We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible service and place to stay !!! Not recommended at all” 1 of 5 stars
Review of the youniQ Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added the youniQ Hotel to your Saves list
the youniQ Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 42, Jln 2 | Bandar Baru Salak Tinggi Business Park, Sepang 43900, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Sepang
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Terrible service and place to stay !!! Not recommended at all”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

First impression at the reception when we arrived seemed good. Staff were helpful.

However, things started getting worse. Our triple room turned out to be a double bed with an extendable single bed from below. It's not a proper bed !!! Water was either very hot or cold !

Breakfast was pathetic as they simple bought a few loaves of bread and jam with coffee and tea. Most people ended up not eating.

We reserved airport transportation service to airport the night before. However, to our horror, the van was late for almost an hour, leaving 3 groups of tourists stranded and high possibility of being late for flights. Male staff appeared calling van driver to check but always mentioned he didnt pick up the calls. The female staff was worst, playing with her phone!!!!!!!!

This place is basically out of nowhere and we had no other choice other than waiting for the van. As we insisted on them calling a taxi for us and them bearing the cost due to their fault, the female staff raised her voice. We argued quite a bit and she banged to table. What kind of attitude is it, especially when your hotel guests are late for the flights. Later we overheard from the outsourced van driver (who finally arrived) that the staff in previous shift forgot to book him and it's last min calling. The driver was totally unhappy and took his own sweet time too.

Luckily we reached airport on time. Dunno about another group with less than an hour to check-in for their Taiwan flight.

Worst experience ever for an accommodation ! NEVER EVER recommend to any1. We won't mind paying extra bucks for other hotels with reliable services and better attitude

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
youniqhotel, Manager at the youniQ Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Kevin,
We sincerely apologize for the bad experience you encountered while staying with us.

In regard to the sleep three room, we do have two type of sleep three (Pictures of these two room types are available on tripadvisor.com):

1.)Sleep Three Easy- comes with one fixed single bed and one fixed Queen size bed.
2.)Sleep Three Convertible- come with one fixed Queen size bed, another single bed is designed as a pull-out bed underneath from the Queen size bed. The is why we called it a sleep three convertible. This room type is design for family with young kids who want to stay close to their kids.

In regard to our shuttle, we send our company vehicle for inspection once a month. During this this inspection time(Usually takes one day time), we will contract out the drop-off to the designated driver who we usually work with, which are reliable one. We apologize for the lateness that was cause by the contracted driver. Our management is going to get to the bottom of this and to make sure this will not happen again to our future guests.

It is our obligation to make sure we get all our guests to make their flight departure once guests make their booking for our airport drop-off service. Up to today, we do not have a single guest who missed their flight.

In regard to breakfast, we do not sell our room with breakfast at all. All room rate do not includes breakfast. The Free of charged bread spread and free-flow of coffee and tea is a complimentary morning refreshment for all in-house guests. It is our gesture of appreciation for guest to enjoy before their departure to the airport.

thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    127
    97
    37
    16
See reviews for
58
113
42
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

If your looking for a place for a one night layover this was perfect. Rooms were practical, clean and had good wifi.

Location is not so great, and make sure you eat at the airport as options are very limited (1 restaurant in the ally near model plane).

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Was pleasantly surprise when I arrived at the hotel. It was clean and gave us a very homely feeling.

There were hot and cold water dispenser provided along the corridor and besides that, each room have their own kettle as well. We were also happy to find packets of coffee in each room.
The hotel also provide complimentary breakfast. Although it was only bread spread, we felt that it was good enough to start off the day.

The only cons for travellers arriving late as there is no restaurants around the area and we have to get food from the nearby mini mart.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed here in June, on two separate occasions - and had two totally different experiences!
Our first stay was fantastic! We had a late check-in dealt with by a friendly and competent lady on reception, before spending the night in two beautiful rooms; clean, stylish and very well received. We had a very good nights sleep and before an early check-out the following morning, were able to leave a bag at the hotel until our next visit a week later.
Our second visit; a week later; was a different story! Although the hotel knew we were coming back to stay with them a week later - not only did I tell them, but I also left a bag with them for safe storage - they neglected to advise us of their airport shuttle service (charged at 5RM per person) or the fact that it must be pre-booked 24 hours in advance. Getting a taxi from KLLCCT to the hotel costs 80-100 RM!
On arrival at the hotel; we had again booked 2 rooms; one was unmade, and the other looked unmade too - both were of much inferior quality to our previous stay.
The reception area had just had the wooden floor varnished so smelled very strongly of chemicals and there were no signs posted to say it had been varnished and was wet so I inadvertently walked all over it to get the the lifts to go to our rooms!
On the basis of this second stay, I would not stay again. Also, unless your taxi driver knows the back-route through winding lanes around the countryside, the trip between KLLCCT and YouniQ is not very close.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
244 helpful votes 244 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We were very pleased with our recent stay at YouniQ and found it to be a place with a lot of character and ideal if you want a cheap hotel thats in close range of the airport.
We stayed in a double room which cost us around 139MYR which then went up to 150 on arrival due to tax that wasnt included before hand. The room had a TV with a few channels, a comfortable bed and a rain shower head which was fantastic although for some reason in the morning it was hard to get the water hot.
There is a shuttle bus that needs to be pre-booked and runs every 2 hours from the LCCT for 5MYR per person which is a very reasonable price.
There isnt a great deal around the hotel, it seems to be on a relatively deserted business park although there is a shop next door to get a few things like water and snacks and there is also a restaurant just 2 mins walk away that serves delicious Malay food for a cheap price.
There is a free breakfast every morning which is minimal and consists of tea/ coffee and you can have as much toast as you want which comes along with Kaya and jam.

Overall, this place place was perfect for what we wanted and if we are in Kuala Lumpur for such a short period again in the future we would definitely stay here again. If you have two nights then it may be worth staying somewhere that has a bit more to do around it.
The only negative thing i would have to say about the place is that the walls are very thing and we could here a pin drop in the next room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

acceptable solution for one night. clean rooms, friendly staff, transfer service to and from airports works well. no food on premises or nearby (buy a burger before getting here) and very thin room walls, you here every noise from other rooms. overall good value (triple room €40)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I had a short stay here before I flew to Kota Bharu early in the morning. The hotel had a shuttle from LCCT every two hours. This can be a little frustrating because I landed at 10pm and I had to wait for 12pm shuttle. Taking taxi can be costly because the hotel is pretty far from the airport.
The room was clean and well-appointed. Staffs were helpful. Breakfast was minimal but decent. The hotel provided filtered drinking water, which was great. It also had unique interior designs.
Overall, the stay at YouniQ Hotel was pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to the youniQ Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the youniQ Hotel

Address: No. 42, Jln 2 | Bandar Baru Salak Tinggi Business Park, Sepang 43900, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Selangor > Sepang District > Sepang
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Sepang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — the youniQ Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
the youniQ Hotel is located about 10 min drive from KLIA & KLIA 2. the youniQ Hotel is a 4 story building comprising of 60 well-equipped concept designed Ensuite rooms. Our property also comes with laundry facility and a Mini Cardio gym. We are a young hotelier and we are distinctively youniQ in our space designing style. Our experimental concepts and convention-shattering design challenges us to create a sensible space which brings much comfort and affordability to the masses. We take pride in giving more to our guests. We know we can do better for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your the youniQ Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage the youniQ Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.