We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room - good restaurant - great location for work” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eastin Hotel Petaling Jaya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Eastin Hotel Petaling Jaya to your Saves list
Eastin Hotel Petaling Jaya
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   13, Jalan 16/11 | Pusat Dagang Seksyen 16, Petaling Jaya 46350, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Petaling Jaya
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Nice room - good restaurant - great location for work”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I usually stay at the Eastin PJ for work trip:
- it is well located near Petaling Jaya, Shah Alam
so if your job takes you to go around Kuala Lumpur and you dont need to go to center. that hotel is great
If you drive, it is easily accessible.
there is a big car park at the basement
- the room and bed are really nice
- there are a few restaurants.
in case you wish to have more option, bangsar is nearby and provide all the restaurant that you need.

Room Tip: Make sure that you mention whether you want a king size bed or a twin bed. Also do not forget to me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane S, General Manager at Eastin Hotel Petaling Jaya, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Stoufensen

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor .

I am delighted you stay with us on your business trips & would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your favourable comments on our facilities & services offered.

Wishing you a successful year ahead & look forward to welcoming you back soon to the Eastin Hotel Petaling Jaya .

Warm Regards

Jane Suppiah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    197
    83
    8
    10
See reviews for
48
48
38
134
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I stayed here in mid December , upon checking in mid afternoon after a hot hard slog around the golf course I was informed sorry we have no running water due to a burst pipe, but it should be restored in about an hour. Come 10pm at night still no running water in rooms, dinner plans cancelled, grumpy girlfriend, you get the picture.
Whilst I appreciate that the incident was beyond the control of the hotel not to even mention it when we checked out in the morning nor respond to an email I sent via the we site is appalling customer service. Feel like it's a case of they have my money and they've ran...
Hotel itself is fine if a little isolated location wise, but due to above will not be returning nor recommending to associates.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane S, General Manager at Eastin Hotel Petaling Jaya, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear stockyinoz

Thank you for taking time to review your stay at Eastin Hotel Petaling Jaya .

Please accept my sincere apologies on the inconvenience & frustration caused by a burst water pipe in December. Our Engineering team worked round the clock to rectify the problem & water was restored to all parts of the hotel by 11pm.

Once again , our sincere apologies .

I am appreciative that you think the hotel itself is fine . Within a 1.5km to 3km radius are shopping malls , entertainment & dining outlets . For the convenience of hotel guests , there is a complimentary pre-scheduled shuttle service to these malls as well as to KL Sentral train station .

I do sincerely hope you will give us another chance to restore your confidence in us & look forward to the opportunity of welcoming both you and your girlfriend back .

Best Wishes for the year ahead .

Warm Regards

Jane Suppiah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
246 helpful votes 246 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Stayed here for convenience because my course was being conducted at the same hotel.
Amenities were alright although the sheets look a bit dated. Food though, was great and there was quite a variety for breakfast and lunch! Loved it!

What stumped me though, was that the sauna was only for men! I didn't ask why but this has to be the first hotel I've stayed at that didn't offer sauna for its lady guests. We are after all, paying guests. Logistics wise - you will have to take a cab to get to KL Central and it cost me RM10.00 one way.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane S, General Manager at Eastin Hotel Petaling Jaya, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Tigerlily5001

Thank you for your recent review of the Eastin Hotel Petaling Jaya .

The sauna is outsourced to an independent spa operator & their spa facilities are a male domain.

I would like to take this opportunity to highlight the hotel offers a complimentary pre-scheduled shuttle service to nearby shopping malls as well as to the KL Sentral train station . Our Concierge team will be ever-so -ready to provide you with more comprehensive details on request.

I do hope you will return to stay with us & look forward to seeing you at the Eastin Hotel Petaling Jaya.

Best Wishes for 2014 .

Warm Regards

Jane Suppiah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

The service is superb! I have run out my drinking water in my room, but once I asked for reception help, the waiter sent me 3 more bottles to my room in 15 minutes ^^. A lot of food choices in breakfast, and it is delicious. I like the FOX movie premium channel provided in tv. Internet speed is fast! Even no issue for me to gaming. Iron equipment is prepared in wardrobe, thus I can make myself dress well for my appointment everyday. Laundry is easy to do it and efficient.

The shower water is quite hard to adjust to the hot area, lucky the hot water temperature still acceptable, probably it is my room problem only. The pillow is too soft for me.

Overall, this is a very good hotel! I am looking forward for my next business trip to stay in Eastin Hotel again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane S, General Manager at Eastin Hotel Petaling Jaya, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Involker

I can’t thank you enough for your very gracious review of our services & facilities .

Encouraging and appreciate comments such as yours go a long way in motivating & spurring our team to do better.

The team & I look forward to welcoming you back to the Eastin Hotel Petaling Jaya in 2014 .

Best Wishes for a successful & rewarding year ahead.

Warm Regards

Jane Suppiah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

A very well maintained hotel. We got an upgrade to the executive level, nice room with complete facilities. They were kind enough to offer us a baby cot. The breakfast buffet was rm49++, great variety. Oh and free wifi in the room. This place would be ideal for those on a business trip.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane S, General Manager at Eastin Hotel Petaling Jaya, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Leyana W

Thank you for your kind comments & review of our hotel .

Yes , it is definitely an ideal hotel for those on a business trip & we are indeed positioned to be the preferred business hotel for business travellers in Petaling Jaya .

I certainly hope we will be your preferred hotel of choice in 2014 & the years to come .

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Eastin Hotel Petaling Jaya .

Best Wishes for 2014.

Warm Regards
Jane Suppiah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

Overall experience was good.
1. Staff were friendly and
2. rooms were spacious and comfortable.
2. Requested for a baby cot and it was a pretty nice cot. My baby slept like she was at home.

Only cons were:
1. Kettle was not working
2. 1 of the light bulbs by the bed side not working
3. Safe deposit was not working

The staff had to come over a few times and my baby was woken up and our dinner was delayed as we needed to put our stuff in the safe deposit.
Having said that, the manager felt bad and gave us a pair of complementary breakfast.
Nothing much to complain about.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane S, General Manager at Eastin Hotel Petaling Jaya, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear joetan52

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and that you found the overall experience good.

I am happy to note that our team resolved the issue you had with our in – room safe deposit box. I am sorry that as a result of this you were delayed for your dinner appointment but more importantly your baby was woken up. Having had 2 children of my own , I totally empathize with the stress (for both parent & child) of putting young ones back to sleep again.

However, having said this I am happy to note she found the cot comfortable & "slept like she was at home ".

Your comment on the kettle & little bulb have been duly noted & will through our preventive maintenance program be addressed & rectified .

I hope you will return to stay with us soon & look forward to welcoming you back to the Eastin Hotel Petaling Jaya soon .

Best Wishes to you and your loved ones for 2014 .

Warm Regards

Jane Suppiah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

The hotel is nice-- impressive structure, nice, big rooms, comfy duvet. My only concern is that it is quite far from everything. As a business traveler I like walking around or exploring nearby areas after a long day. This however is not possible with Eastin as I am not even sure I would see anything nearby (other than golf course!).

they have shuttle to 1Utama and other malls though but still, this is quite limited time only. For some reasons, I also had problems with wifi in room as I always get disconnected.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane S, General Manager at Eastin Hotel Petaling Jaya, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear 96C

Thank you for taking the time to review the Eastin Hotel Petaling Jaya .

I have taken note of your favourable comments with regards the hotel.

I do agree the perfect way to de-stress after a hard day’s work is to go for a walk . We do have available a joggers/walkers map giving you details of walking paths surrounding the hotel. This is available from our Concierge counter & the team will be delighted to provide further details .

I do apologise that you found your WIFI being disconnected. We run daily “health” checks to ensure that our WIFI connectivity is running at peak capacity . Let me assure you we place great importance on this & act immediately to rectify any issues brought to our attention.

Hope to be able to welcome you back to the Eastin Hotel Petaling Jaya soon.

Best Wishes for a successful 2014.

Warm Regards
Jane Suppiah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eastin Hotel Petaling Jaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastin Hotel Petaling Jaya

Address: 13, Jalan 16/11 | Pusat Dagang Seksyen 16, Petaling Jaya 46350, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Selangor > Petaling District > Petaling Jaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Petaling Jaya
#4 Luxury Hotel in Petaling Jaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Eastin Hotel Petaling Jaya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eastin Hotel Petaling Jaya hotel is a business class hotel of international standards. Situated strategically on Jalan Damansara, an upmarket location nestled conveniently within the vicinity of golf courses, shopping malls and office buildings, it is designed to suit your needs as a business or leisure travelers. Enjoy the warm Eastin hospitality and experience our passion for efficiency and service excellence. Catering to an array of travelers and corporations, we provide an unparalleled experience coupled with efficient services, amenities and facilities to fulfill the needs of our much valued guests. Our room is more than just 'deluxe,' it is a well designed, contemporary home with warmth, ultra modern facilities and glorious space to greet you. With a combination of warm hospitality, you also get a sense that you have reached the one place where business becomes a pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia and HostelBookers so you can book your Eastin Hotel Petaling Jaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Petaling Jaya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eastin Hotel Petaling Jaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.