We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lobstermann

Lobstermann
SS2, Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
0378776772
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #79 of 710 Restaurants in Petaling Jaya
Cuisines: Seafood, Wine Bar, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Reservations
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I paid RM128 for a set for two, and it came with six New Zealand mussels, mushroom soup, baked seafood rice and a 550g whole lobster. Not sure you can beat that for value... AND it came with coffee and tea (it's always the little things...)!

Here's how this place works - you choose the size of your lobster (550g, 700g, 800g or 900g), and then you pick the cooking style. We went with the set, which includes a 550g lobster - plenty big enough for my wife and I!

We chose the French butter baked style, and ordered an additional 550g lobster (RM98) in their signature style (can't remember what it's called. Crispy garlic and chilli). Both were awesome! Only problem with the signature style (and I'm presuming the other Asian styles on the menu) is that the lobster was chopped up. It's so much more fun when you get to peel the entire lobster tail out in one piece...

Our bill came up to about RM260. Overall, fantastic value for money. Not the most posh restaurant, but then again, you gotta be ready to get down and dirty when it comes to lobsters...

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    16
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Lobster fans, check in right here!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This is the very reason why Tripadvisor rocks, because of reviews!!

Anyway, I decided to check out Lobstermann and organise a farewell party here for a friend who was migrating to Australia. Each and every guest left feeling so good about the food and would definitely come back again. Yes, it was that good.

From the moment you step into the restaurant, you curiosity will be piqued by the deliciously smell of all the cooking happening. Nope, it is not an open kitchen just the smell of the food seducing you and preparing your taste buds.

The staff were attentive and very cooperative. We had several request for that night, specific table arrangement, to decorate our area and space and as for food, we did not want tea/coffee, seafood soup only and to bring our own dessert. They said yes to everything and made it even better. The offered us a space that was slightly elevated near the bar area which gave us the room to do all that we wanted without being in the way of the restaurant and their other customers. Soup was a seafood clam chowder, only the best for you they said. Nothing we asked was too big or too small for them to execute.

All of us opted for the Set Menu for 2 which comes at a very affordable price of RM128++. The Set Menu gives you a choice for your starter (Baked Escargot/New Zealand mussels), Soup of the Day, Atlantic lobster (550grams), Pasta/Baked Rice, Desserts & Tea/Coffee. You can choose how you would like your lobster to be cooked, you will be spoilt for choice. They even showed us our live lobsters before cooking it, just to show it that it is that fresh!!

All in all, we had a wonderful time, catching up, saying our goodbye and a full tummy. Do check it out, it is definitely value for money!!

Tip: If you are going for the set and have chosen the NZ Mussels which comes baked in cheese, you may not want to opt for your Lobster to be done with cheese. It becomes to heavy & cheesy...unless you are a cheese fan and no amount of cheese will put you off.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

The serving staff and the atmosphere of the restaurant is a bit morbid, but the staff are efficient in itself, unfortunately we had a waiter with very bad b.o. :/

Lobster dishes come at good value for the price you pay, so as long as that's your main objective for coming to this restaurant, then you'll be happy.

Having said all that I'll happily come again if I want some lobster in a very basic unassuming restaurant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Yummy lobster!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Visited Lobstermann twice in the span of 10 days, guess that in itself shows the quality and relatively affordable price offered at this place! You'll see a tank over-populated with Maine lobsters and when you ask how big is the lobster you should order, the staff will fish out the lobster and bring the lobster to you (with claws tied up of course!) before the lobster proceed to the kitchen to become your meal. Choose the way you wish your lobster to be cooked - my favourites are Lobster Thermidor (popular with kids), Sashimi, Porridge and Fried in Garlic. The set meal for two comes with a small lobster (which you can upgrade to a bigger one at a small additional costs), escargots, soup, pasta, fruits and coffee/tea. My 2nd visit we took two lobsters instead of the set and the bill came up to RM300++++, certainly good value. AND did you know Lobster has less cholesterol and fats than chicken, crabs and prawns (according to the restaurant's informative menu)?

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Very nice & affordable Lobster”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

My visit was a year ago. Their services is very good, you have to reserve for special dining or during any special day. Lobster is very fresh and side dishes ate good too. This restaurant is suit for couple, group or family dining. They have set menu for 2 or 4, offering at reasonable price. I would definitely come back again.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lobstermann also viewed

Petaling Jaya, Petaling District
Petaling Jaya, Petaling District
 
Petaling Jaya, Petaling District
Petaling Jaya, Petaling District
 

Been to Lobstermann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lobstermann, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.