We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent customer service and good value at the Sheraton” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Villa Hotel & Suites Subang

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Villa Hotel & Suites Subang to your Saves list
Holiday Villa Hotel & Suites Subang
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9, Jalan SS 12/1 | Selangor Darul Ehsan, Subang Jaya 47500, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Subang Jaya
Walnut Creek, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Excellent customer service and good value at the Sheraton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2008

We spent 3 weeks at the Sheraton Subang while my husband worked at the airport. At first sight, it is not impressive compared to other Sheratons. The lobby is decent, but what is really impressive is the excellent service from the doorman to the registration to the concierge to the restaurant to the management! Everyone provides top notch service! We felt very well taken care of by the staff. We stayed in a suite (1101) and while it was a bit worn, it was fine for our family, as it had a kitchenette, a dining area, a living room, a bedroom and of course, a bathroom. There was also a large entryway, which was great for storing my daughter's stroller, carseat, and assorted pool toys. The breakfast buffet is great, especially the made to order eggs, the pastries, and the fresh fruit. There are also Asian items for breakfast, none of which my pregnant tastebuds were willing to try! They also make fresh juice from all kinds of fruits and veggies. The Japanese restaurant is very good, but I was not crazy about the Chinese restaurant. Room service is pretty good, but sometimes there seemed to be a language barrier since what we ordered was not what we got. Room service was great in the sense that they were willing to make items not on the menu for us. The hotel pool is nice and while the grounds are not spectacular, they are nice enough. There is a lovely spa which I did not get to try, but it has a nice atmosphere. The hotel provides a shuttle to a couple of shopping areas, which is good since there is nothing within walking distance except a few restaurants, a 7-11, and a dry cleaner. There is excellent medical care nearby should you need it. It is not close to KL and I cannot comment on public transportation to KL since I did not use it. The hotel can arrange different tours for you if you want to see some sights. Beware the taxis in the area, as they will try to rip you off. There are blue metered taxis which the hotel will call for you, or you can walk directly onto the street in front of the hotel for a flat rate taxi. The flat rate taxis will rip you off if you don't have an idea of how much you should pay for the ride, but they are actually cheaper if you barter with them. The blue taxis are nicer though, and generally cleaner and have better air conditioning. If you need to stay in Subang, stay at the Sheraton. You will be well taken care of and it is a good value. I also saw the Holiday Villa or whatever it is called and I was not impressed, so stay at the Sheraton.

  • Liked — Staff and the excellent customer service, breakfast buffet
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    114
    82
    33
    35
See reviews for
53
28
27
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
North England
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2008

This hotel stands north of the main shopping part of the city and is not to be confused with another Sheraton in KL. Like many of the bigger hotels, there are enough staff and resources to offer regular shuttle trips either to the nearest shopping mall (Sunway Pyramid) or to the public transport system. The public transport system takes you efficiently into the city.

The Sheraton is undergoing renovation and we stayed in the renewed part. No complaints here. It is a good international or business hotel with a great breakfast, various other restaurants in the building and with excellent ground staff in the lobby area to get taxis, give advice and help. There is a sauna and a fitness room and a swimming pool and at the back of the hotel is a park and lake where you can jog or walk. Wi fi is available at a slightly inflated price in the bedrooms.

If you go during Ramadan, then the evening buffet is designed for Muslim tastes and starts serving promptly at sunset. This means that if you are not a Muslim, you can eat early in a less crowded dining room.

  • Liked — Comfortable rooms and good breakfast
  • Disliked — It is about 20 - 30 minutes outside the city
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2008

We stayed here on two separate occasions in March 08. On the first visit we were upgraded to a room on the 19th floor which was excellent and we had use of the Executive Lounge where coffee and snacks are served free of charge. The room was large, very clean and well equiped with a nice range of complimentary toiletries, slippers and gowns.
On the second occasion we were in a standard room, which, although as big as the first was not up to the standard of the first. This room was in need of refurbishment, though still acceptable and value for money.
Overall the hotel could do with an overhaul but I would still recommend it for its facilities and value for money.
The outdoor pools are superb, with one Olympic size and 3 smaller pools plus one spa pool. There are lots of sports available, including a very good bowling alley.
There is also a very nice Spa Treatment Salon.
For families there is plenty of space and lots to do at this hotel.
I understand refurbishment is ongoing at the hotel. I would definitely recommend it - although you might prefer upgrading from the standard room.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celestialsiomai
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2007

First off, it took them 3 HOURS to give us a room although we were reserved over a month in advance. no apologies, just had us waiting. It took them over 3 hours still to give us a pitcher of water and ice...and that was after mutiple calls to the constantly cold reception/room service. the next pitcher of water we asked for the next day NEVER CAME...also after multple follow ups. We ordered room service at 11pm and it came to us at 2 IN THE MORNING! also after repeated calls to the room service! we asked at around 1:30am and they said they had a back log of orders. when a friend said: so if our food arrives at 5am, you're OK with that? the guy on the phone said "Yes." I mean, utter lack of basic etiquette! is no one supervising these people? That's not the end of it. We also caught housekeeping sitting on our bed, USING OUR NAIL CLIPPERS! when we returned to the room the same day, someone ATE FOOD we left on our desk! Oh, and we also reserved a hotel limo and is suddenly became unavailable..they just offered to hail us a cab.

Who on earth said they were a 5 star hotel (as promoted on their site)? They have the worst service ever! They should never offer services they cannot/ don't really want to provide. Their personnel are rude. their service is HORRIBLE.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everthing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shah alam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2007

Fyi, I'm from Malaysia and i'm totally ashamed with the services and the quality of this hotel. I have booked 2 rooms and when the day i've check into the rooms, i'm totally shocked when there was someone else inside that room. I'm totally disappointed with the people that seems lost and being rude in handling their customer. I would not recommend this hotel to others. Truly disappointing.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — everything except for location
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2006

I wouldn't recommend this hotel, it is desperately in need of refurbishment. It is a very tired place and the rooms, although huge, seemed as if they were last used in the seventies! Fixtures and fittings were very shabby and the place smelt musty. The staff were helpful in finding an alternative room, but unfortunately none of the rooms could improve on the first. I didn't dare eat here, but the Japanese restaurant is meant to be good. I only stayed because I was on business and the neighbouring hotels were full, definitely don't book this hotel for a vacation.

  • Stayed August 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2006

We had booked for 3 nights at this hotel, however on arrival the check in took ages and as wen arrived outside our room door we were faced with the view of the service lift so right outside our door was piles of dirty dishes, dirty laundry. It was disgusting, the smell was dreadful. Went down to reception to say the room was unacceptable and was given a room next floor up but one further down from the service lift. The smell was still dreadful, pillowcases definitely had not been changed from the previous customers. Wallpaper was peeling off the wall and the distinct impression the curtains had not been washed for at least 5 years. Left within the hour and stayed at the 5 star Sheraton opposite, the only difference in price being the cost of breakfast. Never ever again in my life. Worst hotel I have ever been in.
When we told them we were leaving it took 20 mins to checkout as they were answering calls to everybody else and not seeing to us. No help with the luggage at all. Just plain rude.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Villa Hotel & Suites Subang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Villa Hotel & Suites Subang

Address: 9, Jalan SS 12/1 | Selangor Darul Ehsan, Subang Jaya 47500, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Selangor > Petaling District > Subang Jaya
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Subang Jaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Villa Hotel & Suites Subang 3.5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Villa Hotel & Suites Subang is a resort-styled hotel located within the city. Boasting 383 modern and well-furnished guest rooms including the business-centric Prima Floor and Prima Lounge. Its renowned food and beverage outlet features authentic Chinese, local and international delights. The hotel has tremendous experience handling banquet, meetings and wedding as well as exhibitions. Among other facilities and service include Olympic size swimming pool, high speed internet access, gym and fitness centre and a Balinese-styled Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Villa Hotel & Suites Subang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Kuala Lumpur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Villa Hotel & Suites Subang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.