We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old and not safe at all...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Dorsett Grand Subang Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Dorsett Grand Subang Hotel to your Saves list
Dorsett Grand Subang Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan SS12/1, Subang Jaya 47500, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Subang Jaya
Dubai
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“old and not safe at all...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Fine the building is old, but God it is also very dirty and hardly safe...
My room was looking into the dumpster to start with and the dumpster that the hotel created actually it is not that the neighbourhood is like that... they were renovating one part of the hotel I believe... and have all this mess outside backyard... The lifts are so slow in fact bit scary , you would not know whether you make it to your floor when you step into that... in any case there are 3 lifts but only 2 of them so called working , if you are lucky...
the room has been cleaned probably months ago or maybe due to this renovation (My assumption only- despite I asked several times to the reception they do not confirmed anything specific) maybe the place is full of dust, god it was terrible.
The sheets has holes in it , but were clean.
The bathroom is bearable, if you wear a body suit, you would not want to touch anywhere there. it is yellow , has one plastic bucket for you to wash yourself and the water is yellow as well - Good luck.
not to mention the corridors, carpets and curtains are smoking stinky ...
i wanted to use the gym, but it was after the closing hour, want to jog in the neighbourhood and it was very dark in the park , so I decided to go up and down fire stairs... one main thing it was locked in one floor.... then the stairs were full of cockroaches, both dead and alive size of 5 - 7 cm....
that was both scary and disgusting...
we had a workshop there and asked the hotel that they provide someone who can give us a brief HSE announcement, where the fire exits are and evacuation process and the security came and told us : In case of fire remain calm and use the lifts to go down, our staff will help you. - Then we said why are we using lifts in case of fire, than he said, : dont worry the staff will be at the door of the meeting room to show you where to go....
so from that moment on I was just praying to be out of this hotel as soon as possible...
Having said that the reception personnel is the most helpful and kind people I ever seen.... shame that they could not work for a better establishment....

Room Tip: any room in any other hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pugeneswary, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Grand Subang Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

First and foremost, we would like to thank you for your kind support towards Dorsett Grand Subang. It was indeed very unfortunate to learn of the inconveniences suffered by your good self during your recent stay with us. As this has been an isolated incident, we have since conducted an investigation and necessary actions have been taken and rest-assured such incidences will not reoccur in the future.

As a five star hotel, we would like to assure you that safety and security of our guests and associates remain as our top priority which will note be compromised. Once again, we sincerely apologize once again for the shortcoming and we thank you for your kind understanding in this matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    160
    78
    41
    20
See reviews for
58
40
27
226
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Langkawi, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

From the moment I arrived I was greeted by the door man to see if I needed assistance. check in was easy and quick I needed some information about the area which the conceige assisted within a timely and friendly manner. The room was clean ,TV/ Astro all working,free wi fi. Lovelly comfortable bed.Good location right next door to sime medical centre and only 5 minutes in a taxi to shopping centre. I am going back to Subang in a week or so for medicaltreatemnt and once again will be checking into the the Grand Dorsett.

Room Tip: If you in Subang for medical The Royal Dorsett as about a five minute walk from the medical centre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pugeneswary, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Grand Subang Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for choosing Dorsett Grand Subang as your your preferred accommodation.

We’re very happy to know that you’ve had a great experience during your stay with us. We appreciate your compliments and will assure you that we will strive to improve and retain our services. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night for business purposes. Check in was breeze. Room itself is spacious and modern with see-through bathroom but luckily it came with electric blind as well to keep one modesty. I didnt spend much time in the hotel itself but for the short period of time, the staff was helpful and willing to help. There are free complimentary cinnamon and honey drinks in the lobby. My only complaint would be the parking as it is situated quite far from the main entrance itself. There is one carpark space nearby but it is at an open area and not tarred. The location itself is very convenient to Sime Darby Medical Center.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pugeneswary, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Grand Subang Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for choosing Dorsett Grand Subang as your your preferred accommodation.

We’re delighted to know that you had a wonderful experience during your stay with us. However, we regret that you had to walk quite a distance from the carpark to our lobby. We are currently refurbishing our Carpark A so that guests would be able to enjoy our upgraded facilities as soon as possible. As for your compliments, we appreciate it and will assure you that we will strive to improve and retain our warm services. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here a number of times before for business, and i can say that after the rooms have been refinished they are much better. They are very comfortable. Thats where the good things stop.
However the service at this place is very poor. It starts from when you arrive at the hotel. The 3 times i have stayed there, not once has anyone helped to take my bags from the taxi. Each time i have to carry it up the stairs into the lobby. This time someone even watched me do it without offering any help. Service at the breakfast area is very poor. No one seats you when you arrive for breakfast, and if you sit in the middle section you will be lucky to find someone to bring you a coffee.
Im sorry to say, but i have seen 3 star places with better service than the Dorset. Not sure how they can call themselves a 5 star.
If you are a tourist i wouldn't stay here, there is nothing to do within walking distance and you can find something in the city for a similar price.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pugeneswary, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Grand Subang Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for visiting Dorsett Grand Subang. We are happy to know that you had a comfortable experience at our newly refurbished rooms. However, we apologize for not being able to provide you with the best service during your stay with us. Please be assured that your comment has been brought up to attention and we will definitely work on improving our service. We hope you would give us another chance to regain your confidence and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I'm a regular traveller to KL, the GD is a great hotel. Service is friendly and staff are very helpful. I'm not sure if it is 5*, however the staff make up for the old hotel. Always get the taxi to use the meter or they'll charge 3 times the price. nice walk around the lake area and across to the seafood restaurant on the far side.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pugeneswary, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Grand Subang Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Dorsett Grand Subang as your preferred accomodation. We’re delighted to hear that you had a wonderful experience during your stay with us. We greatly appreciate your compliments and will strive to improve and retain our warm services. We look forward to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

check in took longer than 20 mts, we were tired after a night flight, still had to sit in the lobby for long until the front office staff managed to find 2 adjoining rooms. Although the booking was made under the same name requesting for adjoining rooms, the request was overlooked by the staff. I dont think they had rooms assigned to us until we appeared at the front desk
Rooms are spacious and well equipped. Housekeeping staff cleaned the room every morning when we were out for b'fast, we didint have to sit in the room while the staff were cleaning.
Swimming pool and spa were closed for rennovations. My husband was offered to use a pool in a nearby hotel. The pool in the nearby hotel was dirty, towels provided were not fit for use.
the dury manager was kind enough to offer us a more spacious room as a gesture of goodwill to make my husband happy. we were happy with the room we had & having a bigger room would not have compensated for lack of a pool and spa which are must features in a 5* hotel.
Taxi price offered from the hotel for a meter is too high.. always remember to ask for a taxi with a meter. they offered us a taxi for 250 MYR and we managed have the same taxi to drive us with the meter running & paid 154 MYR.
there was a wide spread during breakfast. Food quality was reasonably good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pugeneswary, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Grand Subang Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Dorsett Grand Subang as your preffered accomodation. We truly regret overlooking your booking and will assure you that this will never happen again in the future. On the other hand, we’re delighted to know that you enjoyed the food, accomodation and warm service from our associates during your stay with us. Thank you for your kind understanding on the renovation issue; we’re glad to inform you that our new swimming pool and spa will be ready by the end of this month and would like to welcome you and your family again in the future to experience our newly refurbished facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I have stayed here 5 times and am always impressed by the service and range of facilities. The executive suites are excellent and large. The Chinese restaurant and main buffet restaurant are very good. The concierge car service is very reliable. The walk/run around the lake is great. The spa (spa and pool currently under renovation) and gym are excellent. Great pity the Japanese restaurant is no more. It is also convenient to Subang airport and to Petaling Jaya and the Sunway Pyramid shopping, spa and water park.

Room Tip: Definitely the executive suites. They are large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pugeneswary, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Grand Subang Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for choosing Dorsett Grand Subang as your your preferred accommodation.

We’re truly delighted to know that you had a wonderful experience during your stay with us. We appreciate your compliments and will assure you that we will strive to improve and retain our warm services. We are looking forward to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dorsett Grand Subang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Grand Subang Hotel

Address: Jalan SS12/1, Subang Jaya 47500, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Selangor > Petaling District > Subang Jaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Subang Jaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorsett Grand Subang Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 478
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Subang Jaya, Grand Dorsett Subang offers opulence hotel guest rooms and suites in the city's most upscale entertainment hub, shopping district and tourist attraction. Located just 35 minutes from Kuala Lumpur International Airport, Low Cost Carrier Terminal and Sepang International Circuit, the hotel is just a 15-minute drive from Kuala Lumpur City Centre. Dining at Grand Dorsett Subang is an endless pleasurable affair with the vast international and local specialities available. For meeting planners and business travellers, the hotel is well-equipped with a full range of facilities and services to cater to every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Dorsett Grand Subang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Subang Jaya
Sheraton Subang Hotel
Subang Jaya Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dorsett Grand Subang Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.