We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wish we had stayed longer.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Persiaran Lagoon, Bandar Sunway, Petaling Jaya 47500, Malaysia   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2D1N Year-End Deal
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Petaling Jaya
Warrnambool, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“I wish we had stayed longer.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

After travelling through Phuket, Bangkok, Ho Chi Minh and Cambodia we were still very undecided as to whether or not we would stop in KL to break up our return trip back to Melbourne but made the last minute decision to stop and stay at Sunway Resort and Spa and we are very glad we did.

The staff were all extremely friendly and efficient. Though the rooms are starting to need a makeover they are still very acceptable. Beds are large and comfortable, there is a free mini bar stocked daily with soft drinks and a couple of small kit Kats which was a welcome treat.

The pool is amazing! The theme park next door was great, there is entry through a gate near the hotel pool using your room card. Unfortunately you still need to pay to get into the theme park and there are no discounts applied for people staying at the resort. Also you were unable to leave the park and go back to the resort then re enter the park later in the day which I found annoying because I have a 1 year old and it would have been perfect to be able to go and put him down for a nap then head back.

If you're deciding to go to the park one major downfall is the lack of ramps for pushers, wheel chairs etc. very inconvenient. But back to the resort.

We had the buffet breakfast which was excellent and also had the international buffet one night..... The only complaint there was that I don't have a big enough stomach as there was such a huge variety. We also ate at Saga the Indian restaurant one evening which we could not fault .

The staff were extremely helpful with my children and genuinely Adored them.

This is the type of resort that you really don't have to travel far from if you don't want to, next door there is a HUGE mall for all your shopping needs too.

To top it all off the rates were very competitive. Win win!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, Manager at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Lionscrest,

Thank you very much for the amazing review that you had provided, and we are so glad that you and your family decided to stay with us for your final trip before heading back to Melbourne.

Thank you very much for your kind comments on our staff and facilities. Please accept our apologies however that you were not clearly informed about the re-entry passes that can be obtained for guests of the hotel. These passes are only obtainable if you had purchase the tickets from our concierge counter in the lobby.

That aside, we are glad our other facilities made up for your trip and that you enjoyed it no less. We hope that you and your family enjoyed your amazing holiday abroad and we hope to see you again in the future. Until then, take care and have a great day ahead.

All the best from all of us at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    284
    91
    33
    21
See reviews for
328
89
20
201
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

This Hotel has the WoW factor and the breakfasts are spectacular but I cannot help feel there is a lack of attention to detail. The staff are helpful and very pleasant but I get the impression they do not talk to each other. I arrived after a long flight and sll was fine till I went to bed and couldn't turn off the light.I rang someone explained to do it - slightly pareonisingly Ithought. She sent someone down and he in turn sent maintainence who disconnected it. It was after middnight so I was happy he would come back the next day to replace a relay. That was the last I heard of that (I was there 4 nights). There were also two lights in my room flickering which I expected him to notice - he didn't. The day before I left I asked reception to book me in for another night the next week - but I didn't find out there was no room till I asked at checkout time. Can anyone tell me why there are statues of African elephants outside?

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, Manager at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear George0903,

Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience that you faced during your stay with us. This was not the standard service we expect to provide to our guests at any time during their visit. We thank you for providing us with your feedback and review and please allow us to reach out to you to personally apologise.

All the best from all of us at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I was lucky enough to spend five days in this hotel complex in PJ because i love Malaysia and KL and have been more than 14 times over the years but my first time at this Hotel/Resort and primary reason for visit was a company conference. Arrived two days early to get over the jet lag and get my brain together and catch up my sleep. I was lucky to be placed at the front of the hotel as it was quiet. At the rear of the hotel was the resort which was a bit like a Disney water park but had been hired for the weekend by a car company and you couldnt see the water for bodies, there were thousands of them and it was non stop kariokii for the weekend and it was so loud that residents on that side of the building were baraged with non stop noise. They have a very nice residents pool area but you really needed ear defenders! To be fare to management they did give us a circular apologising in advance for the weekends event and potential noise.
The water park/resort looked like a brilliant place for families and kids and well worth a look if you are in the area and very popular. They had recently staged one of the MTV music concerts in the arena and i think there will be a few over the next three years. Look out for this on MTV!
Outside facade looks very impressive but closer inspection shows it is in need of a little TLC but looks stunning at night. The lobby is wonderful and clean and the staff are typically uber helpful and friendly. the bedrooms are large and spacious and clean but could do with a bit of a facelift but no complaints. Breakfast on level 1 was to die for with many Asian cuisines and i love Asian food. Restaurents are also all top notch. there is also a massive shopping mall adjacent to the hotel with its own skating rink, you dont need to go far for shopping either. A well contained complex in all

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, Manager at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear NUMBER1HOLIDAYMAKER,

Thank you for the amazing and detailed review you had written for us. As a frequent traveler to Malaysia, we are glad that you had managed to experience a stay with us during one of your business trips. We would also like to thank you for the comments provided about our resort, as this will help us improve to welcome our future guests. Our Fuzion restaurant serves a delectable choice of international cuisine and if you would like to experience more Asian inspired dishes, we would recommend The Atrium at Pyramid Tower hotel on your next visit.

We hope that this experience has inspired you to return in the near future. Should you decide to return, please do contact us and we will do our best to arrange for another memorable stay. Until then, take care and see you soon.

All the best from all of us at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menifee, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Only stayed for one night last week but wish it were longer. Amazing facility with great pools, huge breakfast buffet and plenty to do. Staff is very attentive and ensures your stay is memorable. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, Manager at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear PatrickSD,

Thank you for the great review! It was a great pleasure to have you stay with us and your acknowledgement of our staff’s work is deeply appreciated. Thank you again for your time in providing us with this review and for choosing us as your preferred destination.

Should you ever return for another stay, perhaps for a leisure visit, please do contact us and we will arrange for another memorable stay with us.

All the best from all of us at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

What more can you ask for ...beautiful high class hotel amazing pools, views, facilities, top buffet breakfast, welcoming & attentative & outstanding service with a day theme park next door with VIP entry and multistorey shopping centre, cinemas on the other side. Great for families! Thank you for a wonderful fun but also relaxing stay. We have to return to try to see all next time!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, Manager at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear FantasticFamilyof4,

Thank you for the amazing review! It has been praises one after another and we cannot thank you enough for the review. We are glad to have been able to serve you and make your trip memorable.

Should you decide to return for a future trip, please do reach out to us and we will be very happy to accommodate you and your family once again and make your stay much more memorable as it was before. Thank you again for the wonderful review and we hope to see you real soon.

All the best from all of us at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The driveway to the hotel is very impressive. The lobby is fantastic and has lovely interiors. The night scene at the entrance of the hotel is just amazing. the hotel has its mall - pyramid and the sunway lagoon theme park. Its the best experience for an individual whether travelling for business or holiday. Its an all in one hotel, the mall has some great shopping luxury and great dining restaurants. You can not et enough of it. The services and staff are also excellent. this was my second trip there. its the most recommended hotel in Malaysia i think. the rooms are very good and get great view of the Theme park as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, Manager at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear MoumitaMumbai_India,

Thank you for the great review! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and to hear of your memorable stay with us. Thank you for your mention of our outlets and staff services as well, we will be sure to congratulate and recognise them for their efforts in serving you.

Thank you for choosing us again for your business trip and we hope that you will return again for another trip in the future. Until then, have a good day ahead and we hope to welcome you back soon.

All the best from all of us at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Good:
- bed is comfortable
- good service (both of the in front desk staff1 and resterrant staff )
- breadfast is tasty have different kind of food
- the rooms with good view that make us relax
- location is good, easy to go shopping, having dinner with family
- the pool is so lovely and beautiful
- room is not the size that we expected but the hotel have give us 2 rooms near to my parents which is nice
- the hotel can provid the service that i request before

Bad:
- some of the facilities is damage (e.g. bed sheet, ice box, desk light, closet light) as a 5 star hotel i expact they with be better.
- room is not the size that we expected but still big enought

as we booked 2 rooms, both of their facilities are worn-out and some of them are not function at all this is not a 5 star hotel that we expacted

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, Manager at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Artemis S,

Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience during your stay with us. We will ensure to forward your comments to the necessary parties to help improve our hotel’s facilities and services. Thank you for the kind comments of our other hotel offerings and we hope you and your family enjoyed your stay.

Thank you once again for your time in writing us this review and we hope to improve better to welcome you back once again in the future.

All the best from all of us at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa

Address: Persiaran Lagoon, Bandar Sunway, Petaling Jaya 47500, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Selangor > Petaling District > Petaling Jaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Petaling Jaya
#4 Luxury Hotel in Petaling Jaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 441
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 35 minutes from Kuala Lumpur International Airport and 25 minutes from the city centre, the 5-star Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa offers a collection of 441 well-appointed guestrooms. Within the amazing 800-acre “Resort-within-a-City” landmark are the Balinese-inspired Mandara Spa, an award-winning theme park, and an upscale mega shopping and entertainment mall. There are also a massive convention centre, a medical centre and educational facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, T4B, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunway Resort Hotel And Spa
Sunway Hotel Petaling Jaya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.