We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for” 2 of 5 stars
Review of i-Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added i-Hotel to your Saves list
i-Hotel
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   No.60, Jalan PJU 5 / 20D, Petaling Jaya 47810, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 28 Petaling Jaya B&B and Inns
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012 via mobile

The room was tiny, and the bed not particularly comfortable, and the noise from the highway is undeniable. But the hotel is cheap, airco worked, people were friendly and the surroundings - albeit a bit weird with this deserted 'strand' area full of bars and restaurants - was convenient.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    4
    4
    3
    8
See reviews for
Families
0
5
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

I booked the deluxe room but did not realise that the room is so small until i got into the room. Having seen the size of the room, i went down to check with the reception if there's any bigger room available. And they showed me the executive suite which was slightly bigger with more space. I was more than happy to change to that room. Overall, the staff was friendly and helpful. It is a small hotel. Good for short trips around Damansara area.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

the room i had was queen sized bed.. like the tv and toilet.. not to forget the side bed lights which i can on just 1 touch.. the only thing i don't quite like about my room is that there's no window.. so the room will be completely dark if i did not on the lights.

apart from the window.. i love this hotel.. i like the painting they put in my room too. will be there for second visit again

Room Tip: get the deluxe room.. the one with window as your roof!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

It was my second visit to this hotel, I'm extremely happy with their friendly services there. I mean for a small to medium size business like i-Hotel, they provide professional staffs and friendly services. I'll definitely stick with this hotel whenever I have a trip in Selangor or KL.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 2 days in September 2011. We choose this hotel because it is very cheap (and at the same time still have some basic amenities) and it is in Petaling Jaya.

+ + The Location + +

The hotel is in a new area of Petaling Jaya about 1 hour drive from the KLIA / LCCT airport and depending on the traffic about 20 min drive to the 1 Utama shopping centre and about 30 min to the Sunway Shopping Centre. Unfortunately there is no public transport nearby and there is only off-street parking available. There are a few local restaurants within 10 mins walk but apart from that you will have to ask the reception to call a Taxi for you.

+ + The Hotel + +

The hotel is a budget style hotel. It has a 24 hour reception and a lift. It comes with free WiFi although the connection speed is sometimes horrible. Check out time is 12 noon and the hotel will charge you around RM15 extra per hour for late checkout. There is no restaurant, no gym, no swimming pool ... in short it is a hotel just for staying.

+ + The Room + +

We stayed in a Deluxe room.

The room is small but still have space for a double bed, 1 bedside table and you can still put 1 suit case on the floor. It has a bathroom (shower only) and a TV. There is no wardrobe but there are hangers on the wall for you to hang your clothings. There is a telephone for you to call reception and house keeping.

The hotel provides 2 clean towels everyday and the bathroom has 2 dispensers for the shampoo and the soap.

It has hot water with average water flow.

There is an aircon (free) and I think it is powerful enough.

There is no hair dryer but you can request one for free.

Overall the room is clean but nothing fancy.


* * Things I like about this hotel * *

1. The price - Within this price range in PJ, I think this is the best hotel.

2. The aircon - Its free to use and it is powerful.

3. The water - Its free - you get 2 x water bottles daily.

4. WiFi Internet - Its free too ! Just ask the reception for the password.

* * Things I don't like about this hotel * *

1. The noise - Due to the hotel's poor door design, most people have to slam shut their doors which can be noisy during check out time. It is also a bad news if you are staying next to someone who would like to talk all night long.

2. The Location - It is in the middle of no where. Forget about bus, LRT or train. Taxi or get your own car.

3. TV - The TV reception is horrible and unless you understand malay, there are not many choices.

= = Overall = =

With the price that I was paying, this is a very good hotel. It meet most of the basic needs for a basic hotel. Unlike some other budget hotels which charge you extra for air-con, towel and soap, 2 x water bottles daily and internet, this hotel provides all these things to you for free.

Note: There is a RM 50 deposit requires on check-in at the time of the writing.

Room Tip: Ask for a room next to no one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

the hotel's website have made a mistake in Feb. some guy booked 0RM room on hotel's official website, the hotel do not admit these bookings, then someone write a bad review of the hotel on tripadvisor.com, then the hotel manager replied "However, it was our mistake. We will be honoring all bookings that took place on hotel website during our mess up", all these words are bulls.hit, when you check in this hotel, they would say "I give 50% discount, thank you". what's the word "honoring" means in hotel manager's dictionary???

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at i-Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2011
We would like to apologise as we are in the midst of transition, we will email our promotion for this matter individually latest by May 15, 2011.

After discussion with top management, we will be honoring all bookings that took place on hotel website during our mess up. Kindly re-confirm the booking once you have received the confirmation email.

We apologise to anyone that was confused and/or frustrated during out little hiccup and thank you all for being such great guest. We hope you continue to support i-Hotel. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Petaling Jaya hotels

Beijing, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

on it's official site(http://www.i-hotel.com.my/), when we booked superior room at 25 February 2011,it told us:"Good news! The dates you specified are available!Rates starting from RM0.00 per night." and when we confirmed it, the total price display was rm0.00. (at that time, when we searched the deluxe room's price display is rm108.00, so we consider it was a promotion about the superior room's price RM0.00) so we booked superior rooms, had resevated and confirmed it. the hotel had sent booking confirmation (Ref: 01671,01673,01679,01680,01682,01683)very quickly, but two days later, the hotel deleted "superior room" type on it's official site, after we asked it twice,the hotel didn't admit it, the hotel told us:"There are something goes wrong to our system. Please refer the price RM98.00" but the system's question is the hotel's question, we believe it is price fraud, not system bug.we need the hotel keep its promise, let us check in no another additional money.OK? ourbooking confirmation Ref NO. is 01671,01673,01679,01680,01682,01683.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at i-Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2011
Well, we made a big mistake in our pricing engine that capped every booking on the site at RM0.00. The mistake started at 25/2/2011. When we figured out the mistake was happening, we had to shut down the site for a bit until we got the pricing problem fixed.

While we’re sure this was a great deal for guests, it was inadvertent, and we took a big loss so far. However, it was our mistake. We will be honoring all bookings that took place on hotel website during our mess up. We apologize to anyone that was confused and/or frustrated during out little hiccup and thank you all for being such great guest. We hope you continue to support i-Hotel. We will email our promotion for this matter individually.

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to i-Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about i-Hotel

Address: No.60, Jalan PJU 5 / 20D, Petaling Jaya 47810, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Selangor > Petaling District > Petaling Jaya
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Petaling Jaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — i-Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
i-Hotel, a boutique hotel, boasts of a very unique and distinctive classic contemporary theme. With our slogan "Your Ideal Place To Stay," our aim is to provide a 5 star service & accommodation at a very affordable pricing. Soft lighting, soothing and gentle furnishing & decor provide perfect relaxation in all 35 rooms. All rooms are fully installed with contemporary amenity and equipment to ensure you a relaxing stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Venere, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your i-Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
i Hotel Petaling Jaya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage i-Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.