We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, lovely location and facilities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Damai Puri Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Damai Puri Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Damai Puri Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Teluk Penyuk Santubong | PO Box 3058, Kuching 93762 , Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 45 hotels in Kuching
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good value, lovely location and facilities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was one of the nicest places I stayed in East Malaysia. The beach is clean and beautiful, the pool enormous. Other reviews have mentioned that the rooms were not clean, but I found the opposite to be the case: my room was spotless throughout my stay. The large grounds and hallways were also unusually spiffy. The only downside was that the resort seemed under-occupied, so only one of the restaurants was open. The food, especially breakfast, was decent, plentiful, and not too expensive (for hotel food). Overall, I feel like I got an amazing deal, and would definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    52
    57
    51
    40
See reviews for
68
87
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The setting is beautiful - unfortunately the same cannot be said for the hotel. They need a major overhaul or to rip it down completely and start again. The rooms were terrible and very dirty - we requested to be moved to another room which they happily obliged with, almost as though they knew the request was coming (they must get it all the time) - unfortunately the room was only slightly better. We cut our stay short the next morning after a rubbish nights sleep and thankfully the hotel agreed to refund us the balance of our pre paid stay - we originally planned to stay 3 nights. Again I can only assume they must get these complaints all the time. Staff were generally useless and rude, except for the GM who was very pleasant and did the right thing to refund our money. It is such a shame about this hotel as the setting is truly spectacular.

Room Tip: tip for a good room? select one from a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goolwa, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed 12 months again and returned for 6 days to be totally disappointed. Upon arriving we were upgraded to a seaview room which we thought would be good. Big mistake! After arriving around 9pm and thought we would order room service, the phone didn't work. My husband had to walk all the way to reception to order. The shutter on the window didn't close properly so lack of privacy. The freezer was completely iced over in the fridge. The door handle in the shower was on the floor and when having a shower the floor flooded into the passageway. When my husband flushed the toilet the button come off in his hand and fell into the flushing toilet. Room service arrived with no cutlery and cold food. The next day we were moved to another room but the mood was spoilt by the previous night. We complained to the manager and were not offered a free drink or apology. We paid top dollar for this room and spent the night very upset. There was no information in the room regarding the hotel facilities, no tour desk, not even a map of Kuching at reception. Rules about bringing in outside food and drinks, corkage fees. Breakfast buffet very ordinary. The gift shop shut. Everything is locked up and you have to go to reception for everything. This is not a 4 half star hotel and very overpriced. My husband wanted to go diving with Aquabase and had to wait 3 days until they had other divers to join him. The diving is very expensive with old equipment and air tanks only 70% full. The hotel next door offers tours and has water sports and an excellent restaurant. It was full of guests from the Damai Puri!!

Room Tip: Stay next door not at the Dami Puri.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stay away from this property. Lousy service despite promising location. Won't come back for sure ! Requested for at least queen size or king size bed but was thrown to two single size beds situated far away from the reception. It is not full but was made to wait an hour plus before checking in. Did I mention the price? Over priced!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

My husband and I spent 6 nights here in August in between 2 nights in KL and 3 nights in Langkawi. Aside from the beautiful view of the beach from our 'junior suite' window, this hotel really does not meet even the most modest expectations for the cost and supposed 5* rating. Sadly the majority of the skeleton staff are unfriendly and poorly trained. We arrived right at the end of Ramadan so the place was like a ghost town, we literally only saw about 6 guests on the first night and it didn't pick up much, which was probably a good thing given the poor service we received even when it was quiet. The food quality is quite good and well priced, the drinks menu is very limited and fairly expensive compared to the tax free prices we later encountered in Langkawi. Everything is generally unwelcoming, even down to the fact that you have to get a card from reception to then exchange with a man in a hut by the pool to get a towel, which you then also have to sign for. The whole process is laughable and bordering offensive, particularly given that the towels are so old and rough I would even use them on a dog! The poolside loungers also have ancient old and stained rubber covers on them, not pleasant. The infinity pool is nice, but it is not meant for children, yet on more than one occasion there were plenty in there, despite them having a separate pool they are meant to use.
The only reason to stay here would be the close proximity to the Sarawak Cultural Village, which is worth a visit, but otherwise, Kuching would be a more practical base, since all the trips are closer to there and it will save you a lot of money for taxis or shuttlebus (which is also overpriced).
Our room was also as basic as it gets, despite it costing around £150 per night (which included an early bookin discount, without which the price would have been more like £200). There was a little mould in the bathroom and a couple of tatty patches of carpet - simply not good enough and more what I would expect of an 18-30s budget 2*, sadly.

Room Tip: I would not stay here again - stay in Kuching, or just by-pass Sarawak altogether, I hear that Sabah...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The only reason why I'm not rating this hotel as "terrible" is that the landscaping and scenery is lovely. We were here during the peak holiday period and the staff just couldn't handle it. The front office staff were inefficient and unfriendly, the housekeeping couldn't cope and the food at breakfast was just horrible. The recreation department charged us for the rental of the table tennis equipment which in the first place, we never rented. In all fairness, the staff were short handed and badly trained. That's the management's fault.

The bed sheets weren't particularly clean and the rooms were sandy. A few members of our group had allergic reactions after a swim in one of the pools.

If you do stay here, I would suggest you eat at the nearby Damai Central.

Room Tip: Pool side rooms in the main building towards the spa are quiet and have a nice scenery
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sibu, malaysia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is my second time staying in this hotel, but i think i will not stay here for the 3rd time. Recently we paid RM400++ for a Rainforest Deluxe Room during the Raya holiday for one night. When we just reached the security gate, the security told me there is no booking under my name. I was shocked to hear that cos i personally booked and given my credit card number as confirmation. Hence, we were asked to go up to the lobby to check on our own. Then, there is a super long wait at the check-in counter as the hotel is fully booked on that day. I have waited at least 1 hour for my turn to check in. Luckily the receptionist is able to retrieve my booking. Then, when we checked in to the room, there is no extra bed that we had requested in our booking, and not even a single bath towel in the room. We have to wait for another 1 hour before the extra bed was sent to us. The toilet is mouldy, and sandy, and the showerhead is not functioning well. By the time we hit the pool, it was already 5pm, and within half an hour, thunderstorm came. The environment is not well maintained, you can see bird droppings and nests at the staircase and no staff seems to bother about the droppings judging from the height of the droppings stacked up at the corner. The lifts do not seem to work. At night, due to the heavy rain, we were unable to dine out, hence we had our dinner at their in house restaurant. We are the first customer who arrive at the restaurant, and yet we need to wait for 1 hour to have our food served. The food is just average, not impressive at all. We should have gone out for dinner at damai central despite the heavy rain. For those who still wish to visit this property, wish you all luck.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Damai Puri Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damai Puri Resort & Spa

Address: Teluk Penyuk Santubong | PO Box 3058, Kuching 93762 , Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kuching
#4 Spa Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Damai Puri Resort & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fronting Damai Beach at the foot of Mount Santubong in Kuching, Malaysia, Damai Puri Resort & Spa spans 207 elegant guestrooms, and boasts a Spa Village, 600-capacity ballroom, exhaustive recreation facilities, tennis courts, and 5 gourmet restaurants. It also hosts numerous activities for kids, couples, leisure travelers, and big groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Damai Puri Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Damai Puri Resort And Spa
Damai Puri Hotel Kuching
Damai Puri Resort & Spa Kuching, Sarawak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Damai Puri Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.