We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rundown and dirty” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Yen Tin Midtown Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Yen Tin Midtown Hotel to your Saves list
Yen Tin Midtown Hotel
No. 30 Jalan Tok Lam, Kuala Terengganu 20100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 29 Hotels in Kuala Terengganu
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Rundown and dirty”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for one night stopover before going to Redang Island. I must say even though it provides basic necessities for sleeping, you must really be able to take in the dirtyness and rundown amenities. The toilets are super filthy with taps that are hard to close.There are all kind of stains on the floor. Cleanliness is thoroughly out the door.
The aircon was making so much noise that I cat get a good sleep and kept waking up.

The breakfast provided in the morning is basic and just good enough to fill up your stomach but if you walk around the area, there are better foods to be bought like the Nasi Kukus stall behind.

There were WIFI on each floor but I rather use those prepaid sim cards from Umobile at RM28 with unlimited 3G for a month.

The only plus point is the hotel is smack in town and few minutes walk to the market, bus interchange and taxi stands.

To summarize, if you are using this hotel as stopover even for one night, I would suggest finding alternatives but if you dont mind, then it doesnt matter.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    6
    7
    12
    14
See reviews for
11
13
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

The fact that this hotel was launched in 1998,surely you could say it is really old.As earlier,i dont expect much as i've read the reviews from guests who stayed at this hotel.Unfortunately,it was not that bad.Come on,i still got wifi and the hot shower is still working.The aircond also is fine.Perhaps the room and bathroom both looked old and not so pleasant i can understand why many people complained and whining about this.As for me i can say that it may not be as good as other but u still can feel comfortable sleeping and eating.This hotel is suitable for backpackers(best bargain for cheap travellers) or those who travel a lot and spend most time outside hotel while travelling.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We decide to make a reservation looking a lonely planet, in order to plan (using web) our trip around the Redang Island. We booked before the room in internet. When arrived no one tall us about working in progress during the day. We suffered because a jet leg. Also no internet connection. Never again!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

HORRIBLE. NEVER EVER stay at this place. Extremely dirty musty rooms with bed bugs. Staff are clueless about the concept of cleanliness. Extremely over priced for the state it is in. Rm 108 for a twin sharing. It was really a traumatic experience staying here especially since we had kids and we were so concerned about the cleanliness. We hardly slept the night and could not wait to check out. The place should be closed down.

Room Tip: Just do not stay here at any cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Considering it was 108 a night this is a really bad hotel ... Staff do speak English , location is good and the restaurant is basic but food is nice enough....

but the room is just nasty and there is no wifi...this is a last resort place to stay like if you don't book ahead at Chinese New Year like me!!!

Dj citi point probably my choice if available as close to everything and looked good from outside ...

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hasselt
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

we had to stay here for two nights, other hotels we looked for were full due to the fact that we made no reservation in advance.
Dirty carpet in the rooms, dirty windows. Sheets, shower, shower curtains with mould and moisture spots (ceiling). Toilet was not flushing well.
Unfriendly staff, English speaking is not good. Not very helpfull.
Breakfast was ok (eastern/western) but they wait much to long to complete it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

I stayed here as a short stopover on the way to the Pehrentians, and I won't be going back or recommending it to others. It's really run-down, and the rooms are pretty dire in terms of cleanliness, quiet and amenities. The cooked breakfast was okay, I didn't see any ants. But the staff's English is appalling, and for that price, I would have expected more ease of communication and some decent help in arranging onward travel.

In short, don't stay here. There are other options!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yen Tin Midtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yen Tin Midtown Hotel

Address: No. 30 Jalan Tok Lam, Kuala Terengganu 20100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Terengganu > Kuala Terengganu
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 29 Hotels in Kuala Terengganu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Yen Tin Midtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yen Tin Midtown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.