We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A no-frills hotel - value-for-money accommodation in PJ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Crown Hotel Petaling Jaya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Crystal Crown Hotel Petaling Jaya to your Saves list
Crystal Crown Hotel Petaling Jaya
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Lorong Utara A, Off Jalan Utara, Petaling Jaya 46200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Petaling Jaya
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“A no-frills hotel - value-for-money accommodation in PJ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Decent rooms for the price, clean sheets, clean toilet and decent-sized room. Did not expect much from it and thought that it was ok for its price. Don't bother with the breakfast, lots of options available within 10 mins drive away. It's location is very convenient if your destination is somewhere around the PJ area. Would stay again as I find it reasonable versus its peers ie Eastin around the area, just don't expect a 4 or 5 star service.

Room Tip: Don't bother getting breakfast with the room, it is easier to get them outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    12
    24
    6
    5
See reviews for
5
10
5
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marikina, Philippines
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is old and run down. Wifi is not always available, even if the staff claim that it is working. Staff at the reception are not friendly and rarely smile. The Location is very far from the city center and considering the daily heavy traffic in KL, it is not convenient and very annoying to have to take a taxi every day, especially when drivers set the price and do not use their meters. The only reason I checked into this hotel is that it is near the university where I had some meetings to attend to.

The good points: reasonable price, big and spacious rooms.

I would not check in at this hotel if I had to visit KL again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Checked in, went to the room and the room was big and spacious.
Breakfast time, and there was lack of most of the food items, empty plates were on service. No one bothered to refill even after a few requests.
WiFi worked fine in the lobby, but pathetic in the room with no / very poor signal.
However, the location was good and that made up partly.

Room Tip: Beware of breakfast trivia and Wifi in the room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

For the past 3 years, I have been staying at this hotel for at least 3 days to attend my annual exam at a nearby University. One thing I've noticed is that the hotel employee really needs some basic common courtesy training. They hardly smile...and I mean it. Starting from the car jockey, front office and right to the coffee house waiters. They have this attitude ' if u don't like our hotel, u can find another' embedded in their mind. With a standard rate of Rm 230++, (usd 70) which is not cheap considering the service I'm getting, this will be my 3rd and the last time.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kandy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I wish the categories above had a "good" between "average" and "very good" because that is my estimation of Crystal Crown. I have stayed at this hotel at least twice a year since 2009 and can call it "a true home from home" because I do not use it to bask in luxury but because I feel comfortable and secure therein when I come to this establishment for conferences or to visit friends. The hotel has many offerings but I have only patronized the Japanese Restaurant other than the hotel's own Brass Cafe. I use Crystal Crown as a point of departure for my pursuits outside.

The rooms are basic--clean but not eye catching in any way. The sheets are freshly laundered but SOMETIMES give the appearance that they have been used for a long time. I have stayed in most of the floors and for some reason the wood in the bathroom doors is frayed from the inside in most of them-perhaps on account of bathroom damp. The choice of tv channels on offer are limited but adequate for a person like myself who does not really stay indoors for much of the time. Mercifully, unlike in some other fancy hotels I have reviewed, Crystal Crown provides two complimentary bottles of water each day whether one has used the previous day's bottles or not. I once took a trip out to Port Dixon, was out for a couple of days and was amused to find six bottles of water lined up for my use!

The hotel staff is generally courteous. I should make special mention of two of the bell boys (one previously from Bangladesh and the other from Pakistan, I think) who treat me like a long lost brother each time I arrive. Those at reception are efficient and polite. The same applies to those serving at the Brass Cafe.

Given the reasons for which I use this hotel, I can only comment on the breakfast buffet which is plentiful and accommodates those from the East and the West. Those so inclined can skip lunch by having a hearty breakfast. Since I visit the hotel every six months or so I cannot see any major changes to the menu but that is another reason why I regard it as "home." I know what to expect when I arrive. The a la carte menu which I have used on a few occasions does not always provide value for money.

There are three levels of basement parking (perhaps more) and guests can park for free on validation. The hotel recommends validation on entry because there can be a line up of parties are in progress. Jockey parking is also available.

This hotel is patronized by a varied clientèle from all over the world but despite the large numbers who turn up it never gives a crowded appearance. Also, the place is very popular for parties and weddings and the hotel pub can become raucous at night sometimes. But the noise rarely penetrates into the rooms and I have never lost any sleep for such reasons.

The hotel began to provide free wifi to house guests a few years ago. It takes a little while for the connection to get recognize the password etc each time but once it does one is more-or-less guaranteed a good internet connection to one's room for the duration of one's stay.

All in all, this is a practical, comfortable hotel that does a job for you.

Room Tip: This hotel accommodates smoking and non smoking patrons. The odour of tobacco sometimes infiltrates...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Been staying in this hotel occasionally for business matter around the vicinity. Room is spacious but hotel was opened since 1990's if not mistaken. You can see the tear and wear (aging) here and there in the room but kudos to the hotel as rooms are being refurbished, with laminated floors and new painting. Front desk Miss Betty is quite helpful and will go all out to attend to your queries, if any.

Time does look like stand still when it come to breakfast as it seems the menu is almost the same in the past and present. Can guess which dish or which item at which location in the coffee house in the morning LOL! Location wise is great (my personal view and driving) as less than 10 mins to appointed place without the hassle and jam from Federal Highway either way from KL or Sunway direction. However, the nearest shopping complex is about 20mins walk to Jaya 33. Those without transport/car might find its out of place.

If you exit the hotel and walk across the road to the junction of a traffic light, there is a row of shops selling foods and mini mart if you are bored with the breakfast. If you are game enough, from the shops there, walk up the road and will find a great Indian banana leaves rice restaurant that seems to be packed during lunch hour. Their serving portion is quite big and believe me, you will have a full stomach after you meal there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I love this hotel and would stay here again. The deluxe room is very economical for travelers with family as it comes with a queen sized bed and another super single bed. The hotel is good and very conveniently and great location in PJ

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crystal Crown Hotel Petaling Jaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Crown Hotel Petaling Jaya

Address: 12 Lorong Utara A, Off Jalan Utara, Petaling Jaya 46200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Selangor > Petaling District > Petaling Jaya
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Petaling Jaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crystal Crown Hotel Petaling Jaya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 219
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Crystal Crown Hotel Petaling Jaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal Crown Hotel Petaling Jaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.