We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Airport Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sama-Sama Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sama-Sama Hotel to your Saves list
Sama-Sama Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   KL International Airport | Jalan CTA 4B, Sepang 64000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Sepang
Milwaukee, Wi
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Nice Airport Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

When arriving into KUL after an overnight flight, it was very nice to get through the airport and be able to take a golf cart type ride to the Sama-Sama. It was just as nice getting to the room which was ample in size, comfortable bed and nice appointments. The staff helped and I did not have to wait till noon to get a room. Very accommodating. It is a 45min to hour to get to downtown Kula Lumpur and hotels near the business center. Staying out at the airport helped minimize the jet lag.

Room Tip: The laundry was quick but a bit pricey for a short turn but they did a very good job. If you can, go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khaslina, Manager at Sama-Sama Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear TomM_8,

Thank you so much for your kind comments. It's so nice to see that you enjoyed our service and facilities. We are glad that we are able to give you a great impression even at only a short stay with us. We look forward for your next visit when transiting through Malaysia and till then, happy travels!

Best Regards,
Haslina Bt Kamaruddin
Guest Services Centre Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    713
    282
    51
    17
    11
See reviews for
173
433
111
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed here during a 24 hour stop over in September 2013. We had some trouble finding the hotel, we knew it was in the airport after customs but still had trouble finding it. If you see a buggy, hail it and hop on, the hotel is a bit of a walk. Our spacious room was very nice, super modern with a centralised console to control everything from the lights to the curtains from the bed. The bed was very comfortable. The only strange thing was we couldn't open the bar fridge to put in our bottles of water. At checkin we were asked if we would like to pay a deposit for any items used from the bar fridge which we declined. We presume that since we didn't, they automatically locked us out! We ordered an American breakfast from room service the next morning, which was enough for two people. We didn't dine or drink in any of the restaurants or use the pool area so can't comment on that. A very conveniently located hotel for a stopover or a quick visit to Kuala Lumpur.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khaslina, Manager at Sama-Sama Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Talldutchie,

Thank you for taking your time to write in your valuable feedbacks. Here in Sama-Sama Hotel KL International Airport. We strive to offer the best service and value-added accommodation that we can be proud of. We welcome valued feedbacks such as yours to further improve our service standards. Our deepest appreciated for your constructive comments.

We wish you many happy travels; please email us directly if you have any further enquiries, we will be glad to assist.

Best Regards,
Haslina Bt Kamaruddin
Guest Services Centre Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This hotel was included in my Malaysian Airlines business fare as I was flying out very late on to Europe.
There isn't much in the airport to keep me amused, but at least in the hotel, it's airconditioned, clean, quiet and has free wifi.
It looks like the hotel has had a makeover recently, with the room having a nice modern bathroom, and a king bed.

Signage for the hotel in the airport was poor.
When you arrive on an international flight, depending on your terminal, you have to take the airtrain to immigration, you have to pass through immigration, and then take an escalator down one floor (the corridor leading to the hotel skybridge is on the far right when you come out the exit for international arrivals.)

It's a decent 5-7 minute walk at a stroll, and not airconditioned, but the hotel has golf buggies if you have luggage or can't be bothered walking.

The foyer is huge, with faux palm trees. Check in was quick and the staff member I dealt with was very polite.
Being a transit hotel they are aware of people sleeping in, so they offer a wake up call.

I had an issue with my TV, it seemed to freeze up, but I just pressed a reset button behind it on the wall, and it rebooted. The ?harddrive behind it is quite noisy. The TV can be pulled out to watch it from the day bed near the window.

Good block out curtains are controlled by buttons on the wall.

There were two bottles of complimentary drinking water, which was nice. Don't open the minibar unless you're definitely having something. If you take something out you are automatically charged.

All in all, a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed seven nights at Sama-Sama due to a business engagement. Since we dropping a chunk of change (more than USD1,000), we thought we could ask for a complimentary breakfast. The answer was an emphatic no, but of course we moved on. The next morning when we took the car out, we validated the parking and asked that the $8 per-day fee be charged to our room. We were told that the parking ticket was validated, but we were stranded at the UN-MANNED parking gate and so had to walk up to the lobby (10 minutes for a fit young guy, not sure how long it would take someone with mobility issues). Stuff happens, so we moved on. The next day, the SAME THING HAPPENED. This time, I asked to speak with the General Manager and was assigned to a Mr Sundra who apologized (in a smary, non-sincere way, you all know what I mean), who offered to upgrade our room so we got free parking for the week. In the afternoon of the same day, we got another smarmy letter from Mr Sundra stating that we had parking ticket issues because we did not leave a credit card for the pre-paid room. I provided a written response to Mr Sundra, and... never heard from him Two weeks later, we found parking charges on our credit card. At this point, I just shrugged of course.

As many have pointed out, the rooms are good and the staff generally very pleasant. But given the opportunity, I would stay at the Concorde Inn which is 1/3rd the price, has complimentary breakfast and has no-frills but decent rooms (note to all: they've renovated recently and most of the yucky dorm-styled rooms are gone).

At MYR500, Sama-Sama simply does not have the service level worthy of a 5-star establishment. Avoid if you can.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SundraK, Manager at Sama-Sama Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Bluedph,

Thank you for staying with us. Our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. We did receive your request for free breakfast but our reservation was unable to offer free breakfast as you have purchased through your travel agent room nights without breakfast. We did reply to you with option to purchases through your travel agent or directly through the hotel during your stay. Our employees can’t offer free breakfast at that level of responsibility.

As for the car park rate at RM8 , our front office associate was not able to post your charges to the guest account as the rooms were paid by your travel agent and not other charges. During your check-in date, our front desk associates request for your credit card guarantee for other charges. Were you have said, you do not wish too. We meet on the Saturday afternoon and upon listening to your parking issues. I promised to revert to you after my investigation. The letter written to was a clear explanation why the front desk was not able to post your parking charges to the room account as the system does not allow it. Front desk associate had informed you the reasons above, so the ticket has to be validated based on flat rate and to be paid at the parking pay station before exit. Unfortunately you have driven up directly to the exit booth; naturally the gates will not open as the ticket was not validated. But there was no need to walk back to the front desk, as our exit booths are not manned as their automated to the pay station. The exit booths are installed with intercom and if pressed, our parking attendants would have spoken to you or immediately assisted you at the exit booth.

After my letter to you, you provided the front desk the following day with the credit card guarantee and the front desk proceed with the charges accordingly. My sincere apologies as there was mention about free up-grades or free parking. If you wish me to forward back the letter or email correspondence to you for reference, I will gladly do so. Sincere apologies for experience and hope we are able to serve you again, please contact us if wish any clarifications. Thank you

Kind Regards,

Sundra Kulendra
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

I thought this was a great location to rest while on long tavels .. took the express train to the city... both a little overpriced I thought but as a one off it makes fire a decent rest stop. The buggies are great but we found them hard to find

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khaslina, Manager at Sama-Sama Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Wihsh,

Thank you for choosing Sama-Sama Hotel KL International Airport for your recent travels through Malaysia.

Thank you for taking your time to write in your valuable feedbacks. Here in Sama-Sama Hotel KL International Airport. We strive to offer the best service and value-added accommodation that we can be proud of. We welcome valued feedbacks such as yours to further improve our service standards. Our deepest appreciated for your constructive comments.

We wish you many happy travels; please email us directly if you have any further enquiries, we will be glad to assist.

Best Regards,
Haslina Bt Kamaruddin
Guest Services Centre Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying here twice on our recent SE Asia travels. We were using KL airport to swap flights, airlines and countries and were only in KL for about a 10 hour turn around. The staff were very friendly and on the ball, even very late at night when we got in. The buggy pick and drop off service to and from the airport was very welcome. The decor is very nice and has everything you will need. If I was visiting KL itself I might stay in the city centre, however for our flight turn arounds, we found the Sama-Sama perfect.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khaslina, Manager at Sama-Sama Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Saggital,

Thank you so much for your kind comments. It's so nice to see that you enjoyed our service and facilities. We are glad that we are able to give you a great impression even at only a short stay with us. We look forward for your next visit when transiting through Malaysia and till then, happy travels!

Best Regards,
Haslina Bt Kamaruddin
Guest Services Centre Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I work in the travel retail business hence we always put our staff up for a night in sama sama hotel merely due to the convenience of distance to the airport (it is connected to the airport and they provide buggy service to and fro). Prior to being named Sama Sama Hotel, it was called Pan Pacific Hotel and the service was quite good. After the change of management, somehow the service level has dropped tremendously and the food taste bad for the price they charge.

Just very recently (a week ago) my staff was checked in for a night and I specifically told the front desk staff not to charge her as payment will be bore by the company. They took her credit card as deposit and said that they will not charge her for it. The next day she checked out and was given some papers to sign. She asked for a copy of it but was told by the staff that it is NOT a receipt as she wasn't charge for the room. 3 days later the charge appeared in her credit card statement although she did not sign any credit card bill nor did she get any receipt for the payment.

Be very careful dealing with the front desk staff!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khaslina, Manager at Sama-Sama Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear LynnKL,

Thank you for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor. We are truly sorry on the unpleasant experience caused to your colleagues’ stay with us. Rest assured that we are making every effort to improve on the points you have described and constantly train our associates to improve the service quality and guest experience.

Nothing is more important than regaining your trust and all of us here hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again soon and provide you the positive Hotel Experience you have come to expect from us. Please do contact me for any future stay and I am able to make that a pleasant one. Thank you

Best Regards,
Haslina bt Kamaruddin
Guest Services Centre Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sama-Sama Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sama-Sama Hotel

Address: KL International Airport | Jalan CTA 4B, Sepang 64000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Selangor > Sepang District > Sepang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Sepang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sama-Sama Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5 star deluxe hotel located adjacent to the main airport, KL International Airport. The hotel is linked to the airport via a covered sky bridge. It takes only 5 minute walk to the airport. The hotel also provides a 24 hour buggy service on the sky bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Sama-Sama Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sama-Sama Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.