We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surburb shopping hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of One World Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added One World Hotel to your Saves list
One World Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   First Avenue, Bandar Utama City Centre, Petaling Jaya 47800, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Save up to 33%
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Petaling Jaya
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Surburb shopping hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed over the weekend with 4-yr old daughter.

Room:
Premier room is decently sized w lounge chair and huge closet space. A tad tired looking with dingy carpets and furniture.

Service:
Requests are fulfilled fairly quickly but all calls to housekeeping are responded with a call back to ensure that you hv been served. Seemed like a considerate gesture but 3 calls will hv you answering 3 subsequent calls. The towel
Service at the pool is served by the gym actress the pool. So do head to the gym for your towels before u go swimming.

Hotel:
A nice kid's slide but more for older kids for sure. My daughter played at the fountain area and has to be heavily supervised at the kids pool as it was pretty deep (1 ft plus).

The breakfast buffet was a nice spread but the coffee served was awful perhaps I was there 30 mins before closing which was at 10.30am.

Location:
Right next to One Utama shopping mall w indoor access. Convenient for a shopping weekend. The hotel also provides free shuttle downtown (KLCC) should you want to see the sights. There are no other tourist attractions close by this surburbian mall.

A hotel suited for business or shoppers.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OneWorldHotel, Public Relations Manager at One World Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for the detailed review. We are glad to know that you have overall enjoyed your stay with us.

We definitely look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.

Florence Leong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    262
    70
    18
    16
See reviews for
185
66
30
244
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Checked into hotel - staff not overly friendly. Went to rooms - clean but problem with hot water which struggled to come through both rooms - left water running more than 8 minutes and had a tepid shower!!! Same thing in the morning... Bed hard but each to their own. Shopping fantastic with a huge mall enough to satisfy all shopaholics!! Every brand available. Might stay in this hotel again for the shopping but no other reason. There are plenty of other hotels around that we would choose before this one!! ;)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OneWorldHotel, Public Relations Manager at One World Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback regarding your stay with us. We sincere apologise for not being able to meet your expectations. Your feedback has been shared with the team for appropriate changes to be made for improvement.

Nevertheless, we are glad to know that you enjoyed shopping at 1 Utama Shopping Centre.

We hope that you would give us another opportunity to be of service to you.

Once again our sincere apologies.

Warm regards.

Florence Leong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Stayed a couple of nights for work, fast check in service and shopping is just five minutes walk away. Was told by my colleague that it's probably the nicest hotel in PJ, though a bit old. So I didn't harbor any expectation, just want to get it over and done with. But It definitely surpassed my expectation, I like the sumptuous breakfast spread and spacious hotel room. The lobby looks grand although bar service is on the pricey side. The hot water takes a while to be hot though.

Only one thing that irks me. My caucasian colleague received a free room upgrade to a suite when he checked in ten minutes after me. Caught me by surprised and I wonder is it because I'm Asian which explained why I'm not getting the same treatment.

Nonetheless I'm overall satisfied with the hotel and will go back in feb again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OneWorldHotel, Public Relations Manager at One World Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

We are glad to know that your first time experience with One World Hotel has been a pleasant one. Nevertheless, we will also check on the upgrade which you mentioned.

Thank you for your kind feedback. We definitely look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.

Florence Leong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I stayed for a night at this hotel with my family since the annual dinner of my dad's company was held at the ballroom.

In term of location, this hotel is very convenience since it is just next to one utama. You can do your shopping repeatedly. I think that is the only benefit that this hotel has.

In respect of the room, it is kinda small. The toilet is quite small. The shower is just next to the toilet bowl.

The parking, those are very confusing. You may end up parking your car at one utama instead of one world hotel.

To go to one world hotel, you have to go through massive jam since it is just next to one utama.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OneWorldHotel, Public Relations Manager at One World Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your kind review on your stay with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience experienced.

One World Hotel is indeed the perfect location if you have shopping in mind. We also have great facilities for meetings and annual dinners.

Wishing you a great week ahead and look forward to having you as our guest once again.

Warm regards.

Florence Leong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

stayed for 2 nights on the 5th floor - the hotel is good but has some misses. The best part of the stay was the breakfast - the best hotel breakfast i've had in the world! The rooms are spacious and they don't stinge on providing amenities. The not so good part was the poor to average check-in. Think was checked in by a staff by the name of Aran? and after handing over the keys no further help was offered on where the rooms are or what not. The cleaniness of the area around the men's locker room and the swimming pool area could also be improved.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OneWorldHotel, Public Relations Manager at One World Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the spaciousness of our room and enjoyed our breakfast spread; as well as shopping at 1 Utama. Nevertheless, please accept our apologies for the inconvenience experienced during check-in. I have shared your feedback with the team. Hopefully when you next stay with us, you'll have a much more pleasant experience.

We definitely look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.

Florence Leong.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bm
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Good Service and Location
But unhappy with the Valet Parking part as they charge me while i am check in, at least they should inform earlier
Even i booked and mentioned to them i need baby cot but they still provide with best effort, luckily when i checked in, had the last available one.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OneWorldHotel, Public Relations Manager at One World Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your kind review on your experience at One World Hotel. We have taken note of your feedback with regards to the charges for valet. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. Our Front Office staff have been reminded to inform guests on the charges for valet parking. But we do offer complimentary parking for basement car park.

We hope that the above will not deter you from visiting us again and we look forward to welcoming you soon.

Warm regards.

Florence Leong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

We took a junior suite and it was fantastic. Check in was on the 19th floor. Suite was spotless, spacious and quiet. We had a great time and the staff were lovely. As mentioned by others, the hotel is connected to a huge mall which made shopping convenient. There's Isetan, Tangs, Parkson, Gap, Armani Exchange, Chanel, Swatch, Massimo Dutti, Coach, Uniglo, Crabtree & Evelyn, Sony and many many more shops.

It was nice to have a break on the club floor during the day....away from the crowds and the hustle and bustle. Once our batteries were re-charged, we headed back to the mall.

Great hotel to stay if shopping is main agenda.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OneWorldHotel, Public Relations Manager at One World Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank for the wonderful review. Our team is glad to know that they have made your stay an enjoyable one. 1 Utama Shopping Centre is indeed a shopping 'mecca' with over 600 retail outlets.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.

Florence Leong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to One World Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One World Hotel

Address: First Avenue, Bandar Utama City Centre, Petaling Jaya 47800, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Selangor > Petaling District > Petaling Jaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Petaling Jaya
#1 Luxury Hotel in Petaling Jaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — One World Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 438
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5-star One World Hotel is located in the heart of Petaling Jaya and is adjoined to 1 Utama Shopping Centre. It offers 438 luxurious guestrooms and 7 food & beveraget outlets; with facilities such as fitness centre, outdoor swimming pool and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your One World Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1 World Hotel
Hotel One World
One World Petaling Jaya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage One World Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.