We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing?? Hardly!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Cyberview Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Cyberview Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Cyberview Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Persiaran Multimedia, Cyberjaya 63000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cyberjaya
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Relaxing?? Hardly!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2008

Honestly, I can't quite figure who gave the 5 star rating. Obviously it must have been self-proclaimed as no well-deserving 5 star hotel would have given the service I had the honour of obtaining.

I was part of a bridal entourage and as such, I decided to book a deluxe "recently upgraded" room for 1 night.

The horror started almost immediately. My husband checked in at 12 noon ... got to the room and after 20 minutes, discovered that the air-con wasn't working properly. He then called that "1 number serves all enquiries", told them the situation and was told that a maintenance guy would be on his way. When the guy arrived, he didn't speak a word of English. However he knew what the problem was and proceeded to fiddle with the switch. After a while, he realised he couldn't fix the problem. He then called that "1 number" and the operator then spoke with husband and told him the Front Office manager would be on-site to resolve the problem. Husband waited almost 1 1/2 hours before this FOM showed up.

In the meantime, I was having problems at Reception who didn't realise that husband had checked in. Perhaps their check-in system isn't the most up-to-date??? As I couldn't contact husband, I had to wait 15 mins before I was given the room number.

When the FOM finally got to the room, she wasn't the most helpful. She said everything imaginable to convince us that the air-con was working just fine. She knew I was with the bridal party and that I had to get ready for the evening's events. However, she was totally unsympathetic. After about 10 mins, she decided that moving us to another room would be a better option. We were asked to view 3 rooms (strange how she didn't know which rooms had air-cons that worked!!) and finally settled on a half-way decent one.

My gripe is why give us the run-around? If the hotel is truly 5 star, maintenance would be well above average and service would be excellent. Instead the stay was dismal.

Never again. Not even if it was a freebie.

  • Liked — Decent bathroom
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    79
    35
    14
    13
See reviews for
49
47
10
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2008

I stayed for 2 nights with my family of four. The room is one of the biggest that I have ever seen, they gave us a king-sized poster bed which I though was too soft and also converted a sofa into a bed for my kids. While I agree that the landscaping around the resort is good with ample greeneries and nice pools, I think that the rooms certainly needs refurbishment & refresh. On our first night, there was water dripping throughout the night from the ceiling right above the toilet bowl, this was very irritating & noisy and had affected our sleep.

Furthermore, the water supply stopped during the night, I called the front desk at 5.30am to complain about the water disruption and hey presto !, water supply resumed 10 minutes later. I am still wondering why they shut-off the water supply during the night, perhaps they are ardent conservationalist ! Also, when the supply resumed, the hot water was brown & rusty. Definitely not what one would expect from a 5-star resort. By the way, maintenance came to the room at 8.30am to check the dripping, when I went back to the room at 10am, the dripping was still there. Frustrated with the poor maintenance, I requested for a change of room, cannot afford a 2nd sleepness night. When I checked out, I was hoping for some concession from the hotel but I guess the staff at the front desk are not empowered to ensure customer satisfaction and encourage repeat business.

Food option is limited, Verandah was under construction, that left the Italian restaurant & the make-shift Attap for food within the resort. The Chinese restaurant is across the road but when we went there on Sunday evening, it was closed.

Besides just relaxing and patronizing the spa, there's really nothing much to do, the nearest shopping complex Alamanda is a good 15 minutes drive away (if you can find your own way there). We took the complementary shuttle service which unfortunately turned into a marketing campaign by the driver to promote his taxi service. My advise here would be to avoid his service simply because of obvious overcharging (we compared his rate with others).

All in all, the stay would have been nicer if not non-stop water dripping from the ceiling in our room on the first night (room # 108) & the poor service from the front desk. I think it's a good place to get-away from it all if you don't mind planting yourself fully at the resort detached from outside (then again, the free internet access in the rooms will ensure that would be a tough proposition).

  • Liked — Nice landscaping & quiet surronding
  • Disliked — Poor room condition
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cyberjaya hotels

Shanghai, China
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2008

Stayed there one night during a business trip, intended as a day off to get a treat... Didn't work out. I booked a package pool deluxe villa plus massage, to get the time slot in the afternoon I am there.

I arrived, checked in and the deluxe pool villa, was definitely not at the pool. Well, the room was quite nice anyway, well equipped with TV, DVD-player, Computer. Technics are definitely upscale but the rest of the room is more like a casual 3star-hotel.

The spa then was the worst. I learned that I could choose only between 3 massages and not the full list. The simple question if I pay some extra to get the treatment I wanted turned into a terrible argument over the principle that this cannot be done... After a few "I talked to my manager" it was all of a sudden possible, but given the effort it took plus the price of the extra I lost interest in it.

I tried to change back to just the room rate, where I learned that though I had booked via their webpage it was through an agent who had 2 days cancellation policy. If only I had done, as the internet agents offer much better rates.

Worst of all, was that it was my birthday and all I had wanted was a relaxing treat, rather than complaining & arguing. Within this they finally managed to realise it's my birthday (despite having checked my passport and filling in the check-in form) and tried to make it up with a cake and flowers, which are nice but not very travel-friendly.

I met a lady who was here for a conference which apparently all worked out well. At such it might rather be a casual business hotel, rather than a luxury resort for an escape as advertised on their webpage.

All-in the webpage looks better than the hotel itself and the service attitude of the staff and traveller-mindedness bears a huge potential.

  • Liked — The TV and DVDplayer in room
  • Disliked — The Spa and the staff
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2008

I got a great internet deal at Cyberview and decided to stay there for several nights with the family. As several people have stated already, some parts of the hotel feels a bit old. However the room was large and comfortable and the landscaping certainly gave a nice resort feel to the place. I got a Pool Chalet which had enough room for the kids to run around inside and a terrace overlooking the garden. Free wifi is available all around the hotel.

Tried all three restaurants available, the Chinese dim sum and Italian place were both quite nice although the Chinese restaurant tends to get crowded during lunch. The regular restaurant (Attap/Verandah) was ok. Service was decent and relaxed.

My only complaint is because of the landscaping and gardens, the whole hotel is not particularly stroller (or wheelchair) friendly.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2008

Though located somewhat not a resort material location, this resort managed to pull off a great landscape, creating a sort of an oasis within a Silicon Valley-to-be of Malaysia.

Starting off with the registration, you are greeted with a cooled ginger tea - nice touch for the hot climate of Cyberjaya. Going to the room, you will appreciate its generous space. The bathroom is nicely decorated with a separate shower and bathtub.

All rooms have internet access with a computer, satellite and local network channels, and of course independent air conditioning. On the downside, this place is does invite mosquitoes. But on the upside, the hotel provide a mosquito repellent in every room.

  • Liked — Jacuzzi, sauna and fitness centre
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2008

Stayed here for 4 nights as part of a conference / business trip, which makes this my 3rd such stay in 3 years. The overall experience is reasonable, however the attention to detail is lacking and service is generally slow, albeit people are very nice and the place never seems anything other than relaxed.

The rooms were nice but now look a little tired and, sadly, tend to be prone to mozzies (dead or otherwise). Cleaning is hit and miss and you need to be careful over choice of room / bungalow, as some are near the road, some next to Italian restaurant and others close to the railway line. Best to try and get one close to the pool at the farthest point of the resort and also avoid close to tennis courts (wild monkeys at night!).

The pool / spa is lovely and always quiet, free wifi around the resort is a bonus and breakfast is pretty decent.

There are better resorts around Asia and I think that the Marriott closeby is actually a better all round experience.

  • Liked — pool
  • Disliked — cleanliness
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damansara Indah
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2008

Super resort with excellent staff and gourgeous garden setting. Could not believe I was only 20 minutes from KL city. Stayed in the resort during the Toto concert.
The resort had this aroma therapy smell wherever you walked.
Location was perfect as the drive back home to Damansara was only 30 minutes. Comparing to holiday destinations in Trengganu, PD etc... I would have been exhausted driving
Rooms was the best and the bed linen was so comfy.
I could get everything in the room - LCD, DVD, Computer, Minibar etc...Wish they had an i pod dock.
I'm going back there again very soon as I heard the spa is the best in Malaysia.
This was the best holiday I ever had. Everything was perfect, accompanied by the best band in the world - Toto.

  • Liked — Large luxurious rooms
  • Disliked — No I pod dock
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cyberview Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cyberview Resort & Spa

Address: Persiaran Multimedia, Cyberjaya 63000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Selangor > Sepang District > Cyberjaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cyberjaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cyberview Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape comes closer to home with a unique 5-star boutique tropical paradise located only 35 minutes from the centre of Kuala Lumpur, in the heart of Cyberjaya. Cyberview Resort & Spa promises a true Malaysian feel within its spacious grounds covered with lush greenery and fountains, ponds and waterfalls. The resort features 74 cozy rooms refurbished with four-poster beds and teak furniture of which 68 are chalets, two are two-bedroom suites and two are two-bedroom bungalows. We have new 38 Superior Chalets with contemporary concept to make the guests feel at home. There is also an exclusive honeymoon suite and a presidential suite, both with garden view Jacuzzi tubs. Besides the usual in-room amenities, 32" LCD screens which come with a DVD Player with cable television, in-room safe, private balcony, desk and living area as well as international direct-dial facilities, the resort also offers complimentary through out the resort. Being away from the city does not mean being deprived of culinary experiences. In fact, the restaurants offer a wide variety of choices. Breakfast, lunch and dinner can be enjoyed at the Verandah Restaurant. Italian Fusion cuisine is served at the Bistro Cascata, situated near the pool next to the cascading waterfall while Xing Zhu Chinese Restaurant offers authentic Chinese cuisine. For more relaxation there is the Karma Bar & Lounge, the resort’s hot night spot, represents a chic, modern and chill out lounge that is complemented by the serene natural surroundings. The very private "Oasis" Karaoke Lounge is ideal for a group who wants to sing their hearts out! For all those urbanites looking to get away from it all, the Sembunyi Spa offers the perfect reprieve. A 10,000 square-foot area is dedicated to a unique ASEAN theme spa offering Jamu therapy such as aromatic massages, herbal body and facial treatments. Separate male and female rooms are available for steam, sauna, hot Jacuzzi and ice-cold dips as well as a lap pool. Cyberview Resort & Spa is the ideal place for a family getaway, a romantic liaison and even corporate retreat. The Cindai Ballroom can seat 400 dinner guests and overlooks the gardens and swimming pool while the Keris Executive Boardroom is fitted with audiovisual systems for video conferencing and multimedia communications systems. If you are looking at a bigger capacity, Putrajaya International Convention Centre (PICC), which is located in the heart of Putrajaya, is just 15 minutes drive from the resort. The Perdana Hall can accommodate up to 2000 pax at one time.Recreation activities are the outdoor lawn, tennis court, basketball court (half court), mountain bikes and even fishing by the lake. There are also shuttle services to Putrajaya ERL Station - connecting guest to KL Sentral (downtown city center) and a shuttle stop to Alamanda Putrajaya shopping mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Cyberview Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cyberview Lodge Resort And Spa
Cyberview Hotel Cyberjaya
Cyberview Hotel Putrajaya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cyberview Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.