We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful but .....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Saujana Kuala Lumpur

Save Saved
You added The Saujana Kuala Lumpur to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Saujana Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Saujana Resort | Jalan Lapangan Terbang SAAS, Shah Alam 40150, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 17 hotels in Shah Alam
melbourne
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Peaceful but .....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed at Saujana for 6 nights. Thanks so much for upgrading our room. However we were given one on the 1st floor right above your gym's sauna hence the room was hot and stuffy. I have asked for a non smoking room but I believed that we were given a smoking one because I saw an ashtray and a box of matches on the table. I could smelled cigarette smoke throughout my stay. The toilet was blocked three times, then overflowed when I tried to flush once more and twice I had to call the maintenance to unblock it!

The only thing that I like was its peaceful, lovely surroundings especially the swimming pool.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    55
    35
    8
    9
See reviews for
26
30
11
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Belfast N Ireland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed in the Saujana on three occasions in March when touring SE Asia.
First time was for two nights.
Flew into KLIA from Dublin via Dubai, and very comfortable taxi ride to the hotel.
Check in was fast and effortless, and upgrade to a superior room (had basic room booked).
Large, bright & clean room with views over pool, lake & golf course in distance.
Great buffet breakfast with loads of hot & cold choices. All nicely presented, lovely and fresh, and could dine inside (air-con) or outside.
Second occasion was for one night, and whereas no upgrade this time our room was fine.
Staff all pleasant & helpful, and held our large luggage as we travelled between Malaysia, Thailand, Vietnam and Singapore.
Final stay, again one night - unfortunately only one night, as the check-in official recognised us and arranged a very pleasant upgrade to a suite in the adjoining Golf & Country Club. This was luxury. Unfortunately a quick breakfast as we had an early flight to Dubai.
Overall I would firmly recommend the Saujana for an overnight, weekend or longer stay. The staff were all pleasant and eager to assist. We didn't have an opportunity to try their restaurants, however the buffet breakfast was excellent. We only had time to try the pool - and again it was excellent with towels and loungers provided.
Thank you Saujana - you made us very welcome to KL and Malaysia.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This is supposed to be a "5 star resort" but I beg to differ..
I showed up at the hotel at 2pm and they couldn't find my booking. The hotel is full it seems... I made the booking on their hotel website the previous night and I was told they couldn't find the booking because it's not in their system yet. But I made the booking on the hotel website! A good 20 minutes was spent waiting for them to find the booking...

The hotel is old and needs refurbishment. The room is just an average looking room....turned on the TV.... channels all hazy..... called "Guest Services"... said they are fixing it.
The swimming pool is the only saving grace for this hotel, nicely designed and properly maintained. Breakfast spread is below the standards of other 5-star hotels in Malaysia that I've been too. I called again "Guest Services" to ask if the hotel has any kid's room, you know, as some hotels have special facility for children to spend time with game etc.. Apparently "Guest Services" told me to go ask at the gym! They had no clue what I was talking about.
The next day, the TV is still hazy.... called "Guest Services" again and this time they said "really?.. your TV got problem??...ok we fix it". They never fixed it....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed over the last weekends, the hotel is old, needs a lot of refurbishment and require to add in new design elements to make it more interesting and attractive.

The Standard Room is basic, TV is old n not clear, room is small, view onto roofs of other buildings. Not much activities in the resort, only one bicycle is available and not much place to cycle around. Squash court of The Club was closed down when we wanted to use the facility. Gym is average.

If you had booked a room without breakfast, please do not attempt to pay that RM50++ for the buffet breakfast, it's not worth it. The choice of food is not much and the taste is average, RM50 is too much. Head on to the shopping centres n restaurants nearby to look for good n cheap food.

Above all, the hotel has a good environment, especially the pool and the pond next to it. The staffs and receptionists and front counters and bell boys are all very friendly and speak good English.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the pool and pond, otherwise you will get a room with roofs or buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Due to traffic on the start of the CNY weekend & that it took us some time to actually find the hotel, we unfortunately arrived a bit late to lounge around the pool - which looked very inviting & picturesque.

Room was quite nice & actually had a stocked mini-bar. I'm not a fan of shower/baths, but understand the space reasons why many hotels go there.

We had expected that the hotel would be a bit out of KL, as we were trying to avoid getting caught in the notorious road/highway loops. Alas, we were caught in the convoluted city flyovers & our GPS/poor maps weren't that helpful & we'd therefore suggest that you have good directions/postcode to save you some time. Thankfully after stopping for help 3 times, a very kind local girl told us to follow her car - very helpful indeed & a wee bit funny that we'd driven past the exit road 15 mins before.

A few good restaurants to try. The service at the Italian restaurant was impeccable & quite romantic overlooking the 'lake' & feeding the fish - the selection at breakfast was also good. Overall, we were happy with our stay & the service was very good - certainly would stay again & shame we didn't have the time to venture around the grounds more.

Only small gripes would be that WiFi cost RM38 a day, parking was RM20 & massages starting at RM395 seemed a bit steep. However, having said that - the basic room rate was very reasonable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed at the Saujana for a weekend in January 2013, and enjoyed a lovely relaxing experience there. As we live in the city centre of Kuala Lumpur, the Suajana Resort was a great "staycation" for us, as we were able to get out of the crowded city and we enjoyed the peaceful atmosphere of the resort.

Service was quite good, and we found staff to be helpful and responsive. The room was clean and decent size; we have heard that there is a newer wing of the hotel with deluxe rooms, whcih are more expensive but with newer furnishings.

The large swimming pool is quite nice, and most of the time it was very quiet around the pool with just a few guests around. The grounds are nicely maintained with lots of landscaping and large shade trees.

The buffet breakfast was very extensive with a great variety of western and Asia options. It's a good idea to stuff yourself at this brunch, as the restaurants are fairly expensive. We discovered that if you head up to the golf course, the Golfer's Terrace restaurant is actually quite reasonably priced.

Overall, highly recommended for a peaceful weekend getaway.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bentonville, Arkansas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Food
There are several different restaurants on the property featuring different cuisines. Only had the chance to sample a few, but they were good and there was a large local crowd.

Rooms
The rooms are large and well appointed. They are a bit on the dated side, but it is in no way unpleasant. In fact, they have a nice charm to them. Note, as you face the resort you will want your rooms to be to the left side not the right, the right side is more hotel feeling.

Property
It is a beautiful place and is a resort in the true sense of the word. The golf course and club house are great, the pools and sitting areas are wonderful. I would also point out the main lobby is an amazing piece of architectural design. I enjoyed just sitting there at the bar enjoying the design.

Over all this is a great property. I was there on business, but plan to stay here when on vacation also. I do not think you will find a better value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Saujana Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saujana Kuala Lumpur

Address: Saujana Resort | Jalan Lapangan Terbang SAAS, Shah Alam 40150, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Selangor > Petaling District > Shah Alam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 hotels in Shah Alam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Saujana Kuala Lumpur 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your The Saujana Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Saujana Hotel Shah Alam
Saujana Kuala Lumpur Hotel
Saujana Kuala Lumpur Shah Alam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Saujana Kuala Lumpur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.