We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd time and deluxe room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dorsett Grand Subang Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Dorsett Grand Subang Hotel to your Saves list
Dorsett Grand Subang Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan SS12/1, Subang Jaya 47500, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Subang Jaya
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“2nd time and deluxe room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

I stayed in superior in Jan and my overall comments were so so.
This time, I intentionally stayed in deluxe room and definitely better! Walkway to room was also nice.
Far cry from superior room.

Bed was fantastic! One of the best among hotels that I stayed.
TV reception wasn't clear.. Should be cable TV but don't know why. (No big fuss to me though cos I just listened to news).

Breakfast spread was ok but not fantastic.

Location is still a big minus for me, though.
Nothing much nearby.

Very good is basically for room evaluation.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettGrandSubang, Executive Assistant Manager at Dorsett Grand Subang Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear guest @ rachna85

Greetings from Dorsett Grand Subang!

We appreciate for the time taken reviewing Dorsett Grand Subang with such great ratings. It is a great pleasure to know that you had a good time during your stay with us.

We would like to apologize for the TV connection issue, we have inform our Engineering department to take corrective measures to rectify the clarity. In regards to our location; we do provide a shuttle service that could bring guests to several places such as Sunway Lagoon, Subang Parade, Empire Subang Shopping Mall, I-City Shah Alam and to Subang train station (KTM). Should you require transportation, our concierge is happy to assist you.

We have also shared your positive comment of our staff and it gives us a greater motivation to strive for excellence.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and further excel in our services.

Warm regards,
Vincent Pillai
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    160
    78
    41
    20
See reviews for
58
40
27
226
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manipal, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

we stayed here while attending an international conference in april 2014.
we had an awesome experience.
place is located in close proximity to the bus station, railway station, shopping malls and lagoon park. it has got great shuttle system to various places.
breakfast was too good and the bed was simply amazing. have never had so much of relaxation in any of the hotels. staff was friendly. rooms were spacious and clean.
overall an excellent experience..

Room Tip: go for a deluxe room..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettGrandSubang, Executive Assistant Manager at Dorsett Grand Subang Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear guest @ rachna85

Greetings from Dorsett Grand Subang!

We appreciate for the time taken reviewing Dorsett Grand Subang with such great ratings. It is a great pleasure to know that you had a good time during your stay with us, especially on our location, shuttle service, breakfast and our cleanliness.

We have shared your positive comments to our associates and it brought great pleasure and satisfaction as we always tries to achieve excellence.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and further excel in our services.

Warm regards,
Vincent Pillai
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Stayed here for only 5 nights and loved it. Staff were really friendly and so helpful and nothing was ever too much trouble. We needed to be in this location and we really had no need to head into KL although it is very accessble. The hotel offers a free shuttle service to selected destinations such as the Sunway Lagoon and Pyramid Shopping Mall, LRT station, Subang Parade with convenient drop off and pick up times. Food was great and prices were reasonable. Overall I think it is one of the best hotels in the area. Will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: The superior rooms have not been refurbished. Would recommend to pay a little extra to upgrade to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettGrandSubang, Executive Assistant Manager at Dorsett Grand Subang Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Guest @ Bern M,

Greetings from Dorsett Grand Subang!

We appreciate for the time taken reviewing Dorsett Grand Subang with positive ratings. It is a great pleasure to know that you had a good time during your stay with us especially on the services, shuttle and our food.

We have deliverd your positive comments to our staffs and associate as their efforts is to always strive for excellence to make our guests comfortable and satisfied.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and further excel in our services.

Kind Regards,
Vincent Pillai
Executive Assistant Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

that was my first time to stay in this hotel, feeling comfortable and clean. hotel staffs friendly and helpful. always have a good smile when i need some help.
i had a dinner there and waiter there serve very good.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettGrandSubang, Executive Assistant Manager at Dorsett Grand Subang Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Guest @ Joanne_1232014

Greetings from Dorsett Grand Subang!

We appreciate for the time taken reviewing Dorsett Grand Subang with such great ratings. It is a great pleasure to know that you had a comfortable time during your stay with us.

We have forwarded the positive comments to our staffs as their efforts have always been to the fullest in making our guests comfortable and satisfied. Hence, your positive comment brings a great smile to them which will motivate us to strive to serve better.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and further excel in our services.

Warm regards,
Vincent Pillai
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Upon arriving at the hotel, I was booked into a superior room and told that the wifi would cost 35 MYR per day. The hotel website states quite clearly that the hotel has free wifi - after I pointed this out, it was changed to free wifi without argument - they clearly know it is supposed to be free. The 'superior' room was anything but superior, and turns out to be the most basic room they have. Do they not know test 'superior' is supposed to be a comparative term? It was in the old wing of the hotel - carpet was covered in burns from an iron (bizarre), furniture was badly fitting, and the bathroom was old and tired. I asked to change rooms; the bellboy showed me a new room which was even worse - a foul smelling bathroom, and even more iron burns on the carpet! I made a considerable fuss at this point, and was given a deluxe room in the new sing instead. Well, this was like moving to a completely different hotel. No complaints at all. The hotel should seriously rename its 'superior' rooms as 'basic' rooms.

Room Tip: Avoid the old wing at all costs.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2014, traveled on business

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettGrandSubang, Executive Assistant Manager at Dorsett Grand Subang Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Guest @ Visitor114,

Greetings from Dorsett Grand Subang!

We appreciate your comments on our hotel as it helps us to improve to be a better hotel.
Firstly, we would like to apologize for your uncomfortable impression on our superior room as well as the Wi-Fi connection. We have informed the matter to our respective departments especially from the Engineering, Housekeeping and Front Office Department to take corrective measure. Hence, we are grateful that you have mentioned it in the comment as we could improve our hotel in providing better quality of service.

Thank you once again for your feedback and it is guests like you that will drive our associates to strive for excellent service. We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future and hope to serve you in your future stay.

Warm regards,
Vincent Pillai
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

I really recommend this hotel in all aspects. Excellent service and hospitality. Location is quiet and the rooms are great. Breakfast Buffet is full of variety and tastes brilliant. The staff are so friendly and always willing to help you in any way. Gym is a bit small but you can do with what is available on a short stay.

Keep it up.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettGrandSubang, Executive Assistant Manager at Dorsett Grand Subang Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Guest @ Ghalaweesh,

Greetings from Dorsett Grand Subang!

We appreciate for the time taken reviewing Dorsett Grand Subang with such great ratings. It is a great pleasure to know that you had a good time during your stay with us especially on the services, facilities and breakfast.

We have forwarded the positive comments to our staffs as their efforts have always been to the fullest in making our guests comfortable and satisfied. Hence, your positive comment brings abundance of happiness to them which will motivate us to strive to serve better.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and further excel in our services.

Warm regards,
Vincent Pillai
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Checked into the Club Room at Level 16. The only complaint I have was that in the middle of the night, the safe started beeping by its own. I pressed the code to open it and it was alright for a while. After that, it keeps beeping, every hour or so. Really disturbing my sleep. I hope it is a safe malfunction.

I informed your front-desk as I checked out the next morning.

I expected better from a Club Room, given the price that Dorsett charged for it. It was a not an experience I would want to repeat.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettGrandSubang, Executive Assistant Manager at Dorsett Grand Subang Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Guest @ klcheng,

Greetings from Dorsett Grand Subang!

We appreciate for your comment on our hotel as it help us to improve to be a better hotel.

We deeply apologize for your discomfort during your stay with use due to the malfunction safe box. We have informed the respective department especially Engineering and Front Office to rectify the problem. We will ensure you that the problem won’t happen again.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and further excel in our services.

Kind Regards,
Vincent Pillai
Executive Assistant Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dorsett Grand Subang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Grand Subang Hotel

Address: Jalan SS12/1, Subang Jaya 47500, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Selangor > Petaling District > Subang Jaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Subang Jaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorsett Grand Subang Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 478
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Subang Jaya, Grand Dorsett Subang offers opulence hotel guest rooms and suites in the city's most upscale entertainment hub, shopping district and tourist attraction. Located just 35 minutes from Kuala Lumpur International Airport, Low Cost Carrier Terminal and Sepang International Circuit, the hotel is just a 15-minute drive from Kuala Lumpur City Centre. Dining at Grand Dorsett Subang is an endless pleasurable affair with the vast international and local specialities available. For meeting planners and business travellers, the hotel is well-equipped with a full range of facilities and services to cater to every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Dorsett Grand Subang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Subang Jaya
Sheraton Subang Hotel
Subang Jaya Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dorsett Grand Subang Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.