We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Worst Hotel I have ever lived” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Summit Hotel Subang USJ

Save Saved
You added Summit Hotel Subang USJ to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Summit Hotel Subang USJ
Persiaran Kewajipan, USJ 1, Subang Jaya 47600, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 hotels in Subang Jaya
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
“The Worst Hotel I have ever lived”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Summit located in USJ 1, a perfect location. The comparison ends here. Worst hotel I have ever lived in my life.Hotel looks good from outside. The torture starts once you check -in. Worst hospitality. Very poor front desk. The carpets on the floor stinks so are the lifts.

In the room view outside are hazy because windows were never cleaned in ages. Towels in room seems as if in use for more than 5 years without replacements as the color is no more white and got multiple holes. Cranky bed with springs hitting your back. Breakfast is free but the quality of the food is below average. Internet is free but the signal is very very poor and moreover you cannot use the user id in more than one device. If you register the id in ur laptop then you cannot use in your phone or in any other device. You have to buy another id.

Another most interesting part is the prostitutes (massage girls) and customers quarreling in midnight shouting and yelling at each other almost every night.

The floor I was staying, one night around 1.00 am entire floor was flooded. Water entered the rooms. Carpets got wet. These people didn't even had the courtesy to wake up the customer and inform. I woke up hearing the sound of vacuum cleaner and landed my foot right on wet carpet. Only after inquiring they told me about the pipe burst in some nearby room. I called the front desk and had to request them to change my room in mid-night.

Rates are little cheaper then other hotels but the service quality is terrible. It is better to pay a little more and stay in Grand Dorsett which is the best hotel (I will give a 4 star rating) in terms of hospitality and cleanliness.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    15
    34
    13
    15
See reviews for
14
4
8
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Strensham, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This hotel is one of the worse hotels that I have ever stayed in. It is situated on what seems to be a building site and has a very run down shopping mall next door to it that is very dirty. There is a very busy freeway outside so don't expect any quiet time!
The staff (excluding the man at the concierge desk who was pleasant and friendly) were unfriendly, unhelpful and were not interested in checking me in too quickly. My room was dirty and had cockroaches in the bath, the toilet and sink was badly stained and dirty. I checked out two hours after checking in and explained to the receptionist why I was checking out, Instead of the receptionist being concerned as to why I was checking out, she said 'well you will still have to pay'. Think twice before staying here, this hotel advertises itself as having four stars, I would not give 2

Room Tip: dont bother to get that far
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S Wales
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
176 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I stay at the Summit about once per year as it is the nearest 'decent' hotel to our offices in USJ.

This time i booked online via their website for the Ramadan special rate of RM 187 per night which included breakfast.

The place is in the middle of a building site as they are extending the monorail although, to be fair, it didn't disturb me - it just looks bad. I was on the 10th floor and found it fine. It's clearly been recently refurbished and everything in the room worked well and it was perfectly comfortable but not really up to an equivalent western standard.

It seems that all rates include free wifi. It wasn't mentioned in my rate but I got it and previously a colleague was given wifi and not charged. Whereas they advertise it at a ridiculous RM 30 per day, it seems that they aren't zealous in their charging for it. But the wifi worked well and ran at a decent speed.

Breakfast is a buffet and the best bit of it is the freshly made omelets - other than that it's comprehensive but a bit 'too long under the spotlight'.

It's not up to a Marriott standard but my room was clean, the shower was powerful with plenty of hot water, the aircon not too noisy, the elevators worked well, the wifi worked well and the breakfast was adequate.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I must say I feel sorry for this place. At present located in the middle of a mega building site in Kuala Lumpur. The place is however impersonal and feels like a converted office block. Staff were the best part of it for me, they did try hard.

Room Tip: Bargain the price. At the right price its do-able.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Having stayed at the Summit Hotel at least four times in the last two years I was shocked to see how far a Hotel can go downhill in such a short space of time.The room was on the surface clean but on closer inspection was disgusting,after a terrible nights sleep being disturbed by the huge building site next door at 7am,I was shocked to see that in the night the sheets had come away from the mattress which did not have a mattress protector to reveal a huge dried blood stain and urine stains.I tried to make an international call from my room and was told that I would have to come to the reception to do this and pay in cash,I had no problem with this but when I went to make the call the surly rude Indian girl on reception said they could not connect the number,because of her attitude I demanded to see the manager and she also tried to fob me off, unfortunately for her I am a hardened businessman who is used to dealing with lazy staff,after complaining to her loudly I was eventually allowed to make my international call for which I was charged an exorbitant price.I paid £50 sterling for the room which was worth half that,if you are going to KL do not stay here,the only reason I have been using this hotel is its proximity to the Sultan Azziz airport,next time I will pay more to stay at a more central hotel.

Room Tip: If you have to stay ask for room away from building site and away from the liftshaft
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed for 1 week . Good Connectivity with KL through Public Transport . Cheaper option than staying in KL . Have Indian Vegetarian Menu which is difficult to find in Malaysia . Overall good value for money

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipoh, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed twice during short business trips to Klang Valley. Location of the hotel is off KL City Centre, commercial areas are just a short walk away though. Quick check in by friendly front office staff. Complimentary drink offered at the lounge at the lobby. Breakfast spread at the coffee house is fairly reasonable. Recommended for business trips.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Summit Hotel Subang USJ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summit Hotel Subang USJ

Address: Persiaran Kewajipan, USJ 1, Subang Jaya 47600, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Selangor > Petaling District > Subang Jaya
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 hotels in Subang Jaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A strategic location can make a big difference. It certainly did for Summit Hotel Subang USJ. Located in Subang Jaya in Selangor, Malaysia, the hotel is less than 20 minutes away from the major cities of Kuala Lumpur, Petaling Jaya, and Shah Alam. Also within close distance are the Kuala Lumpur International Airport (KLIA) and several tourist attractions. With exceptional event facilities and elegant guestrooms to complement a prime location, we have positioned ourselves at the top of Malaysia's hospitality industry. And if you like it at the top, Summit Hotel Subang Jaya is clearly where you want to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Summit Hotel Subang USJ reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summit Hotel Subang Jaya
Summit Subang Jaya
Subang Jaya Summit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summit Hotel Subang USJ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.