We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leaky bathrooms” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Royale Bintang The Curve

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Royale Bintang The Curve to your Saves list
The Royale Bintang The Curve
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6, Jalan PJU 7/3 | Mutiara Damansara, Petaling Jaya 47800, Malaysia (Formerly Royale Bintang Damansara)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book Earlier and Save!
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Petaling Jaya
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Leaky bathrooms”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2009

What I liked best about this hotel was that it looked posh, which helped in terms of the fact that it felt value for money as it's quite an expensive hotel.

The family room is really nice and very cosy - it's almost like having your own service apartment.

However, service is quite lacking and so are the handymen. We had a couple of faults with our room:

* The door to the balcony was broken and slightly ajar... fortunately the handymen did come to fix this

* I was having a bath and having a good relaxing lie down in the bathtub... when suddenly I realised that there was a leak as the water kept slowly receeding. I thought that this was probably just me... but when I got up from the bath tub, I noticed that there was water leaking everywhere... and it even leaked into the bedroom!

Although we complained, no one came to fix the issue. The day we checked out, they also refused to give us a discount or even apologise even though we took this issue up with them.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    53
    62
    28
    24
See reviews for
70
23
11
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
manila, philippines
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2009

we were looking for a hotel in petaling jaya - basically so we could be near ikea. this hotel is perfect, located smack in the middle of The Curve complex and pretty much literally across the street from ikea. for regular shopping, one doesn't have to leave this area at all.

it's a cab ride away from the city center - around 40RM.

but the main thing i want to say is that the staff was great! extremely efficient, very polite... down to giving us a box to pack our last minute purchases as we were checking out. good value at 245RM a night and highly recommended if you're staying in this part of town

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipoh, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

Stayed there twice in 2 years. For both occassions, we stayed at the family suite. Clean and comfortable. Most convenient where food and shopping is concerned since the hotel is attached to a few shopping centres. Breakfast buffet spread a bit small but tasty nonetheless.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

Great location as it's just above all the shopping. Rooms are clean and tidy. Airconds are strong enuf. Breakfast was also good. Great pool too. Had a happy stay. Stayed at a Family room and a deluxe. Family room was a connecting 2 bedroom wif a small living corner. Shared 1 big bathroom. Will return in the future.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2009

The hotel has a location away from city centre but is still suffered from traffic jam from connecting roads. For most, the hotel is convenient in terms of restaurants and departmental stores nearby. If you choose it for business purpose like me, just bear with the poor housekeeping service on top of time spent to travel to KLCC when you need to go out during free time.
I had never got the right number of towels in my bath room. When I asked the housekeeping staff on my floor, they asked me to call housekeeping myself. It happened to me almost everyday during my 9 days' stay. Can't the housekeeping does it right for the guest? My last day I got only two bath towels. Floor was not vacuum if not asked. Bin sometimes not cleaned if not full. I got skin rash one morning and had my room changed without a question asked within 2 hours.
Reception just didn't answer questions in full and left me to figure what was missing. My bill is supposed to be paid by company account but I was asked to pay when check out. I told the girl she should check the check in voucher but she could not find it and asked if I could pass her my copy.
The breakfast was one of the worst in its class. I ate the same (95%) food for the 9 days. Quality of food was poor too. Porridge was just warm which is not acceptable for a 4 star hotel. Service was slow and had to be reminded to clean up table.
I could have no complaint if the hotel was 2 star and I stayed shorter period. For the rate it charged me, I am sure I could find a better deal. Quite disappointing indeed.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2009

The hotel is right in the centre of a pretty big mall, the Curve.. I loved the options we had for meals as there are probably 100's of joints in near vicinity.. Being an Indian I liked Colonial times restaurant; which is just outside the hotel.

Taxis can take you easily anywhere in KL in just about 20 minutes.. The buses for Genting are at walking distance as well and pretty cheap. There is also a good Cinema hall about 50m from the hotel and can be enjoyed over the weekend.

Overall a very nice experience..

  • Liked — Great location.. Food options around
  • Disliked — Taxi's sometime overcharge you!
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2009

I stayed in the Royale Bintang for the second time.The first time was about 2 yrs ago. The staffs were friendly and the buffet breakdfast was sumptous. The location of th e hotel is so good..so many shopping area around it and you will definately need more than one day to tour around the area. Looking for meals were never a problem because there are so many eateries to choose from.. The disadvantage of this hotel is you need to pay for the parking fees....which is normally free for other hotels.I checked in on Friday and checked out on Saturday..thus have to pay RM5 for the parking fees. The room was clean and the furnishing was still very new. The housekeeping service was not so efficient but tolerable.Overall this hotel is highly recommended for those who enjoy shopping all day long...

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royale Bintang The Curve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royale Bintang The Curve

Address: 6, Jalan PJU 7/3 | Mutiara Damansara, Petaling Jaya 47800, Malaysia (Formerly Royale Bintang Damansara)
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Selangor > Petaling District > Petaling Jaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Petaling Jaya
#7 Luxury Hotel in Petaling Jaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royale Bintang The Curve 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Venere, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Ctrip TA and Odigeo so you can book your The Royale Bintang The Curve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royale Bintang Damansara Hotel Petaling Jaya
Royale Bintang Damansara Petaling Jaya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royale Bintang The Curve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.