We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Believe the wingers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Empress Hotel Sepang

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Empress Hotel Sepang to your Saves list
Empress Hotel Sepang
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan ST 1C/7, Medan 88, Bandar Baru Salak Tinggi, Sepang 43900, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Sepang
Warwick, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Don't Believe the wingers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Just stayed at the Empress for the MOTO GP. After booking I read the terrible and poor reviews. Rooms were good. Breakfast was tops. If you can't find something to eat then you are just fussy. Service was very good, rooms done every day. Staff great. Transfer to track and airport very good. Area around the hotel is typical Malaysia......where do some people think they are? Restaurant food was good although we only ate one night and had the buffet, so can't comment on the menu food. The buffet was value for money. Can't comment on pool or gym as too busy to use them.

Room Tip: It is a way from KL, so don't book if you want to see the capital, but great for the racing and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    66
    66
    46
    23
See reviews for
24
51
23
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ampang
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This is a very basic hotel which is suitable for those on transit. It is approx 20 minutes from KLIA and is approx 30 minutes from LCCT.

The room size is reasonable, can fit approx 4 pax at one go. The bathroom facilities are basic. Breakfast is served but they will pack for you if you need to leave for an early flight.

Parking is available at the basement and in front of the hotels. There are plenty of shops in the hotel area but all shops are closed by midnight. There is a convenient store across the road which also closes by midnight.

The hotel provides airport shuttle, just make an arrangement at the front office. If you book via online, just print your booking confirmation to ease the check-in process. They provide internet facilities at the lobby, with fee and a free wi-fi if at the lobby. Somehow, my colleague was able to detect the wireless network from 8th floor during our stay.

Iron and iron board is placed at the corridor-way for use on a sharing basis.

You will hear noises from outside, even at 1am.

Sleeping experience - average.

Overall experience - average.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

we decided to stay here due it is supossed proximity to the airport. big mistake. We bused LCCT only to be told by the information desk (that didnt even have a phone) that there was no hotel transfer there, only from KLIA. so we bused to KLIA, and again were told that a hotel shuttle did not exist. finally we gave in to a taxi, and arrived at the empress - which really is in the middle of no-where. we found our first room had a problem with the aircon that made it sound like roadworks were going on in the room. we complained and got to move rooms - they said it was a problem in numerous rooms. the second room was much better. then the next morning they ordered us a taxi that cost a crazy 60ringit to the airport. honestly as the airport shuttles from KL central are good and only cost 10ringit it is far better to stay in the centre and just brave the trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Not what we hoped to arrive to after travelling 30 hours from Melbourne. We owe thanks to Malaysia Airlines for putting us up in this hotel, travelling with young children and first time travellers - this was not the destination we had planned.
Where to begin. Checking in to a hotel located in an unsafe area or opening your hotel room to other guests already staying in there. The smell walking through the hallway was overwhelming, not by flowers but cigarettes. The beautiful stained linen sheets, clearly not 1,000 thread count that J.LO would sleep on. I don't know what is worse stained sheets or cobwebs and dust in the vents, I think the cleaning lady was on holiday that year. And not to forget the toilet that clearly had not been unblocked for a few months. We should've packed a tent as this would have been safer.
May I suggest, look further than this and as another member has already suggested - it was definitely Faulty Towers.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

We stayed twice in Empress hotel. The beds are very comfortable, the rooms are large (we booked family room and we were 3), the breakfast is very correct and the staff is friendly.
Nevertheless, 2 negative points: no WiFi in the rooms, but only 2 shared PC at the reception, and the trensfers to the 2 airports are not free ! A shuttle to LCCT airport (Air Asia) is charged 15 RM by pax, and you have to take a taxi from LCCT to the hotel (50 RM). No shuttle is available to KLIA airport, so you have to book a taxi (60 RM). From KLIA to the hotel, we found a bus which stopped 200 m away from the hotel (go to the bus station in KLIA airport and ask to go to go to the Empress). It costs just a few Ringgits.
Don t waste time to look for Empress shuttles when you arrive in the airportsn(LCCT and KLIA), they don t exist !

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for one night as we flew back from Borneo and chose it due to its proximity to the airport. However, it actually cost more to travel there by taxi (the only feasible method) than if we had taken the bus into KL centre. The room was large, but very tired and dated. The quality of food available at breakfast was poor and staff were unhelpful and looked miserable. We contacted the hotel prior to arrival to ask advice about reaching the hotel and they offered to arrange a taxi for 100RM!! We actually paid 50RM booking ourselves. We had requested a non-smoking room which was not given and the hotel was very noisy. Under no circumstances would I stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed at this hotel purely because we came in the evening and had a flight the next morning. It is not that close to the airport and is about 15-20 minutes away. We ventured into the city as well and it took us almost one hour to get there. Not much to say about this hotel. Very basic and good for one night stay but I would not stay here if I wanted to visit KL. We asked them to book us a taxi to the airport in the morning and they did not and we had to take their hotel taxi which was more expensive!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Empress Hotel Sepang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empress Hotel Sepang

Address: Jalan ST 1C/7, Medan 88, Bandar Baru Salak Tinggi, Sepang 43900, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Selangor > Sepang District > Sepang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Sepang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Empress Hotel Sepang 3*
Number of rooms: 324
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Empress Hotel Sepang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sepang Empress Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Empress Hotel Sepang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.