We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and Cozy Hotel in Shah Alam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De Palma Hotel Shah Alam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added De Palma Hotel Shah Alam to your Saves list
De Palma Hotel Shah Alam
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Nelayan 19/15, Seksyen 19 | P.O. Box 7511, Shah Alam 40718, Malaysia (Formerly De Palma Inn Shah Alam)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Shah Alam
Bogor, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice and Cozy Hotel in Shah Alam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

When I went to Shah Alam for study purpose, I stayed for 6 nights on this hotel. Despite of its old-fashioned furniture in bedroom and found few small cockroaches, I liked there. Good swimming pool, nice cuisine, and more of that, nice employees and also their manager. I also loved this hotel because it near food stall corner that sold local cuisine and therefore I could choose whether I ate in hotel or on food stall. It also near local hospital that had good medical facility and grocery store. I admitted that it far from train station, but I like to stay there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    7
    7
    8
See reviews for
10
4
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I went to the hotel 3 months ago when I went to visit my doctor nearby and now I just drop by to visit the place to see any changes. Yes the place look good, the restaurant looks much more organised and they have a new Corner INDIAN FOOD . I tasted my favourite TEH TARIK and now they served in different large cups rather than glass mug. They lobby looks much larger and well arrange, Their children swimming pool was open with 3 small kids swimming and mother attending to them, the Resident Manager walked and invited me to view the kitchen..It was Clean and Neat. After viewing the hotel I will make my next seminar at this hotel. Has improved in Quality and Service.

Room Tip: Banquet Ballroom without pillars and only one floor up separate from Hotel Rooms, parking good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Everything is good and average.. Well what can i expect more.. Its an old hotel but the service n facilities is still good.. I dont recommend the room buy their hall can say its very big... They have a lot of parking space.. And on friday they have pasar malam behind..

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Cheers guys!!
If not because of my company having meeting in this hotel I will never ever even looked at this place. Room too small for two person and worst still the shower room extremely inconvenience for a big bulky size body.
Upon checked in, found the window sills locked broken and have to called to fix. Why not fix before we checked in?? Not a safe place to stay I guess! Both my pillow have dirt stains and it was so obvious. My roommate have to buy extra towel from nearby shop to cover the stains pillow and sleep on. TV channel not clear and we couldn't bother to watch TV anymore. Carpet in the room looked dull and dirty. The light in the room not bright enough to do our homework. The two single bed in the room very small space to walked thru. Found hanging wire and open cracked aircond controller on the wall. The hallway carpet faulty smells. Overall, the room and hotel are all run down and very dirty too.
The foods in the restaurant not so much choices for me and my roommate as we not a big fan of hot & spicy foods. So we decided to go outside nearby cafe for chinese foods. From this hotel to Sunway Pyramid mall took about 15 - 20mins taxi approximately RM20. Please make sure the taxi is on meter.
I would not recommend anybody to stay in this hotel. Your call to try it out!
I do have few pictures but I choose not to post them here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

paid almost Rm300 for small room.if not my mistake they call deluxe room. moderate breakfast, no free newspaper for this exspensive room. if all this continued no reason to me to be return guest or suggest to others. the location also not so strategic hope the management reduce the rates as many budget hotel nearby

Room Tip: maybe you need to take look the room first before check in
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasir Ris, null, Singapore
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I booked 3 superior rooms for 3 days 2 nites as I need to attend a family wedding. All the rooms are of different sizes even though we pay the same amount. Reception staff gave a good service as we manage to check-in early. This Hotel use to be an Inn before they acquire extra space for expansion. The rooms are all run down and very dirty. We can see some wire loosely hanging out from the socket. Very dangerous indeed! The heater in one of the room is not working. Called the technician but nobody came. The housekeeper keep on running around when we call her. Probably scared to run errands. I got a room on 2nd floor near the kitchen and it was very noisy till almost midnight before we can sleep peacefully. There's 2 single bed in the room and very small space just enough to walk. Really cater to 2 person only in a room only. The lobby area is large and located in a different area from the hotel room. The swimming pool is small. There is a 24hrs hospital just next to the hotel. No problem with finding for food as there are a number of shops and restaurants surrounding the hotel. There's also the weekend market behind the hotel every Saturday. All the seller use the hotel parking lot to park their cars and this leave us no space for the hotel guests when we came back during the evening. Breakfast is good and sufficient - taste just like home cook meal. This hotel really caters for wedding banquet as there was a wedding when we stayed there. I would not recommend family to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Since I just wanted to stay for one night and this hotel was near my company's Shah Alam branch, I decided to give this hotel a try. Sadly it didn't meet my expectation for a hotel standard.
The furniture was dated, the TV was blurry and didn't have ASTRO channels even though the ASTRO booklet was placed on the bedside table, the hot-water shower's temperature could not be controlled (too hot), the telephone was not working (for me to call the receptionist), there's no bathroom mat and the air-cond was noisy and was not cool. I didn't have a good night's sleep at all.
As a frequent traveller to Petaling Jaya and Shah Alam due to work, I had stayed in various budget hotels which had better facilities for cheaper price.
Only the reception staff was friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to De Palma Hotel Shah Alam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Palma Hotel Shah Alam

Address: Jalan Nelayan 19/15, Seksyen 19 | P.O. Box 7511, Shah Alam 40718, Malaysia (Formerly De Palma Inn Shah Alam)
Location: Malaysia > Selangor > Petaling District > Shah Alam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Shah Alam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — De Palma Hotel Shah Alam 3.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your De Palma Hotel Shah Alam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Palma Inn Shah Alam Hotel Shah Alam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Palma Hotel Shah Alam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.