We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good except for transport” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tune Hotel Kota Damansara

Save Saved
You added Tune Hotel Kota Damansara to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tune Hotel Kota Damansara
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3A&5, Main Tower, Sunsuria Avenue, Persiaran Mahogani | Kota Damansara PJU5, Petaling Jaya 47810 , Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 26 hotels in Petaling Jaya
sarawak, malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Good except for transport”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

Overall the hotel is clean and comfortable. We notice that the bedsheet being changed everyday if u placed the said card provided by hotel on the bed. The bathroom is just nice. There is no problem with the water pressure and heater.
There are lots of eating places opposite the hotel, ranging from kopitiam to cafeteria. There are also mamak stall.
The staff are friendly and helpful. We having problem with our aircond and without explaining much to the counter staff, she helped to add back the hours.
The only DRAWBACK is public transport. Due to the Kota Damansara is a terrible jam area, most of the taxi refuse to fetch us or with HIGH charges. Besides, it is difficult to call for taxi. We need to wait for 1.5hrs to get a taxi.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tunehotelsdotcom, Manager at Tune Hotel Kota Damansara, responded to this review, October 19, 2010
Thank you for completing a Trip Advisor Review on your recent visit to our hotel.

Glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and thank you very much for all your positive comments.

All our properties are always located centrally, all at extremely affordable prices.
Kota Damansara is located within the affluent neighborhood, plays home to myriad shopping dining and entertainment establishments, most notably IKEA (located in Ikano Power Centre Shopping Mall), The Curve Shopping Mall, 1Utama Shopping Centre, and the latest addition neighborhood mall, Sunway Giza. Thus, this explains the heavy traffic at certain hours of the day.

Besides the cab, you could take the Rapid KL bus service or you could simply make arrangements with our concessionaire transportation provider, Golden Holidays situated at our hotel lobby.

Thank you for taking time with this to share your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back some time in the future

Have a pleasant day

Regards,
Sharon-Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    62
    34
    11
    9
See reviews for
43
36
20
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Konstanz
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

I stayed one month in the hotel, for business reasons. During that time I had to change the rooms four times. The first time someone had smoked in the room and they where too incompetent to open the windows to let the smoke get out. In the second the electricity didn't work. In the third there was no hot water coming out of the shower and in the fourth the air con didn't work.

The staff is quite friendly but highly incompetent. There where a lot of construction work on a Saturdays!!! Starting at 8 am in the morning until late in the evening. Apparently they where not able to do this during the week. I complaint, but they where so incompetent, that they couldn't do anything about this. And they said, they had nothing to do with that (it was on their premises!!!) I had to do some work for the company, which was impossible. They didn't even reduce the roomrates though or give another recompensation... Impossible.

The internet didn't work for three weeks. What kind of hotel is this which can not even provide internet? They do not have wifi, they provide the guests with a cable. The internetconnection is so awefully slow, you can't barely work with it.

The hotel is supposed to be quite new. However.. the bathrooms are getting already mouldy, see pictures.

The showers are not hot at all, at best lukewarm.

The room cleaning is horrible, I found, after the cleaning, many black hairs in the bed, which didn't come from me. One time, when i changed the room, I had to sleep in an unmade bed. They didn't changed the sheets before I went in. This was disgusting. And because it was in the middle in the night, they wouldn't do anything about it.

It's ok, that you have to pay for everything you need extra, because you know this before you check in. However.. it is not ok, to cheat on the guests. When I wanted to recharge the aircondition, they simply erased the 4 hours, which where still on my air con account (you buy aircon for 12 or 24 hours). Only after a long discussion they gave me back the 4 hours.

Their English is not the best. If there are some problems, they pretend they do not understand. And problems are not rare in this hotel.

And the hotel is very out of the loop of everything. It is very hard, to get a taxi it is impossible to go from there by public transport.

I can not recommand this hotel at all. Better take the better hotel, but for almost the same rates, around the corner. My home hotel it is called and they have much more service included.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tunehotelsdotcom, Manager at Tune Hotel Kota Damansara, responded to this review, October 6, 2010
Hi There,

I sincerely appreciate your feedback regarding your stay. All guest feedback allows us the opportunity to improve our services and facilities and we readily welcome both positive and constructive comments.

Firstly, to address the issue of the construction noise, our hotel at Kota Damansara occupies only level 3A & 5 of Sansuria Avenue, thus having less control over the external construction.

However, i note that the building management had sent out a reminder for strict compliance that all construction works to be carried out from 8am - 5pm only.

Indeed, we do not have a WIFI connection but a wired internet connection. Similarly, this can be purchased at the front desk.

If the condition of the rooms were unsatisfactory or the shower wasn't hot, you could always refer to the front desk for assistance and they would be able to change you to a different room, should there be one available.

The bed sheets are changed once every two days, alternatively you may place the "green leaf" tag on your bed and the housekeeping team would change your sheets during their scheduled visits. Once again, the front desk would be able to assist you with this.

I have noted your comments regarding the air-con units, I would like to apologize if in anyway we fell short in this respect; to clarify, this was due to some technical issues, and this has since been rectified.

To get around, a few options, you could take a cab, the Rapid Kl bus service - the bus stop is a 10 minute walk from the hotel or you could make arrangements with our concessionaire transportation provider, Golden Holidays.

In any case we apologize sincerely for this unpleasantness marring your stay - thank you once again for highlighting the matter to us for our action.

We hope that we will have the sincere pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Thank You.

Warm Regards,
Sharon - Customer Care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

Since December 2008 I have stayed at the following Tune Hotels: KL (ex downtown), Kuta Bali, Penang, Danga Bay JB and Legian Bali. I am also holding 6 future bookings with Tune. From my experience I consider I am in a position to comment/compare to other Tune Hotels. I would always return to the other Tune Hotels I have stayed, but not this one. Minimum public bus times to Tune, K.Damansara is 1 hour from KL Sentral/Pasar Seni. At busy/peak periods this becomes 1 1/2 hours, From the golden triangle area add on another 15 minutes to these times. I was aware of the Kota Damansara location but never considered the distance times were as great as this. To connect to this hotel from LCCT took me 2 1/2 hours by public transport. 10 minute walk to the nearest bus stop. I paid RM22/night for my 5 night stay which I considered to be excellent value when booking. The hotel is located in an industrial park so I expect Tune converted what was office space to Tune Hotel. The 'power shower' slogan Tune include in their 'concept' is missing here. The hot water system is a standard wall mounted instantaneous system with water pressure very average. No hot water in the hand basin. I asked for, and was given, a room with windows however the windows were 'tek screwed' so as not to be opened. From previous guests it was apparent that these screws had been removed, then replaced. I did the same for fresh air. When enquiring with staff about public buses I was handed a standard printout from KL Rapid bus with no explanation. 'Bus stop' out the front was the only assistance i was offered. Staff should become more aware of public transport arrangements to assist guests. Ideal hotel for those with a car as parking is unlimited but for the budget traveler who uses public transport- NO!
A tip for those who intend to stay here and use public transport: commute between Tune Hotel and Kelana Jaya LRT by bus, then LRT elsewhere. This could save you up to 1/2 hour during peak times. Staff should have mentioned this to me but being savvy with the KL transport system, I was able to work this one out myself.
This hotel lets the standard down for Tune Hotel and I will not go back!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tunehotelsdotcom, Manager at Tune Hotel Kota Damansara, responded to this review, September 23, 2010
Hi There,

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor. I really appreciate the candid feedback.

Tune Hotels.com Kota Damansara Kuala Lumpur directly opposite Dataran Sunway & The Strand and just a short drive away from the Curve, IUtama and all the local eateries in the area. The hotel also situated in the upper class precinct of Kota Damasara and is within the vicinity of a plethora of shopping centers, dining venues and entertainment hub.

To address your comments, there are a few options for you to get to and from LCCT.

You could get the skybus from 1 utama to LCCT (which is 10 minutes away from the hotel) and the skybus services begins as early as 4.45am until 5.45pm and from LCCT to 1 utama it begins service from 7.00am until 6.30pm. You could check out the skybus website for pricing and travel schedule.

You also have the option of taking a cab from 1 utama to Kelana Jaya station or even the 1 utama free shuttle bus (the schedule varies and you could check this at the information counter at the mall) and make your way to KL Setral / Pasar Seni ( It takes about 20 - 25 minutes travel time)

Alternatively you could check with our oursourced transportation provider; Golden Holidays at the hotel lobby and make travel arrangements to any of your preffered locations.

We appreciate the level of detail you went into and take note of the comments you have made regarding areas for improvement within the hotel, rest assured that we have taken the necessary action.

In any case we apologise sincerely for this unpleasantness marring your stay - thank you once again for highlighting the matter to us for our action.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Warm Regards,
Sharon - Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

hi.. this tuneshotel still no improve a lot.. same low cost = low quality...
the electric will cut off when 10.30am...
air condition not cold at all.. even 16 degree.(need pay rm13.49 for 12 hour)
location not very convience...
tv channce movie not nice at all. almost all ,malaysia free channel..
floor is dirty...need wear shoe to the room....

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tunehotelsdotcom, Manager at Tune Hotel Kota Damansara, responded to this review, September 1, 2010
Hi Eric,

Thank you for sharing your stay experience.

For energy conservation, the electricity shuts automatically at about 10am (check out time) on the last day of stay.

There's a late check out option you could choose if you wish to check out later than the normal hours. You must pre book this option when you make your bookings.

The TV Entertainment Package actually consist of 11 channels, AXN, National Geographic, BBC News, Star Movies, ESPN, RTM1 & 2, TV3, 8TV, Channel 9 and NTV7, however, usage of this Entertainment Package is charged separately from the room cost

You can purchase the Entertainment Package for 24-hours either when booking your room online or at the Front Desk upon check-in.

To address your concerns on cleanliness, the hotel management has engaged a new housekeeping team to further improve on this area.

If you are dissatisfied with our service or product at any point of your stay, please seek assistance with the front desk so that they could assist in having to ensure you have a comfortable stay at out hotel.

Thank you.

Sharon-Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandar Seri Begawan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

First you can't go wrong with the price and do not expect it to be a 5 star hotel since the price is ridiculously cheap. It's definitely clean because it's new but bare in mind because it's new means they are still wroking on it. This is where me and my wife suffered, the sound of drills, wacking, banging, etc. And the room we had didnt have a window which felt abit weird, we didnt know whats going on outside and how the weather is like, as for the bed, it's very comfortable like how the website put it '5 star sleeping experience' Toilet is pretty small but ok. As for the location, if you feel like you need to go to the city all the time this is not the place to be! as it is really out of the area. Although One Utama is very nearby but definitely not a walking distant. If you have a car than thats fine or if you dont mind using the taxi. They are shops accross the road from the hotel which is called The Strand! basically they go everything that you need there in terms of food and 24hr Mamak Restaurant :)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarawak
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2010

This new hotel stays true to Tune's excellence with the no frills hotel experience.
Very clean, new, affordable & comfortable.
My room was cold enough with the fan so do check out your room before purchasing the air conditioning add on.

However, the location & the distance between the hotel & local attractions make it necessary to travel with a vehicle.
Great for people travelling between states.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ahmedabad
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

Not so good,
location is not much advisable.....
city is good..you can stay in hotel for 1 or 2 days..max

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tune Hotel Kota Damansara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel Kota Damansara

Address: 3A&5, Main Tower, Sunsuria Avenue, Persiaran Mahogani | Kota Damansara PJU5, Petaling Jaya 47810 , Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Selangor > Petaling District > Petaling Jaya
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Petaling Jaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tune Hotel Kota Damansara 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Tune Hotel Kota Damansara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotels.Com - Kota Damansara Hotel Petaling Jaya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tune Hotel Kota Damansara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.