We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Discerning travellers beware!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Permai Rainforest Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Permai Rainforest Resort to your Saves list
Permai Rainforest Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Teluk Penyu, Kuching 93050, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in Kuching
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Discerning travellers beware!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2009

Where to start - the smelly room, the poor service, the noise, the awful food? This is truly one of the worst places in which I have ever had the misfortune to stay. We got to the lodge and all was dark and appeared closed up (I had emailed with our late night arrival time and was told someone would be there). The place is remote, so we had no choice but to traipse through jungle trails in the dark and hope for the best. Eventaully found a member of staff. As he showed is in he said that the national badminton team had also checked in, and were on a "mental strengthening weekend", so "don't worry" if we hear loud noises as they aren't allowed to sleep tonight so speakers have been installed everywhere to play loud music. I thought it was a joke, but sure enough there was loud (and terrible) music playing throughout both nights we stayed. Anyway, back to our arrival. As we ascended the stairs to the treehouse I felt ticklish ... by the time we got to the door I had hundreds of ants all over my hands and arms! They were inside too, dead and alive on the pillows and sheets. The bedding smelled as though it had been left festering in a wet heap in a washing machine for a few days (I've stayed in many places in the rainforest that naturally smelled a bit of damp, but this was gross). The food was abysmal. I am admittedly picky, but my husband who can (and does) happily eat just about anything was equally unimpressed. There is a reason they make you pay in advance at this place ...

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    122
    38
    13
    14
See reviews for
97
132
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2009

Nestled in the rainforest is this perfectly eco-friendly resort.
We stayed in one of the tree houses, which are wonderful equipped and all have a balcony facing the ocean.
Unknown birds wake you up in the morning, monkey are visiting in the late afternoon.
Wonderful jungle walks, two deserted little beaches, a nice open air restaurant and a natural pool -feed from a mountain stream - making this a really unique place away from it all.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2009

I stayed here with my partner late 2008 in one of the tree houses (can't comment on the cabins/other accommodation - sorry!) This place won't be for everyone, particularly not those looking for luxurious pampering.. but if you like something different... read on.

The tree houses were awesome, super cool air conditioning, set into the rainforest canopy - a great size with a beautiful balcony over looking the ocean. There are two beaches close by, a refreshing 'jungle pool' (cool fresh water from the rainforest). There are lovely walks through the rainforest and the Sarawak Cultural village is walking distance - we also saw little monkeys which hung around the vines near the reception. You can organise all your 'day trips' to pick you up from here - including Bako national park, and orangutangs... It was low season when we were there and the food at the restaurant was average.. however, there are two other resorts just around the corner that you can easily walk to for some variety.

If you want somthing a bit different, and are looking for some seclusion - you will love this place!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2009

Sometimes, you just can't trust the reviews. We were sceptical of Permai before booking, but took a chance anyway. The treehouse was a great experience with tremendous views of the ocean, a neat and tidy room and a bathroom that sure beats mine at home.
It sounds like the cabins are not as good, based on some of these other reviews. Regardless, it was a very nice place and I look forward to coming back.

Stayed December 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Northwest
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2008

This is a gorgeous seafront eco-resort on the island of Borneo in Sarawak state. For only $35/night, we stayed in a treehouse 3 storeys in the air. And this treehouse had A/C, electricity, ensuite bath, even a wetbar! After 2 weeks of rough hiking through Borneo, this was a wonderful pampering place.

The grounds of this resort have a wonderful hiking/adventure course with a waterfall, and a verrrry cold naturally fed spring pool...or just swim in the South China Sea. The only restaurant is the onsite outdoor cafe, serving pretty good Malaysian fare.

Highly recommend.

  • Liked — Fabulous treehouse accommodation
  • Disliked — Kind of isolated
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Western Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2008

Permai Rainforest Resort is brilliant!
Best place I went to in Sarawak. We stayed in a treehouse and it was a delight. High up in the forest canopy, and right next to the ocean. The view from our balcony was superb, across the sea. There were monkeys and birds right next to us, and no need for aircon at night as you can open up all the windows (screened) to let the breeze through.
The place was clean, tidy and well equipped.
The staff were friendly and helpful, but not creepy fake nice like they are in some of the bigger resorts. I got the impression they really cared about this place.

They kept the grounds and local forest neat and litter-free.
The jungle trails are a delight - complete with a waterfall, rope bridge and several streams. It all feels very authentic.
And to the reviewer who said the forest walk freaked their kids . . What? What kind of kids are these? Sure, there are big ants, and monkeys, and thick vegetation. It's a rainforest. Not a theme park. What were you expecting - Disneyworld?

If you want a taste of the equatorial rainforest - this is the place to go. I'd recomend it to anyone who wants to avoid the big bland boring resorts down the road. Five stars!

  • Liked — Natural feel of the rainforest
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2008

My family arrived at this resort after visiting Bako and also an Iban longhouse in Batang Ai. We are no softies and enjoy being close to nature. However, I was disgusted by the a/c cabin we stayed in at this resort. It was dark, smelly and filthy. There is a big difference between being close to nature (we were more so in Bako and Batang Ai) and being squalid. In remote places it is part and parcel of the experience to have no hot water but when you are just along thebeach from big hotels it adds no charm.

The beaches and surrounding grounds were lovely and the nearby Sarawak Cultural Village unexpectedly brilliant. However, if you choose Permai my advice is to make sure you stay in one of the treehouses or newer non a/c cabins.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Permai Rainforest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Permai Rainforest Resort

Address: Teluk Penyu, Kuching 93050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kuching
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Permai Rainforest Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Permai Rainforest Resort is an eco-resort set in pristine Borneo rainforest located by the beach at the foot of mystical Mount Santubong, Sarawak. Carefully designed to minimize impact on the natural environment, it offers a unique rainforest experience and a variety of activities from dolphin watching to high ropes courses and guided kayaking tours. Just 40 minutes from the Kuching, its an ideal way to experience Borneo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook and TripOnline SA so you can book your Permai Rainforest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Permai Rainforest Hotel Kuching
Permai Rainforest Resort Kuching, Sarawak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Permai Rainforest Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.