We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing restaurant in middle of hectic PJ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Out of Africa

Out of Africa
No 1 Lorong Pj Palms Sport Centre, Petaling Jaya 46200, Malaysia
03-7955-3432
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 639 restaurants in Petaling Jaya
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: African, Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Relaxing restaurant in middle of hectic PJ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Environment is quite relaxing with people swimming and the area with trees. Tried the crab soup and lamb bobotie. Crab soup is with curry and might not be like by everyone due to the strong curry taste. Lamb bobotie is serve with banana, raisin, raw cucumber and tomatoes, sticky rice and the lamb. Taste is not bad but the lamb is abit too gamy to my liking. Still worthy of a try if you intend to try the taste of africa.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    10
    12
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Some things not up to scratch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Being born and coming from South Africa, I would say that that I had to eat was not too bad, pumpkin soup was great, although the calamari had way too much garlic in, they could've done more with the deco as I feel it is not South African enough, the waiters don't even speak English that well and when I asked for a savana dry I get a 7 up cool drink, maybe they should learn more about the culture, it's not great but also not terrible, I would say okay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good food, good atmosphere, warm service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Great food! one of the places that serve fantastic steaks in town. My favorite, Karoo Lamb cutlets are so juicy and full of flavors. Rump kebab with very natural flavor coming from skilled grilling. Ostrich carpaccio with very nice refreshing dressing and fresh salad. Mauritius crab soup very very satisfying. Good selection of wine, even though limited, but well chosen for the food. We sure dine here at least once if not twice a month, for don't know how long. Not to mention great surrounding with African vibes, wonderful and warm staff!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Good food, great service, nice staff. The place is good for a night out with friend, service and food are very good. There is a big screen in the Kudu bar which sets up a great atmosphere when watching rugby or other big sporting events.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great rugby big screen and SA food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Watched rugby and ate here a few times during my months in KL and it was always good. There is a great atomospher watching rugby in the Kudu Bar and there is a wide variety of food. The location is very good right near the LRT and overlooking a huge pool.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Out of Africa also viewed

Petaling Jaya, Petaling District
Petaling Jaya, Petaling District
 
Petaling Jaya, Petaling District
Petaling Jaya, Petaling District
 

Been to Out of Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Out of Africa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.