We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pyramid Tower Hotel at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Pyramid Tower Hotel at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pyramid Tower Hotel at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Persiaran Lagoon | Bandar Sunway, Petaling Jaya 47500, Malaysia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
40% Off Anniversary Deal
Ranked #4 of 26 hotels in Petaling Jaya
Putrajaya, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good enough”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We've been staying here for 2 nights. The accessibility is quite strict where you have to swipe your room card in order to get into the elevator. The room is spacious, with basic kitchenette amenities. Clean room as well. Nothing much you can expect though. But staying here giving us the opportunity to shop until the mall closes, and even catch up midnight movies at TGV.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon W, Manager at Pyramid Tower Hotel at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Shuffyzz,

Thank you for your kind feedback. Perhaps on your next visit you can kick-start your evening by visiting New Orleans Bar & Grill at Sunway Resort Hotel& Spa for New Orleans Presents ‘Jazz Live’ that starts from 4 October 2012.

Simon
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    170
    89
    28
    16
See reviews for
128
54
20
132
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Book the hotel as the coach I travel drops and picks me off at Sunway Pyramid. Have to say its a long winding walk from the mall's entrance to the lobby and when you get there you got to be certain you dont get to its sister hotel next door. The room I got too is a maze to get into..after several turns did I finally get to my room. I wouldnt actually recommend it if you are a woman traveller travelling alone, you wouldn't know what lurks at the corner plus its not well lit. But have to admit the communal ironing room and big vending machines with a large selection of soft drinks is a nice touch. Oh and the view at night of the adjacent Sunway water park is amazing from the room.

Room Tip: If you are a woman traveller going solo, ask for a room closer to the lift lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon W, Manager at Pyramid Tower Hotel at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Fistri,

Thank you for the valued feedback. We have communicated your suggestions to our team and will ensure it is taken into account for a better stay experience.

Simon
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany Western Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We had two nights at this hotel on the way home from our Vietnam holiday.After experiencing such beautiful accommodation in Vietnam,the rooms were quite disappointing.They are rather dated and in need of a face lift.Our room faced the buffet downstairs and clatter could be heard from 5 in the morning till quite late at night.The attached shopping mall and theme park are both great and means you have everything under the one roof,however I wouldnt stay here again as I dont think it was very good value.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon W, Manager at Pyramid Tower Hotel at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Jodie T,

We hope that this experience will not deter you from returning to our resort. Please accept our sincere apologies as we strive to improve on our services, moving forward.

Should you require any help with room bookings in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Simon
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stayed here for 1-night during a business trip. Booking was taken care of by the company's Malaysian counterparts. It was a good stay. The room, although felt a bit 'outdated' is clean, quiet & the bed is comfortable. So sleep was really good. Bathroom is sizable, with all the necessary amenities. I don't think there was an in room dining menu; but maybe they do not put too much thought into this because the hotel is connected to the Sunway Pyramid Shopping Mall - and food choices there are pretty great. Another thing to watch for is the hotel is a bit far from the airport, so do consider the travel time carefully. Buffet breakfast selection is quite varied, and is quite good taste wise.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon W, Manager at Pyramid Tower Hotel at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear BebeKumaat,

It’s nice to know that your stay with us was pleasant and that you enjoyed the buffet selection for breakfast at the Atrium Cafe.

In-room dining services are available at the Hotel for you to order in the comforts of your room. Perhaps you can try it the next time you stay with us.

We look forward to having you stay at our resort again.

Have a pleasant day ahead.

Simon,
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Wi-Fi pathetic Speed
Empty Fridge.. No Minibar
Very bad inroom Dining Menu

Location & a mall inside is the only good part. Definitely not worth for business travelers. There are more options than this hotel.

Very bad experience

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon W, Manager at Pyramid Tower Hotel at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear Manojnair82,

Thank you for your feedback. We apologise that your stay here did not meet your expectations. Your comments will be shared with the relevant departments for further improvement.

Simon
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I stayed in a king suite facing inside into the restaurant area. We were there for a business conference in the middle of a holiday season at a holiday destination. Unfortunately it was not good. The room although clean was dated and in need of repair. Hinge on the door was broken. There is no iron in the room so you need to go to the ironing room. The work area is very small and very uncomfortable. This is not a place geared up for the business traveller.

The killer for me was the noise into the room. There was noise from the restaurant from 6 in the morning. There was noise at night with children running through the halls. There was noise between rooms and people yelling between rooms to be quiet. Not pleasant. A couple of the people that were at our event moved to the other sunway hotel, about 50m away, which was much better by all accounts. I tried but they did not have enough rooms available.

The hotel is also way out of the city so we could not escape the area. There is a large shopping centre on premises and a number of eateries around the area but for me as a business traveller that also likes to explore the local area, I could not do this. It is 45minutes at a minimum to get into the city.

It has been by far my worst stay whilst travelling on business.

Positives: really searching here. Breakfast was extensive and good. Gym facilities which is in the other sunway building is huge and very well equipped. Functions rooms were quite good.

Room Tip: Go to the other sunway hotel if you must stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon W, Manager at Pyramid Tower Hotel at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
P2M,

Thanks for your feedback. We apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay. We would like to assure you that your comments will be looked into, as we strive to constantly rise to the expectations of our guests.

Please let us know when you will be visiting us again so that we can make the necessary arrangements to ensure a comfortable stay. Have a pleasant day ahead.

Simon
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajman, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

We stay 3 nights in pyramid and it is more than enough. Every thing was great , from the booking until the check out. The location great u have the access to the mall and sunway lagoon. We found the price very good and we get connected studio room, nice for family stay. From 10am u can hear all the noise from the theam park. The only issue we found is the breakfast and the cleanest of the restorant where they servie the breakfast. Otherwise it is a nice hotel for family vacation. But more than 3 night it will be boring as there are nothing els next to it.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon W, Manager at Pyramid Tower Hotel at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Hi Guestbdor,

Thanks for your comments. We are glad that you had a pleasant experience while staying with us. We constantly work towards providing a better experience for our guest.

Perhaps the next time you visit, you can drop by New Orleans Bar & Grill which is located at our main hotel, Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa for a lively atmosphere filled with Jazz music, from our live band, while you dine.

Let us know if you need assistance to book a table. Looking forward to seeing you and your family again.
Simon , Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pyramid Tower Hotel at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pyramid Tower Hotel at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa

Address: Persiaran Lagoon | Bandar Sunway, Petaling Jaya 47500, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Selangor > Petaling District > Petaling Jaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Petaling Jaya
#4 Luxury Hotel in Petaling Jaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pyramid Tower Hotel at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 35 minutes from Kuala Lumpur International Airport and 25 minutes from the city centre, the 4-star Pyramid Tower Hotel presents an alternative for discerning yet value-conscious business and leisure travelers. It offers 534 Superior rooms with contemporary style of furnishing, fitted with amenities and services including "Take-Out & Go" food and beverage service, a common lounge with iron and ironing board facilities, and ice and beverage vending machines on each guest floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, T4B, AsiaRooms, Travelocity, Otel, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Pyramid Tower Hotel at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pyramid Tower Hotel At Sunway Lagoon Petaling Jaya
Pyramid Hotel At Sunway Lagoon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pyramid Tower Hotel at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.