We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Armada Petaling Jaya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Armada Petaling Jaya to your Saves list
Hotel Armada Petaling Jaya
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lorong Utara C, Seksyen 52, Petaling Jaya 46200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Petaling Jaya
Perth
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

The hotel rate was reasonable and the room I had was very good for the price. I must have had one of the refurbished rooms because it was really quite nice. Breakfast wasn't great but worth the extra few dollars.

Not a great location if one wants to do shopping in Kuala Lumpur.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    47
    58
    13
    12
See reviews for
21
25
18
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Staff are friendly, free internet, and very good breakfasts. Room size was excellent with plenty of room. Short walk to train.

Noisy renovations spolit the stay. Also the taxi's at the hotel seem to charge double what a normal taxi charges (however still very cheap).

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

Got a few rooms on the 10th floor. Facing the LRT tracks. It was really noisy. Trains passing every few minutes from early morning till 1am!!!! Do not get the rooms facing the tracks. I have no clue if the other rooms faced the same issue.

Renovation was taking place on the 20+ floor. Starts about 10am. Though its about 10 floors above, the noise was so unbearable that some of us left the hotel to walkabout. Feedback to frontdesk staff about the noise, understand that they cannot do anything since it's management decision but felt they should not charge an extra RM30(i was informed that they increased the price this year) per room if they are going to put the guest through such inconveniences. This upgrading exercise will go on for sometime.

There's nothing much nearby so if you are a tourist, avoid this hotel as it's inconvenient and you need to take a taxi or public transport to town or shopping areas. i booked the rooms here as i had to attend a dinner at the Overseas Restaurant located within the same compound (on another note, the food and service for Overseas Restuarant at Armada has really deteriorated A LOT)

Room size is OK, the corner room is bigger. Cleanliness is good. Housekeeping response is real slow. Asked for toohbrush, delivered like 6 hours later.

The frontdesk staff was not informative. They do not volunteer information. Instead of telling you that you could get the breakfast vouchers from them and they will only charge it to the room when a voucher is issued, they conveniently offer you a package that includes the breakfast. Anyway, frontdesk gives the impression that they are not empowered and they could not be bothered.

I DO NOT recommend this hotel. NO WAY, unless you are on a business trip, you are going back to the room just to shower and zzzz and your meeting is just a few minutes walk away. Even then, there are other hotels nearby.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the train tracks
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR_Hotel_Armada, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Armada Petaling Jaya, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
Greetings from Hotel Armada Petaling Jaya.

We regret for not meeting your expectation during your stay at our Hotel. Your feedback is important to us for our further improvement in the mentioned areas.

The room renovation is necessary to ensure that we continue to provide the utmost comfort and convenience to our guests.

As for the services provided, all efforts has been done to ensure that it wil not happened again.

Thank you and have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seremban, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

I stayed in Armada for my business trip attending a course just across the hotel. This is an old hotel so I didn't expect much but luckily the room has been renovated.
Car park is okay but if you are a female walking around the hotel alone, some people will just stare at you, don't understand what is the reason. Felt quite uncomfortable with that.
The breakfast area can be improved. I was with my colleagues and even we were there at 8am, it was crowded and a lot of tables were not being cleaned. We have to ask the waiters/waitresses to get the utensils. The staffs have to be trained to clean and set up tables immediately because there are not much tables available.
During the first night, I could heard people slamming the door in the middle of the night and could even heard some sound from next door. Maybe the sound proof is not good enough. That actually disturbed my sleep.
The toilet bowl is having problem where we have to complaint twice.
Overall, it's okay if you are not choosy.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR_Hotel_Armada, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Armada Petaling Jaya, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
Greetings from Hotel Armad Petaling Jaya

Thank you feedback. We regret for the inconveniences that you have experienced during your stay at the Hotel.

The Management is dedicated to provide the untmost comfort and hospitality to our guests. The matters are being looked into, and, we are curently looking into the best possible way to increase the level of sound proof in the guestrooms level.

We are currently completing the room renovation works at our Executive Floors. According to the plan, other areas would be looked into as well, once this is over.

Thank you and have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

My husband and i stayed here with our 14 month toddler recently (28/1/2012). The hotel charges are pretty high and on par with hilton which is just down the road. We were unaware that this hotel does not have a swimming pool. Its quite absurd for a hotel in this age and price range to not have a pool! My daughter was so dissapointed. Also the bathrooms are ancient without a bath tub. And only a shower head fixed to the wall, no mobile shower at all.. imagine bathing a toddler with water pouring from above! It was absolutely terrible and not at all chilkd friendly. The service was efficient but if you are going as a family, do not stay here. Its not worth it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

If you are looking for a 5Star hotel for 3star price,then this is the hotel for you.Located in a beautiful part of Petaling Jaya , Kuala lumpur.-good eating places, good transport system .The rooms are clean, reception staff very polite, kind and very efficient and service with a smile.Breakfast is average could be better.

Room Tip: Speak the reception staff of your choice they will give the best available rooms. Rooms sometimes n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

I was a regular guest at the Hotel Armada over more than three years, when visiting Kuala Lumpur from my work at a university in East Malaysia. Standards at this establishment are consistently high, ranging from the bargain price buffet breakfast with its wide choice to house-keeping which always managed to make up my room in the morning as I asked. As other reviewers have observed, the hotel is well-placed across the road from the high speed rail station for a quick trip into central KL, and within walking distance of diverse shops in Section 14. The only issue I found with the Armada is that its high standards make some other Malaysian hotels I have stayed in seem so uncomfortable. See my reviews for details!

Room Tip: Choose a room - some floors are non-smoking - near the top of this tall building so you can look dow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Armada Petaling Jaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Armada Petaling Jaya

Address: Lorong Utara C, Seksyen 52, Petaling Jaya 46200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Selangor > Petaling District > Petaling Jaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Petaling Jaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Armada Petaling Jaya 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the buzzing heart of Petaling Jaya, Hotel Armada gives you the opportunity to feel and enjoy the tranquility and inner peace of the city – the inner soul of Petaling Jaya. Hotel Armada Petaling Jaya is among the finest 4 star hotel in Petaling Jaya. Situated next to the Federal Highway, Hotel Armada gives you the extra vibe with its 5 minutes walk to the Asia Jaya LRT station. Hop on a bus or taxi just directly opposite the hotel and find your way around town easily, be it the Business District, Industrial Zone, Food Heaven or Shopping Mall Giants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Armada Petaling Jaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Armada Petaling Jaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.