We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not professional enough.Need to do maintenance more frequent.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Royale Chulan Damansara

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Royale Chulan Damansara to your Saves list
The Royale Chulan Damansara
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2, Jalan PJU 7 / 3, Mutiara Damansara, Petaling Jaya 47810, Malaysia (Formerly The Royale Bintang Damansara)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Petaling Jaya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not professional enough.Need to do maintenance more frequent.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Firstly, the reception's card machine not functioning well. It declined my 3 cards and finally it accepted my payment. However, when I checked back my bank account. I found it I was charged twice the same amount. And now, I'll need to go to bank and settle it personally. It's a trouble for me. If they're professional enough,this wont happened or it could be solved before I leave the hotel.
Besides, the air-conditional wasn't functioning well. i called the receptions and waited for 15minutes. But still no one shown. Then, I tried to call reception again and again but no one answer the phone. Finally, I walked down to reception and talk to them. After that, they only sent people to fix the problem.
The most important issue was!! The phone rang / make sound few times in the wee hours!!!! The
My parents couldn't sleep well because of that!!!
That was an unpleasant experience!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRBD, Public Relations Manager at The Royale Chulan Damansara, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
On behalf of the Management, I would like to apologize for the unfortunate experience you endured during your stay with us. Rest assured that corrective action is being taken to improve the service and to train our staff to be more pro-active in addressing to our guests’ requests such as yours. It is our hope that you will give us another chance to serve you better in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    100
    47
    15
    8
See reviews for
77
26
6
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Overall experience was delightful. From checking-in, room facilities, ambiance and settings to the executive lounge (11th floor), everything was well-organised.

The room is spacious, neat, clean and tidy. The hotel is conveniently located and linked to The Curve.

Simply delightful and I enjoyed my 3-day stay at The Royale Bintang Damansara very much.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalebintang, Manager at The Royale Chulan Damansara, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Dcc78

Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip. We are glad to note that you did have a pleasant stay with Royale Bintang. We are happy to be able to meet your expectations! We do hope to see you more often! Please do contact me at royalebintang@gmail.com when you next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This is probably the only hotel that when I stepped into the room, I'm overwhelmed with joy.
The room is excellent. Big, clean, good and nice furniture. The bed is very comfortable.
The toilet is big and clean too.
The wifi works well.
Each day we will receive a plate of fruits complimentary from the hotel.
We asked for connecting room; king size bed, 3 single beds and all these are arranged with efficiency.
The staff was efficient. The housekeeping supervisor also came to check on the chambermaids work.
From the reception, housekeeping, cafe, ballroom.. they were all meticulous.
Actually I was really impressed of the ballroom and discussion table settings.
My son enjoyed playing "laser tag". But he did not like the ice skating ring. It was small, crowded, and the ice quality was poor.
The infinity pool is fantastic. It has a great view! The design of the pool is good as it has various resting points.
The hotel was directly linked to many shopping centres. There was so many eating outlets.
Unfortunately those restaurants standards were pretty low.
It is quite a good place for shopping. But 2 nights should be sufficient to conqueor those shopping centres.

Room Tip: Non Smoking Floor. My friends said that the smoking floor and its rooms are quite unbearable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalebintang, Manager at The Royale Chulan Damansara, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear SerinChng,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip. We are glad to note that you did have a pleasant stay with Royale Bintang. We are happy to be able to meet your expectations! We do hope to see you more often! Please do contact me at royalebintang@gmail.com when you next stay with us.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The stay is characterized with one which has Hotel Staffers who are both effective and efficient.

Having an issue with the WiFi from the room, the Hotel's IT Engineer was able to resolve the issue and did not leave the issue as "It's a pity it's faulty, you will have to have a stay with no internet" respond which is the "Normal Standard" in the Hotelier industry.

The Room Service is excellent too. The portions are huge for its price and are done quite quickly.

The breakfast served is one of the best that any Hotel could have done it. There are ample varieties with a remarkable hot station serving noodles and Indian pan cake. What is truly intriguing is that the taste is superb. Taste is actually one of the many areas which many Hotels ignore about "Cookhouse" based breakfast, ready to serve multitude number of guests with just an objective of filling their stomachs.

I am truly delighted with the Hotel's emphasis on Taste.

The Swimming Pool mimicks the Infinity Pool found on Marina Bay Sands. Quite nice and modern.

Consequently, with its good location and multitudes of playgrounds for children around the location, families can venture with ease with no worries about traffic or the young ones being bored.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalebintang, Public Relations Manager at The Royale Chulan Damansara, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear WanderingGuyInt

Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip. We are glad to note that you did have a pleasant stay with Royale Bintang. We are happy to be able to meet your expectations! We do hope to see you more often! Please do contact me at royalebintang@gmail.com when you next stay with us.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Saw this hotel on the net. Understand it was open in July 2012, so decided to try it out.

If you are not familiar with Mutiara Damansara road, it's a bit confusing and with another sister hotel, Royale Bintang The Curve just about 200m away. A lot of people will actually end up in the wrong hotel of the same name.

The car park is great, very brightly lit and the ramps are quite wide also compare to most hotel in KL. The check in is swift and the receptionist is very helpful. One may find this funny - the grand ballroom lobby and the hotel lobby is the same so whenever there is a function and before the dinner, the lobby is pack with people. The decor is very pastel in colors, like the English Classical style but a more simplified version. It's actually very soothing and nice.

The room has the same type of decor and its not big but it's sufficient - good size. Was told about 350sq.ft including the bathroom, there is no bathtub just a separate shower and an enclose w.c. area. Lighting is perfect in the room, not to dark unlike some hotels.

Complimentary buffet breakfast was inclusive in our room. It was served on the 1st floor at the coffee house. The spread is nothing to shout about, just like most hotels in KL. There is the continental breakfast, congee, nasi Lemak, noodles, roti canai, eggs station and fruits . Sufficient should be the word.

As this is only an over night stay, we didn't visit the gym and swimming pool on the 3rd floor. There is also an ice skating rink on the 1st floor. And the hotel has a covered link to a mall next to it which can be linked with covered walkway to The Curve Shopping Mall, IPC and IKEA... It's very convenient.

All in all, a great place to stay for me for the price of less than RM300. We are definitely coming back again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRBD, Public Relations Manager at The Royale Chulan Damansara, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your review.

Do come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Our trip to KL was primarily for going to Kidzania. For this purpose, this hotel is Fantastic! It's one of the newer hotels in the area and walking distance to Kidzania as well as lots of shops and restaurants in the many malls nearby. We did not need to go anywhere else.
During the process of room reservation, Ms Leanne Chan was extremely helpful in providing information and making the reservations for us. We had booked a Stay and Play package.
A week before our stay, we were informed that we would be upgraded to the Duplex Suite due to the hotel being overbooked. It was a pleasant surprise indeed.
There was some hiccups to our package vouchers when we arrived, but these were eventually ironed out without any issues and the staff were polite and helpful throughout.
Our family enjoyed the pool, though it was small, it was pretty.
The rooms were large and very clean and we enjoyed staying there very much. For those who need wifi, there is free wifi too.
Variety at breakfast was good. Though not everything is to our taste, but overall, there is more than enough for us to have an enjoyable and full breakfast.
We will be back again for sure and will recommend it to everyone! It is one of the better hotels we have stayed in in Malaysia.
Once again, thank you Ms Leanne for your excellent service and also to all the staff there. Keep it up!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRBD, Public Relations Manager at The Royale Chulan Damansara, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Really happy to hear that you and family had a pleasant stay with us.

Do come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Nice and modern hotel. Room clean and because it's next to the Curve, there are lots of restaurants and shops. Air con is quite cold throughout the hotel.

I had booked a non smoking superior room but as non smoking rooms were not available they
upgrade me to a club room.

Checking in and out was smooth.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalebintang, Public Relations Manager at The Royale Chulan Damansara, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear 118_Sunny_118

Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip. We are glad to note that you did have a pleasant stay with Royale Bintang. We are happy to be able to meet your expectations! We do hope to see you more often! Please do contact me at royalebintang@gmail.com when you next stay with us.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royale Chulan Damansara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royale Chulan Damansara

Address: 2, Jalan PJU 7 / 3, Mutiara Damansara, Petaling Jaya 47810, Malaysia (Formerly The Royale Bintang Damansara)
Location: Malaysia > Selangor > Petaling District > Petaling Jaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Petaling Jaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Royale Chulan Damansara 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your The Royale Chulan Damansara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royale Chulan Damansara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.