We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome, gorgeous property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Village House

Save Saved
You added The Village House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Village House
3.5 of 5 Guest house   |   Off Jalan Pantai Puteri, Kpg. Santubong | Santubong Peninsula, Kuching 93756, Malaysia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 69 Kuching B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome, gorgeous property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

After 3 nights in Mulu, this is were we stopped and spent 2 nights at their 'Rajah' room. The place is absolutely beautiful. Everything is tastefully done, each artifact in the room and around the property seems to be handpicked and placed here with a purpose. Someone took great pains in building, decorating and running this place. The service is impeccable and food is delectable! Our initial plan was to stay in Kuching city and be close to some of the places we needed to visit. Glad we decided to stay at the The Village house instead - which is about 45 minutes from the Airport. It is also only 45 minutes from Bako National park and 5 minutes from the Sarawak Cultural Village.

Room Tip: Choose the Rajah Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    24
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
12
74
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leipzig, Germany
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

The Village House describes itself a luxury homestay, although I would call it a lodge. It's not a hotel and the property is rather small, but really cosy. This is the real place if you seek a quiet and relaxing time.
It is located in Kampung Santubong, a muslim village between Kuching and Damai Beach. The food ist really great, although a bit expensive, (most dishes are from 18 to 55 RM), alcohol is expensive as everywhere in Malaysia, although we found that beer is reasonably priced.
There are no other restaurants in the vicinity, but you may try the basic cafes and foodstalls in Santubong village, indeed you should try it just for the experience. For a visit to the village please wear respectful clothing. This visit, by the way, is a must. People are most friendly and you'll have to say hello a few dozen times.
The Village House staff is extremely friendly as well and provided us a warm welcome. The also managed everything we needed to be done - transfer, taxi, tours and so on. It's somewhat like a family. We stayed here for 10 nights and saw quite a lot of people come and go. We have no explanation why most of them came only for 2 nights which didn't allow them to experience the real Village House calmness.
I have to note the this calmness is somewhat reduced if the Village House gets full, which happened at the weekend. Although there is enough space for all this decreased the quiet atmosphere of the VH.
Some people asked us what the hell we would do HERE for TEN DAYS. Maybe they had a feeling of being in the nowhere, far from the world. But you'll never run out of things to do and see in Borneo. And yes, it is somewhat true, if you really want it you MAY feel like being far from the world.
The beach can be reached by walking in three minutes. It is not suitable for sunbathing and/or swimming, but for wandering along, watching mud crabs and mudskippers (go for the small stream to the sea some 300 meters north ) and watching the sunset. Be aware that during times of low tide the sea may be some hundred meters away.
VH provides free WIFI and a library which also serves as a TV room. Note that the twin rooms are - as far as we have seen - not equipped with mosquito nets. Whenever you come, bring mosquito repellent with you, at times there are only few mosquitoes, but there may be plenty as well.
As said before, the Village House is a real great place.
Come here if you seek rest and peace, don't come here if you cannot live without nightlife. Come here if you want excellent food and service with a smile. Don't come here if you don't mind bothering other guests by boozing, laughing and talking all the night long.
Come here if you respect the locals, don't come here if you're disturbed by the muezzin's call for prayer from the mosques.
Come here for a great time, don't come here if you feel the urge to bring your work with you.
Come here if you don't want to be locked up in a resort!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antwerp
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

This is where we finished our trip through Sarawak. In this nice hotel we were able to get some rest after we visited the Mulu Caves. The meals were very good, the wine also. We had a Rajah Room, so we had space for ten. This is the place to end a fantastic vacation.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hengelo, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Beautiful relaxing place! Spend two night here to enjoy doing nothing! And this is a great place to do so. Staff extremely friendly!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Germany
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

We've just stayed 2 nights at the Village House and enjoyed it a lot. The rooms, common areas, like the restaurant and the pool area are very tasteful and absolutely clean. The rooms all have a/c and mosquito nets and a nice bathroom. The staff is friendly and helpful and we enjoyed to have the place basically to ourselves.

The food is a bit more expensive then in Kuching, but the price is fair and the (Asian) food is good. The beach, however, is not really inviting. So if you are looking for some beach days, don't come here. If you are looking for a quiet, beautiful place to unwind and relax and swim in the pool, come here.

Patrick and Lynn, the managers are super friendly and always helpful. You can easily arrange a wild life cruise to see Irrawady dolphins and probosics monkeys from the Village House.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Village House was a great way to start our vacation in Borneo. We arrived after 24 straight hours of travel and stepped into their little world of comfort and luxury. Not what we expected for Borneo! We spent 3 nights and we always had excellent food. It was a very pleasant and relaxing atmosphere, with very friendly and helpful staff. We booked the Rajah Room and we recommend it as it gives a bit more privacy plus the back deck is great. The room was very well appointed and comfortable. It was the kind of place where you don't mind just hanging out (and we're not really the type to just hang out). Only gripe is the air conditioning didn't work very well, and it was quite hot most of the time, but the powerful ceiling fan makes up for it if you shove the mosquito netting out of the way. Highly recommended. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

The rooms set on stilts around the long pool looked great during the day and fantastic at night when lit up. This was a perfect place to relax and unwind after a week of travelling...the breakfasts and dinners were amazing as was our room overlooking the frangipani lined pool area. The various chill out areas were put to good use when i wasn't in the pool.

Room Tip: Those overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Village House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village House

Address: Off Jalan Pantai Puteri, Kpg. Santubong | Santubong Peninsula, Kuching 93756, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Village House 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden down a dusty track, just 100metres from the beach in the friendly village of Santubong, The Village House offers the tranquility and service that most travelers crave. The traditional Malay-style stilted rooms and the many chill out areas are decorated using local materials and Sarawakian handicrafts, and this together with the warm and friendly staff ensures that you too feel the welcoming hospitality for which Sarawak is famous. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Village House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village House Hotel Kuching
The Village House Kuching, Sarawak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Village House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.