We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good atmosphere, bad crowd control.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sepang International Circuit

Sepang International Circuit
Jalan Pekeliling, Sepang, Malaysia
603-8778 2200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Sepang
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Highclere, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere, bad crowd control.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Poor traffic control in and out of the car park. Entry to the stand was poorly managed. We had our bottles of water confiscated and we could see hundreds of bags of confiscated food and drinks piled up by the gate which presumably some of the gate staff will take home? We have been to F1 races in other countries and have always been able to bring our little picnic with us, so the no food and drinks rule into the stand was bizarre and stupid. There were many very angry Malaysians and foreign visitors at the gates. The food on sale was uninteresting and exorbitant. FIA, please do something about this. It's obviously some sort of protectionism (of food and beverage caterers) going on here. No other F1country has this rule, that I know of. Other than that, it was an enjoyable experience and good atmosphere.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    136
    44
    14
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Typically Malaysian - Terrible Organisation”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Traffic to the circuit was a mess and we almost missed the start of the race as there was no attempt to help the flow of traffic both past the circuit and that going to the circuit. The entrance to the stand was through a single turnstile with some sort of curtain arrangement so they could see the pointless stamp they put on your hand. They take drinks off of you as you enter the stand even though you had just bought them from a cafe on the circuit site, The cafe ran out of food and was way too small for such a big facility. The queue to leave the stand was dangerous as a few thousand people all had to leave through a single one person wide gate as the lazy staff just stood by a much bigger locked gate. Getting away from the circuit was a massive joke, typically Malaysia as to go right first you have to go left and drive miles before eventually passing the point you started from. In our case almost 20 minutes later. Going to the Singapore Grand Prix is a thousand times more enjoyable.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonaire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“grande stand wow...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I got grand stand ticket accompanying my best bud. She knew many things about racing i had no idea about anything but it was truly a magnificent adventure for us two.the final flag and the race ended with a great applause!All my life it was an experience I will remember.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best F1 circuit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Lights, colours and atmosphere, lovely people and beautiful country - just too many people needing MRT after race finished

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Moto Gp”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Was there for moto gp was easy to get to the circuit by train from airport but very difficult to get back took three hours by bus because of traffic jams. Bus sent up the road about three miles to turn and come back down that took an hour at least police should have let buses cross the road or stop on the other side of the road would not be back because of the trouble getting back to KL

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sepang International Circuit also viewed

Sepang, Sepang District
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to Sepang International Circuit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sepang International Circuit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.