We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well known for deep fried squid” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Muhibbah Seafood Restaurant

Muhibbah Seafood Restaurant
Lot 2851, Jalan Seri Penchala, Kg. Sg. Penchala, 60000 Kuala Lumpur, Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
03-7727 3153
Improve this listing
Ranked #95 of 638 restaurants in Petaling Jaya
Price range: $10 - $15
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Well known for deep fried squid”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This restaurant was originally located in taman tun, now has moved to another location 5 mins away from taman tun. the new location can accomodate more people, problem with parking so if inside full have to park at the side of the road (buggy service provided)

serving chinese muslim food. the deep fried squid (sotong goreng) a must try.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

61% Recommend
    3
    10
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good food, good company”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Muhibbah has been around for many years, and has recently moved to the new (bigger and nicer) building over ath Sg Penchala.

Food is always great. Staff are efficient (not much chit chat, just take your order and come back with the food), and the new location is definitely a lot more convinient to have a big group.

Do make a reservation, or go there before 7 if you don't want to fight the crowd.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

The reataurant has been around since 25++ years ago . The quality of food remains the same, despite change in location, change in cooks.

This is because the owner is always there to ensure all in order in the kitchen

Due to the crowd, delivery of food can sometimes take a while.

Parking is limited, but they have buggy service if you park far along the road.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Let down by service..”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Having frequented the 'old' Muhibbah in TTDI, I can honestly say that I came away disappointed with my recent visit to the new venue. The service is atrociously snail paced as are the servings which were pretty small even though we ordered the large portion for each of the dishes. Furthermore, the famed fried squid does not live to the expectation I thought I had remember it by. Disappointment! I reckon that's what expanding can do to one's business when quality & customer service is overlooked. Sigh~

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great Fried Sotong and Assam Fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

I have found out about this place one a month ago. It is no longer in TTDI, as it has moved to a larger and cleaner location in Kampong Pinchala.

The first time I went there was a Wednesday, and the place was packed at 8:30PM, so I figured it must be good for something. Every table has fried sotong, and quite a few had assam fish. I ordered both.

The next morning, I found out at the office that this place is a legend in the TTDI area for it's fried sotong, and I know why cause I tried them. What people did not know in the office was that the assam fish is unique and very good, at least to palate of an expat living in KL for 6 years.

The place is very clean and the staff very friendly. However, if you are Caucasian and you like spicy food, tell the them to go ahead full steam with the chilly when you order it. :-) Else, they will turn down the fire for you! :-)

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Muhibbah Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Petaling Jaya, Petaling District
Petaling Jaya, Petaling District
 
Petaling Jaya, Petaling District
Petaling Jaya, Petaling District
 

Been to Muhibbah Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Muhibbah Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.