We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 Star?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Grand Continental

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Grand Continental to your Saves list
Hotel Grand Continental
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lot 004023, Jalan Sultan Zainal Abidin | Daerah 8, Kuala Terengganu 20000 , Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
GREAT offers
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Kuala Terengganu
Putrajaya, Malaysia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“4 Star?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Good hotel with good facilities. But as a 4 star hotel, I'm expecting more. Old setting in the room but clean. Hotel staff just ok

Have a good size of swimming pool and good choices of food for breakfast. Internet wifi connection also good.

Room Tip: Ask for seaview rooms for great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    30
    44
    18
    2
See reviews for
25
27
7
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I went with my family for a holiday in Kuala Terengganu, part business, part holiday. While my family is having fun, I was looking for business partners.

The hotel is clean, staff are friendly and food is so and so.

The things that I don't like are the car park is limited. Since it is holiday season, it is very difficult to park my car in the hotel's car park which is very inconvenient for me.

Another thing is that, the towels are worn out. Even at the pool, they are not adequate when hotel is almost full. Need to wait a while before we can get ours. Amenities

Internet access is slow and sometimes does not exist at all.

I think this hotel should be rated lower than 4 stars.

Room Tip: If travelling with family, check out their superior family room. Very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The hotel is over rated for a four star hotel. Ants roaming in the room and bathroom has a musky smell. Breakfast time and not much selection for type of eggs - its there and take it or leave kind of situation. Rang the front desk and was not answered or bothered to call back. The hotel needs a complete refurbish.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Staffs are good.
Stayed in the executive room, bed sheets are too old, had unknown burn marks on it.
Also, the hotel room had this after rain smell. Overall for a four star hotel, I would expect it to be better maintained. Not a pleasant experience overall.

Room Tip: Was staying in the executive room, but the bed sheets are clearly too old and some unknown burn mark...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kota kinabalu
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

Good confortable room. 1213. Nice view direvtly infront of sea front. All staff very nice anf friendly. Especially the 2 doormen. Very alert and fast. Carpet on hallway may need to be change may be before next monsoon cup. Pool was clean. But having towel will be better. No guards but alright because you had put up notice for that. Will come again. Thankd

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K. Trg
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I would rather to stay at homestay.......nothing special by this hotel. i acknowledged their staff for hardworkness to make sure guest as convenience as a king. Please take a good care for a staff, some look pale to me, need more attention from upper manegement. I believe that any success came from good staff, basic in business, thou......

Room Tip: Any room would help....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Arrived at hotel, underground parking, no lift to lobby, 2 flights of stairs so unload bags at entrance before parking. Bell hop friendly and efficient, reception staff also efficient and friendly. Fast elevator as we were on 10th floor, good view but dirty stained windows for photo shooting.
Bed and bedding good, basic amenities provided, but bathroom disappointing, needs maintenance on plumbing fixtures, dodgy shower tap, bottom part of door rotten, WC seat broken and butt pinching if not careful. Breakfast was taken an hour before closure, virtually nothing left from what could have been a good buffet, so go as early as possible. Air-con is central, so no regulating possible other than high, med, low.

Room Tip: Unload bags before parking if arriving with car. Go for an early breakfast if you want some kind of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Grand Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Continental

Address: Lot 004023, Jalan Sultan Zainal Abidin | Daerah 8, Kuala Terengganu 20000 , Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Terengganu > Kuala Terengganu
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Kuala Terengganu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Grand Continental 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Grand Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Continental Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Grand Continental, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.