We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fine, but not more” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel to your Saves list
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No 2 Jalan Barat, Petaling Jaya 46200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in Petaling Jaya
Frankfurt am Main, Germany
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
146 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
380 helpful votes 380 helpful votes
“fine, but not more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Tripadvisor caters to whining on a highish level, and once one starts complaining about standard Hiltons, one might want to question one's demands. And surely, this applies to me as well. This is a good hotel, the rooms are fine, and yet - as one can see - the excitement is somehow missing. This hotel has a lot of ***** features, but there is a strong **** touch. I guess one of the reasons is that this is a hotel in KL, famous for it's dirt-cheap genuine luxury hotels with not just good but fabulous breakfast spreads (the Shangri-La flagship comes to mind), and that downtown KL there is a really excellent, true ***** Hilton. And plus, this one is in PJ; you do need to take a cab or the LRT everywhere.

Basically, I would recommend the hotel only for those whose work is in or near PJ (as was the case for me), in one of the corporations or universities in the area. "YOLO" and the price difference between this and one of the downtown KL palaces is really marginal in the end. But if you are booked into the Hilton PJ, nothing could be further from a catastrophe.

Just a few practical tips: I was on the 15th floor and soundproofing was great. The pool is cold and weirdly set up; not ideal for swimming. Just across the main entrance (cross the street but be careful) there is an ATM (none in the lobby), a supermarket, and a bit to the left a branch of the Sayid Indian restaurants which is fantastic (on a street food level). The sandwiches etc. in the hotel itself are good and cheap as well. Laundry service, as usual in a Hilton, is overpriced and not very thorough. The shower, as has often been mentioned, invariably does flood the bathroom floor because of bad cubicle design; for the first shower you take, watch it because slipping and crashing down on the floor is a real danger (no handbars or anything).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    235
    74
    29
    6
See reviews for
72
77
37
325
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We stayed at the Hilton for conveniency, we were part of a large party going to a wedding and that was the hotel of choice.
I had a particularly bad experience with the costumer service. As mentioned before we were part of a large group and a deal had been made for the price of the rooms. When we were exchanging e-mails with the staff for the booking they informed us one price, that fitted budget and we decided to stay there since it would't make such a big difference.
Time comes to pay and they asked us more than 3x the value quoted in their e-mails. It took us over 1h our to check out and we had a flight to catch.
And after 5 days we left they asked to charge to our credit card the remaining amount because they had made a mistake when quoting the price. A Hotel the size of the Hilton should own to their own mistakes, we where there for the conveniency, expecting to find there the same consistency you find in every Hilton. Some other member of our party were over charged (the normal price without the deal that had been agreed) and one of them had already payed for his stay and they had no sign of his booking. We were lucky that there was not much of a language barrier, I don't even want to think what would have happened otherwise.

The rooms are big, but when you take a shower the whole bathroom gets soaked. They have massive windows that look out into the city but you can't see a thing due to dirt. They also have a fan system in the room that is impossible to turn off and makes a hell of a noisy, making the sleep restless.

Breakfast was nice and the staff there were lovely and courteous.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Hotel room is nice & modern but found dead baby roaches in the bath tub - hotel compensated with free lunch on our departure day. Hotel lobby smelt of tobacco - not good first impression of the hotel. In-room internet is payable when most of other 4 stars hotels provide complimentary internet. Requested for extra pillow & towel prior check-in but they did not provide when we arrive even though they've confirmed via email. When we call on the request, the operator sounded sacastic and not pleasant. Restaurant staff was clueless when asked for public free wifi password.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

Breakfast is a bit disappointing for a Hilton. Limited selection, sugary juices and mediocre bread.

Rooms can be noisy because of the pub on the ground floor.

Service is good and rooms are nice and clean. Except for the water pressure in the higher floors which could be higher.

Good value in general, would probably come again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

My first stay in Hilton PJ, - thought it was a good hotel with good service unfortunately it was not as my expectation.

Breakfast-Poor service - I has been staying for more than 4 weeks there, I walk in the breakfast are, non of the staff service you to the desk as well as no attendance would like to asking you what is your room number, feel stupid to wait to be seated at the breakfast counter. no staff will walk to you to ask what you would like to drink, you need to wak to the coffee corner to order for your own cappacinno. when you order from staff, they have no reaction to you, just quietly...I feel like they are not really happy to servicing customer. To avoid hassle, I better self service.
Most of the plate look sustain or oilly...gave a feeling of not clean...food choice, everyday watermelon and ppineapple, nasi lemak, fried beehoon/yellow noodles...not much choices. Very upset.

Room and facilities - very good and complete. Room very big and brand new and not noisy. I gave a thumb up.

Lift - The life a big dangerous, I has been stuck in the lift for twice after 4 week of stay.

Hotel - Don't give a customer review form for customer to review for improvement.

Overall - It look grand but decent service only. If PJ have better hotel than this, I will not choose this hotel because of the poor service from staff. Not friendly, no greeting, no helpful from my experience.

Room Tip: If PJ have better hotel than this, I will not choose this hotel because of the poor service from sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Good rooms, good kitchen, excellent service, a bit noisy because the location ( nearby highway and construction site) high speed WiFi. Bar with live music, but low sound quality :(( Dirty windows, can't see outside. Very friendly personal !

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeles City, Philippines
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I had a wonderful experience with my stay in Hilton PJ. Mr Swazan of front desk was able to assist me properly with my booking. Room was good, breakfast was fantastic, I felt very safe and people are friendly. room was very spaceous and nice. Even if i got just the standard room I felt like its more than that. I was also welcomed well by the executive lounge rep Ms BEVERLY. Even if I was not staying in an executive room she did her best to make me feel welcome. It just shows that Hilton is all about providing quality service to each and every guest. Thank you so much for the wonderful experience and If i had the chance to go back to KL Malaysia, I would be staying still in Hilton Hotel , that's for sure. Thanks Mr Swazan , Ms Beverly and Hilton PJ, see you again soon. ^_^

Room Tip: any room will do ^_^
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel

Address: No 2 Jalan Barat, Petaling Jaya 46200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Selangor > Petaling District > Petaling Jaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Petaling Jaya
#1 Luxury Hotel in Petaling Jaya
#1 Business Hotel in Petaling Jaya
#3 Best Value Hotel in Petaling Jaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 546
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Petaling Jaya is located in the heart of the business and leisure districts, 15 minutes away from downtown Kuala Lumpur. The Kuala Lumpur International Airport is 45 minutes away by car, while the closest Light Rail Transit (LRT) station is just a short walk away. The hotel is a stylish urban retreat that leaves a lasting impression. Fine dining options, attentive service and Malaysian hospitality add to the experience, while nearby recreational and shopping facilities provide entertainment for all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton International Petaling Jaya
Hilton Petaling Jaya
Petaling Jaya Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.