new UV torch and looked at the bioluminescence of the corals. We found a slipper lobster, flat worms swimming mid water, shrimps, crabs, snake,zebra and moray eels,  cuttlefish, lion fish...we must have spent about 2 hours out there slowly drifting along, there was just so much to see. Once we made our way back to the jetty miraculously towels appeared for us on the rail... excellent service! One of the engineering staff had been keeping an eye out for our return.

We also snorkelled regularly along the IOV reef during the day. It was very easy to enter and exit through the marked channels although watch for the tide times as at low tide it does get a little tight on the belly! Some reviews state that the reef is distant from the island, but the ferry service will take you and you can leave your dry clothes with reception whilst you snorkel - very convenient and easy.

For the second half of our holiday we stayed in #362, a Two Bedroom Sanctuary IOV, facing the island. This provided an amazing amount of privacy and very easy and convenient access to the reef. We ate at Azurro on two occasions, Adil looked after us well, but we love the atmosphere of the restaurant on the island so we had all our main meals over there.
The IOV was huge. The two bedrooms were great. The second bedroom is made up of two single beds and has its own shower room, ideal if you had children with you. We turned this room into our dressing room, as it provided plenty of space to hang up our clothes and we could lay out our clothes on the bed. We stored our suitcases in here and you could use both bathrooms after snorkelling. It was also handy to have a separate private space if our room was being serviced. It was definitely a luxury having the second bedroom but if you can afford it go for it- the extra space is great. The other added bonus is the additional space on the roof terrace. There are two areas to sunbathe. The large double sun bed at the top of the stairs gets the morning sun whilst the two single sun beds at the far end of the terrace get the afternoon sun. The under cover area in the middle houses a dining table and chairs and also a large comfy sofa. If the rain comes in you can take the sides down, they are clear plastic, and you can still enjoy sitting or eating outside. On the deck downstairs you have the hammock area, the sunbathing area at the top of the pool with triangle pillows, an extra sofa (the same as upstairs), table and chairs and the sala at the end of the jetty. You are spoiled for outside places to relax and the isolation from the island means that star gazing is relaxing and easy. It's very easy to enter and exit the water from the end of your jetty and there is also a handheld shower down there to rinse off. The pool is a great way to cool off and take in the breath taking view.

Abdullah serviced our IOV, he was also excellent and very well spoken. He managed to source a particular CD I had enjoyed listening to in our previous villa and was very meticulous with his work. However, a word of warning  for first timers - the ferry service requires the turndown service at IOV to be strictly between 1800-2000. We did not know this on our first night, so returned from dinner to feel disappointed that we had been missed because we had put our 'Do Not Disturb' sign up during this time. From then on, even if we were getting ready for dinner we would keep our sign off and continue to get ready in the second bedroom area if need be - problem solved!

In summary, we had another amazing holiday. As much as the island is beautiful, it is the staff that make this place so special, so do take the time to chat and get to know them as this will take your holiday experience to another level. I have spoken all the way through this review of our "friends" on Velavaru and that is because they truly are our friends. In the past, we have had the privilege to visit local islands and schools together; been invited to their homes; been 'behind the scenes'; partaken in bespoke cookery lessons; gone 'night fishing' with all the staff til the early hours before enjoying a barbeque (skilled butchers boning fish on a swaying boat under torch light with huge sharp knives six inches from bare feet!); all this in addition to snorkelling together and just having a great time 'hanging out'. They are all truly genuine people who believe in delivering the highest quality of service - as good as anywhere else we have been.

Thank you Albert for looking after us so well, please let the team know we had a fantastic time and can't wait for our next visit.

Bill and Rachel M

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Angsana Velavaru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angsana Velavaru

Address: South Nilandhe Atoll
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Haa Dhaalu Atoll
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Haa Dhaalu Atoll
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Angsana Velavaru 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Angsana Velavaru Maldives. Early Bird Offer (450 per person) valid from 01/11/2011-30/04/2012. 25% discount for land Villa and 15% for Ocean Villa for Booking more than 90 days and above, applicable to above periods. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Angsana Velavaru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angsana Velavaru Hotel Haa Dhaalu Atoll
Angsana Hotel Dhaalu Atoll
Angsana Hotel Maldives Velavaru
Angsana Velavaru Maldives/Haa Dhaalu Atoll

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angsana Velavaru, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.