We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended By Friends and Worth a Visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ah Sang Bak Kut Teh

Ah Sang Bak Kut Teh
531 Jalan SS 9A/12, Seri Setia, Sungei Way, Petaling Jaya 47300, Malaysia
03 7876 2299
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 783 Restaurants in Petaling Jaya
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Recommended By Friends and Worth a Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We have heard about this place from both Malaysians as well as foreigners, and decided to visit it while on holiday here in KL. We can actually find it's name and address in our GPS.

We arrive here on a Saturday lunch hour and was surprised to find available parking as well as a nice big table for a family of 7 (4 adults and 3 kis). We were seated quickly and our order arrived equally fast. The soup was tasty and the meat was nicely done, delivered in a clay pot that was piping hot Other than the meat, it came which mushrooms, vegetables, and dried bean curd. An extra vegetable dish that we ordered was also nicely done

The service was friendly, and they topped up the soup without being asked. They were also thoughtful and gave us a chair with a backrest for our youngest son, so that he could lean back and not fall of the stools that the patrons usually sit.

Overall, our bill for the vegetable and bak kut teh came up to about RM100, including drinks.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    9
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Best BKT in PJ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

BKT taste is very subjective and especially since there are many versions of BKT going around.
For me I like the strong herbal taste and it comes in claypot, guarantee to make you all sweaty.
I have tried other BKTs but this is the one for me. They also have the oily rice which runs out fast.

For best experience, go early. Servers only breakfast and lunch.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Region Metropolitana, Chile
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Traditional Herbal BKT at it's best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

this place has been around for ages and alot of people from PJ actually grew up eating this famous BKT.
BKT is served on a hot claypot and its still boiling when its served to you.
typical order would be mix pot (mixture of all cuts of the pork, belly, ribs, intestine, small bones, stomach etc)
also order some fritters (yau cha guai in cantonese) to dip into the soup, it is a heavenly mixture which we didn't know when this came about but its certainly a perfect combination to dip dough fritters into BKT soup.
the place is old and slightly dirty as it has been there for ages.
there have been many claims of best BKT, whether its from Klang, Teluk Pulai etc.. but this is the ONE to go for, situated in Petaling Jaya so its easily accessible (compared to klang) and with strong herbal taste of the BKT soup.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Bag of salt in a soup”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

Well there aren't many Bak Kut Teh around Petaling Jaya but this apparent one is way too salty! One should try the one nearby (Xhin Fhong BKT).

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Best in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Ah sang bak kut Teh is strong in herbal taste. Often more heaty than other stalls with generous use if Angelica roots, tong guai.

It is so tasty that you will want to saviour it after a long stay away from KL. It's my return-home food.

The shop fills up fast at lunch hour. Be prepared to share table with others. A short wait will usually get you a table. The order fulfillment process is efficient and fast.

Dont miss this.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ah Sang Bak Kut Teh also viewed

Petaling Jaya, Petaling District
Petaling Jaya, Petaling District
 
Petaling Jaya, Petaling District
Petaling Jaya, Petaling District
 

Been to Ah Sang Bak Kut Teh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ah Sang Bak Kut Teh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.