We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crazy Prices (and without breakfast)” 3 of 5 stars
Review of AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort to your Saves list
AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Sepang Goldcoast, No. 67 | Jalan Pantai Bagan Lalang, Sepang 43950, Malaysia (Formerly Golden Palm Tree Iconic Resort & Spa )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Sepang
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Crazy Prices (and without breakfast)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

My wife and I managed to only stay here because we had some free hotel vouchers. Other than that, the price alone would have put us off for a long, long time.

Overall, I would say the place is decent, although the room we got seems to be in need of some minor repairs, such as the blinds. We also felt that the room wasn't completely clean as there were dust gathered in some corners of the room. Bathroom in the lobby area wasn't that clean as well, which speaks volumes I suppose.

Also, I don't feel like I get a sense of privacy when I stayed there, although the place made it seem like a private villa.

To be fair, they were going through some major renovations at that time, so my hope is that it will be much better after all the refurbishments, although, I would still not pay that much money for rooms such as these. And there's no breakfast even with that kinda of pricing!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErwinV, General Manager at AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort, responded to this review, September 25, 2014
Dear dericjtan,

Though I have recently arrived at the hotel, I have taken the liberty to review past feedbacks to find areas of opportunity for this property, and I would like to thank you for your feedback, which will help me in achieving this.

Indeed, at the time of your review still many works were ongoing, which have since been completed, therefore I hope that during a potential future visit you would find an improved level of product and service. Please do not hesitate to reach out to us should you wish to do so, my team and I will be delighted to be of further assistance.

Kind regards,

Erwin van der Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    170
    83
    25
    19
See reviews for
182
173
6
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

The staff from the Kids Club was just fantastic!! Fizah thank you very much for ensuring that our little one was always entertained and well looked after. Much appreciated and your sincerity and genuine love for kids is amazing! We adore you keep up the great work Fizah.

The staff from Perahu was also very obliging, patient well done guys!

Overall we were very satisfied with the great service from Fizah (and the Kids Club staff) and the staff from Perahu.

If there was anything that they could improve is the room service, they always take too long which we do understand to a certain extent due to insufficient buggies. Kinda lame but yeah it happens when hotel is full and buggies are limited.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomMgr-GPT, General Manager at AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the resort and had a wonderful time at our Kid's Club and a warm experience at Perahu. We will share your positive comments with our service staff and look forward to your next visit. AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort will be in its second phase soon which will include a pool by Smiley beach and a New Teen's and Kid's Club. We hope to see soon.

Thank You.

Best Regards,
Thomas Fehlbier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

When we checked in on the first day, our Wifi was down, we weren't able to use our hotel phones to contact the reception regarding the issue because even the phone line was down! And also, the tv channels cannot be surfed due to some technical error! What kind of monstrosity is this, coming from a 5-star hotel/resort? It was so disappointing. And the next day, we booked a bus to bring us down to KL, and on our way back to Avani, the bus aircon broke down and most of us passengers nearly suffocated! Shouldn't you check the condition of your bus before bringing it out for passenger service? And no thanks to the bus driver who took no initiative to stop the bus and check the health condition or well-being of the passengers. Preposterous service. Not too sure whether I'll be making a comeback or not.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErwinV, General Manager at AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort, responded to this review, September 25, 2014
Dear LylaFadhilah,

Having recently arrived here at the property, I have reviewed past feedbacks from guests and was sadened to see your feedback.
Rest assured that your comments have been noted and will form part of my follow ups to ensure product and service will continuously improve at this resort.

Thank you for having taken the time to provide your thoughts / opinions.

Kind regards,

Erwin van der Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Great place for a short break. Avani now the resort manager has done quite a bit to improve the beach side facilities.

Expanded F&B options but not cheap by local standards.

I'm writing this at 12.45pm in searing heat having gone to convenience shop, Bila-Bila who advised me to go to Sepoi-Sepoi to look for ice cream for the kids only to get "no ice cream on this resort sir". Perplexing.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomMgr-GPT, General Manager at AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. The resort will be continuously expanding and looking to provide better facilities and quality service. We acknowledge your comment on ice cream at Sepoi Sepoi and apologize for any inconvenience caused and would like to share that we do serve a variety of home-made ice-creams here. Phase 2 will involve a new pool by Smiley beach and a Teen's and Kid's Club. We look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,
Thomas Fehlbier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new south wales
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We have been looking at this resort for some time now, but were always put off by the very negative reviews. When Deals.com.au put on a packaged deal in January, we thought, '"how bad can it be?"
I know that sounds ominous, but I'm pleased to report that it was actually very, very, good. We arrived with our two teenagers, aged 13 and 15, on a Sunday night. Airport pick up was a breeze and we were soon on our way. Arriving in the early evening, the approaching streets were lined with market stalls and all the lights were on.It looked magical. Check in was quick and easy. There were cold towels and coconut drinks. Aswad, who had been assigned as our butler, was bright and cheerful. He explained our package thoroughly, made us feel very welcome and then personally drove us to our beautiful villa in a buggy. We were shown around the villa, shown how things work and left to settle in. Our lovely, two bedroom villa, on frond seven, was just beautiful. It was really spacious and clean. Tastefully decorated and cool. No air conditioning problems here.There was a fresh fruit bowl.The bedrooms and storage space were ample.Our main bedroom had a gorgeous king bed, soft as a cloud, overlooking the ocean. the linens were crisp and white and it was possibly the most comfortable and sumptuous bed I've ever slept in. The bathrooms were equally good, ours had a sunken bath and large rain shower, the kids had plenty of room and also a rain shower. The vanity area could use some much better lighting but apart from that we were pleased with our villa and slept very soundly.
The next morning, we woke up early and headed to breakfast, finding bicycles along the way. There were many bikes available, all in varying states of disrepair. It didn't matter, they were a great deal of fun and it was a laugh to see who had the squeakiest bike. Everyone we saw riding was also smiling. We never had a problem getting a bike and it was definitely the way to get around. Breakfast had a vast array of choices. There really was something for everyone, including freshly cooked egg or noodle dishes. Sunday morning was chaos, with all the weekend visitors, but we still ate well. We were lucky to have Jaff as our breakfast attendant. He was a delight. always smiling, ready with a table for us. He knew my coffee choice and nothing was ever too much trouble. Jaff is one of those people who make a holiday memorable.
For the first couple of days, peninsula Malaysia was shrouded in haze. It made everything grey. The whole place looked so drab. I really wondered how we were going to fill our time. We went to the beach, which was not very attractive but had warm water and plenty of activities. There were kayaks, paddle boards, and windsurfers. My daughter loved the blow carts and had a ball racing up and down the beach at low tide while we relaxed in well placed hammocks.
We were fortunate to be invited to the Management Cocktail reception and had the chance to meet some of the staff and share in their enthusiasm for the positive changes taking place at Avani. They are very determined to turn things around and were well informed, well spoken and great ambassadors for their resort. If they continue in this direction, the future looks very bright.
On about the third day, the haze lifted, and it was like a different place.The sky was clear, the flora was beautiful and the ocean was multiple hues of blue. The whole mood was cheerier. We were, in fact, never short of something to do. We took the free bus into Kuala Lumpur twice. The trip is about 1 hour 45 mins but it passes quickly, either sleeping or admiring the scenery. The bus could certainly use new suspension, so avoid the back seats if you don't want to bounce all the way. The kids loved the Extreme Park, especially the Go Karts, which were really good value, about half the price we pay here. We had several massages at the Spa. It was very peaceful and relaxing.The girls were sweet and professional. we never had any trouble making use of the vouchers that were part of our package. We enjoyed very good pizza at Sepoi Sepoi, a delicious barbecue buffet dinner at Perahu, on the beach, and a really lovely birthday dinner, with cake and singing, at the chinese restaurant, Hai Sang Lou.It was the best chinese food we've had. Really delicious,clean tasting food with exquisite flavour, beautifully prepared and presented.Sook Chan, our attendant, was wonderfully accommodating and made it a lovely evening. On Saturday night, the surrounding beach is crowded with families camping for the weekend. There are market stalls and hawker food stalls. We had a very delicious, and very cheap dinner, in a fun and festive atmosphere.
The pool area is good and bad. The infinity pool is beautifully placed and the water is warm. Most days it was not at all crowded. On those days, there are plenty of sunbeds. There are also lovely cabanas with daybeds. These would be great if they weren't full of smokers. For some reason, people seemed to go into them to smoke. Some thoughtfully moved away from their own children to smoke but thought it was okay to poison us and our children. They really need to make areas around the pool smoke free. Nobody wants to have their family suck in second hand smoke whilst trying to enjoy the pool or the cabanas. It really ruined time by the pool, as did the cigarette butts they thoughtfully dropped on the floor of the cabanas,despite there being ashtrays. There are plans for another pool area by the beach, maybe that will give an alternative choice. Of course, this negative is caused by guests and not Avani itself.
All in all, we had a fabulous time. Instead of not having enough to do, we did not have enough time to do everything. We enjoyed the whole atmosphere, all the facilities and the friendly staff. The resort is lovely. The villas are serviced beautifully everyday and towels are replaced frequently. Delicious treats arrive every evening, which the kids really looked forward to.
When it came to check out time, it was an equally painless experience. Often, it's an unpleasant or uncomfortable time when it comes to leaving, as if now that you're going, it no longer matters. It was definitely not that way. Aswad, again checked frequently to see if we needed anything and told us just to relax and enjoy our time. When it was time to go, he personally collected us and our luggage and saw us to our transport, chatting all the way. We left feeling very happy with the whole experience and looking forward to returning, hopefully for a longer stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomMgr-GPT, General Manager at AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and time taken to review the resort. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and will share your kind comments with our service staff and management team. At AVANI we look forward to continuosly serve our guest well and to provide the utmost in comfort. We are happy to have met your acquantaince during the Management Cocktail and hope to have been of assistance to your enquiries. Well noted on the smoking. We look forward to your next visit to the resort, kindly contact me at tfehlbier@minornet.com prior to your next vacation should you require any further assistance.

Thank You.

Best Regards
Thomas Fehlbier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Loved the room and how the entire place was done up. Water villa with bicycles and buggy.

Area for improvement - half of the bikes were faulty. Infinity pool is a good idea but way too small. Very packed in the evening.
We were there over the weekend and it was full house so the staff seemed stretched. We were out from 8am till 2pm with 'make up my room' sign but nobody came. Have to call them in.

All in all, good excellent hotel with friendly staff but resource planning can be better.

Moving in the right direction. Just need to strengthen execution!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomMgr-GPT, General Manager at AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for your feedback on the TripAdvisor. We are glad that you are generally happy with your stay at the resort. Our new management team will look into improving and continuously upgrading our facilities and will take note of your comments. The second phase of expansion will include a new pool beside Smiley beach and a new Teen's and Kid's Club. We look forward to your next visit to serve you better.

Best Regards,
Thomas Fehlbier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a week and loved it. At the last minute we had to push our accommodation back a few days due to flight issues and the staff at Avani helped us with this issue with no problems at all. Most resorts would charge you a cancellation fee but not Avani the staff were nothing but helpful.

The day we arrived was my birthday and to my surprise after we returned from a lovely dinner three Avani butlers entered our Villa with a birthday and card and sang Happy Birthday it was a lovely surprise.

The Villa is just beautiful we stayed in a two bedroom villa which was very spacious and clean with amazing sea views.

The free bus ride into KL is great the bus drive is very funny which makes the trip go quicker. The bikes are a great idea and there are so many of them that you will never miss out.

Room service is good but could do with a few more choices on it.

The only negative thing I would say is that check in is a little long winded, after a long flight we just wanted to get to our room. But this is very small negative.

All in all it was an amazing holiday very relaxing which is what we were after on this holiday.

Room Tip: The further out you are the better the view is
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomMgr-GPT, General Manager at AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the resort and will share your kind comments with our service staff. At AVANI, we aim to make our guests feel welcomed and once again warm wishes on your birthday. We will take note on future check-ins and hope to be of better service to you.

Best Regards,
Thomas Fehlbier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort

Address: Sepang Goldcoast, No. 67 | Jalan Pantai Bagan Lalang, Sepang 43950, Malaysia (Formerly Golden Palm Tree Iconic Resort & Spa )
Location: Malaysia > Selangor > Sepang District > Sepang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Sepang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort stretches out from the Sepang coastline, almost a kilometer into the sheltered waters of the Straits of Malacca with 392 luxuriously appointed over water villas that shape a palm tree. This new upscale resort offers guests a wide range of sports and entertainment activities as well as great food & beverage outlet selection. Located in the district of Sepang, in the southern part of the state of Selangor, AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort is a short 35 minute drive from Kuala Lumpur International Airport. The resort is also conveniently located close to the Sepang International Circuit - home to the Malaysian leg of the F1 race. Inspired by Polynesian and Maldivian architecture, blended with contemporary Malaysian interior design, each over water villa showcases a range of features that will ensure you take full advantage of the relaxed comfort, knowing we have the details covered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, AsiaRooms, Hotel.de, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Palm Tree Iconic Resort And Spa
Golden Palm Tree Iconic Hotel Sepang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.