We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not 5 star as advertised” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Damai Puri Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Damai Puri Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Damai Puri Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Teluk Penyuk Santubong | PO Box 3058, Kuching 93762 , Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 48 Hotels in Kuching
Kuching, Sarawak
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Not 5 star as advertised”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

This resort is nothing near 5 star. Do not be fooled by the photos on the website. The room that I stayed has a lot of ants crawling from outside of the room into the bathroom. There were a lot of flies when I went there and was told it was fly season so do not go in august. Breakfast was very bad. I honestly could not believe a 5 star resort serving this kind of breakfast. There isn't much choice. Just dun expect much from it. Some positive points - nice clean beach, adult and children pool, scuba diving, kayaking/canoeing, table tennis, etc. Some do require some rental fees. I won't recommend here unless I have no choice.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    56
    65
    59
    49
See reviews for
83
94
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Just come back from a great holiday in Sarawak. 4 Night in Kuching and then 4 in Damai, three of these at the Damai Puri. The great things about the Damai Puri is it is clean, well looked after and the staff were pleasant. It was easy to get a sun lounger and the pool was never very busy.This was all possible because there were not many guests.

Unfortunately at night this was an issue, the restaurants (although having very nice food) were nearly always empty and the the bar rarely had more than two to four guests in it. This meant the atmosphere was a little lacking. However the staff went out of their way to make up for this, especially Arthur, the bar man. At one point we were the only guests in the bar and he struck up a conversation with us. For the next two hours he told us story after story about the life of the local Bornean people and explained how their lives are changing in the face of increasing industry and tourism. It was incredible and it really made our stay!

Thanks Arthur!

Other ideas for the area: Go to the rainforest cafe, do the Santabong base walk or if you are fit do the summit walk. Beware though the summit is difficult involving mulitple rope ladders and a constant incline on the walk up

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We had booked through Agoda to stay here for 4 nights. On arrival the hotel seemed nice, in a very nice location on the beach but quite far from anything, about 45mins-1hr away from the airport. It was holidays while we were there and was really quite busy. The hotel would have been nice when it opened 20 years ago, but now is quite old and run down. I found the staff to be very unhelpful and not very pleasant at all. The worst thing about the hotel would have to be the food, pretty much unedible and the breakfast buffet, if you aren't there early don't bother they won't refill anything. We were soo dissappointed, before the first night was over we had decided we weren't going to stay the whole trip and when enquired about cancelling our last 2 nights they said they can't refund it and we would have to contact Agoda, so we emailed agoda who then came back to us and said the hotel refuses to refund the remaining 2 nights. All in all the whole experience at the hotel was horrible and i would not recommend it at all. And if you do choose to still stay here, eat at the food village next door, or you may never return.

Room Tip: my tip for choosing a room, is choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
294 helpful votes 294 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Huge, mostly empty hotel (except weekends). Lovely pool and beach area and great views from balcony. Breakfast standard. 45 mins from Kuching or airport. This hotel has so much potential, if only it was better maintained!! Just a little care would make all the difference. Try the Rainforest Cafe, hidden amongst trees at end of beach.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room to get a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

I joined some friends at Damai Puri Beach Resort and I was already prepared not to find an amazing place after reading some of the reviews on TripAdvisor.
The resort is really big and actually nothing special for the price you have to pay. 
Food at the restaurants inside the resort is really not recommendable and service is very slow. I also saw how the staff cleans the dishes and cutlery during breakfast and I can say that cleanliness seems not to be a big concern for them.

Room size is good, but not very clean, especially bedsheets.

If you like to visit Kuching or do some excursions to the caves, long houses or Semenggoh Orangutan Reserve, then consider that Damai Puri is far from everything and all the excursions from there will cost more. I anyway recommend to book the excursions in Kuching instead of at the resort, beause it is cheaper.

To book a cab you have to ask the reception, but they will charge you more because you do not have any alternative option. 

If you like to enjoy the beach, Damai Puri is the best location, but during my stay both beach and pool were overcrowded and not pleasant at all!

The Spa village is quite ok, but the therapists can barely speak english. You need to know exactly which treatment you like, because it is very difficult to receive any information.

In general staff is not very helpful, but fortunately we spent most of the time outside the resort!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I really wanted to like the hotel, but unfortunately I am not able to give a good review. It's a gorgeous location - right on the ocean and in front of a beautiful mountain. However, the hotel is in major need of an upgrade, and service was inconsistent. For the price, I definitely expected more and have been to other hotels for similar price ranges that offer a much better experience. The hotel offers bare minimum - an extra towel is a charge, no lotion, no albility to buy necessities like bug spray, toothpaste, etc.

That being said, here is a fantastic team called Aqua Base on the resort that I highly recommend. They really made our whole trip - they offer snorkeling, diving and river/ocean cruises. Ang is he head diver and super nice and great with younger and inexperienced swimmers. If it wasn't for Aqua Base and their team, I would have left the hotel after the first night.

Go in with lowered expectations, but looking for a gorgeous location and a great opportunity to spend time on the ocean with the Aqua Base team.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights at the end of a two and a half week trip to Sarawak. Great place to finish off the trip. Had great views from the balcony looking over the pool and ocean - its worth getting the slightly more expensive room.
Pool is great. Staff were very friendly. The Ku restaurant was great. For some reason we were about the only one's eating in there, but we had the best meals we'd had on our whole trip.
The bed was comfortable. There were leaks from the air conditioning and some lights not working. We told staff, but nothing was done - not a big deal to us, but some would complain loudly.
There was also no information in the hotel room at all. Nothing to say what restaurants were open and where they were - this is probably why there was hardly anyone in the best restaurant in the hotel. Nothing about tours, nothing about the dive centre and the other things they offer. We went snorkeling with Eng at the dive centre and had a great day out - but don't forget to take some food with you. We also did an evening river trip and paddled her blow up kayaks. The place next door has some decent plastic kayaks and also hired bikes. We hired bikes for a couple of hours and had a very hilly ride to the village. Would definitely go back, but don't set your expectations too high.

Room Tip: Go for the ocean veiw rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Damai Puri Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damai Puri Resort & Spa

Address: Teluk Penyuk Santubong | PO Box 3058, Kuching 93762 , Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kuching
#4 Spa Hotel in Kuching
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Damai Puri Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fronting Damai Beach at the foot of Mount Santubong in Kuching, Malaysia, Damai Puri Resort & Spa spans 207 elegant guestrooms, and boasts a Spa Village, 600-capacity ballroom, exhaustive recreation facilities, tennis courts, and 5 gourmet restaurants. It also hosts numerous activities for kids, couples, leisure travelers, and big groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Damai Puri Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Damai Puri Hotel Kuching
Damai Puri Resort And Spa
Damai Puri Resort & Spa Kuching, Sarawak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Damai Puri Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.