We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly Peaceful at Permai” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Permai Rainforest Resort

Save Saved
You added Permai Rainforest Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Permai Rainforest Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Teluk Penyu, Kuching 93050, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 45 hotels in Kuching
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfectly Peaceful at Permai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

We loved our four night stay at Permai. Even though it was raining most of the time, we enjoyed the bliss of the rainforest and the sound of South China Sea waves. The staff are friendly and the cottage is homely The cafe is a good place to chill out and the internet access is mostly good. The buffet breakfast has a great selection and included fresh fruit. The resort is next door to the cultural village and food court.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    110
    31
    10
    13
See reviews for
80
120
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

staying for 3days 2nights. 2 tree house and one cabin.
cafe staff attitude are bad and rude. disappointed breakfast ,lousy breakfast ,only refill when it empty. not much variety . not convenient place, no phone in the room and also cabin, difficult to communicate with reception if any goes wrong. no hawker, no restaurant , unless you want to spend more and eat in the cafe with the lousy food. bed bugs , ants etc on the beds. my son whole legs with all the ants and bed bugs bites .
cabin - dirty and sanding floor, dirt bed sheets. ants, bed bugs, mosquitoes etc. not suitable for family. and not worth of money.
tree house- think like giving children hv gd experience staying in tree hse , but end up gain a lot of bugs bites. this is our first and last stay in permai. will not come back again. this permai not the right choice to stay..regret of choosing it. my advice, pls avoid ..and think twice if u really wanna to choose these resort for your holiday. you will get suffer instead of enjoy. 

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

The Permai Rainforest Resort is a very peculiar hotel, it's not easy to put in a particular category, it is actually in a class of it own.
Firstly, the Permai is more of a destination and an attraction in it's own right rather than a hotel.
Location wise, it is absolutely blessed with the most beautiful slice of beach / rainforest / mountain, Mount Santubong. From the moment you lay eyes on that beach and that beautiful forest you will feel truly blessed!
After quite a bit of research, mostly on Trip Advisor, I was left with the impression that the Permai was located somewhere rather remote, surrounded by mangroves & forest, what in part is absolutely accurate, but also is very accessible, about 45min (depending on traffic) from the Kuching Airport, set taxi fare of 70RM and within 5min walk to the Sarawak Cultural Centre (another must see destination), the Damai Golf Club & Damai Central, a bit of a hub with all the modern facilities including wi fi, convenience stores, cafes, pub, restaurant & a very diverse and well priced food court (simple but yummy!), us, as a family of four had number of times gone there for an evening feed and didn't spend more than 20RM with drinks.
So... you can be as isolated or amongst everything, depending on your style.
If leaving the resort is not your thing and you would like a good feed, than, you are in for a treat. The Rainforest Cafe, located at the Permai, overlooking the beach is great. Very helpful staff, special mention to Sheryl and her great deserts. Do not leave the place without having one of her mousses or her famous apple crumble. These little treats are such a comfort away from home, you will find yourself every night asking for more.
At times the cafe will be very busy, as the Permai caters also for groups, so, perhaps ordering in advance is a good idea.
The accommodation at the cabins is basic, the way to stay at the Permai is MOST definitely the tree houses, but if you are travelling with children, beware the tree houses are strictly for 2 people.They are beautifully built with Malaysian hardwood and just blend in with their surrounds. Be prepared for quite a few steps up as they are tree houses after all. There are no TVs or phones for room service, but they are very comfortable (the best pillows we had in hotels for a while!!!), they have a well appointed en suite, bar fridge & coffee facilities. At night, they are blissfully quite, with only the noise of the ocean and the wind on the tree canopies to break the silence. Bring a good book, or, if with children, make sure you bring a few games and load your tablet with a few movies.
Facilities and activities are very fitted to its location, you have a wonderful beach that changes immensely according to the tides, the water wasn't very clear, but we were told has to do more with the time of the year. The 'second' beach is more recluse and its got its own little stream with a little waterfall that is just amazingly refreshing & rewarding after a 1.5 hour rainforest trekking, which is a MUST too!!!.
On the way back from or to the second beach there is also a natural pool, that constantly flows as it is fed by some of the fresh rainforest streams that run down from Mount Santubong.

Also, as a mother of two teenagers, I must mention the thrills of the high ropes & flying fox. The kids just loved it (Thanks John & Fred for your patience and care). There is also body boards, scuba diving equipment & kayaks for hire at a very reasonable cost. But don't expect noisy motorized rides, this is not the place for those and I hope it will never be!!!
I could go on and on about this place, and I understand that perhaps, is not for everybody as there is nothing luxurious about the Permai, yet, you cannot put a price in been in such place, surrounded by the best that nature can offer!
When I said the travelling stars aligned when we chose to come to the Permai, it wasn't by luck, and surely there's room for improvement, but it is the efforts & special touches of people like Halil (operations manager) & Sheryl (F&B manager) and their teams that makes the Permai this magical place. They'll go out of their way to make your stay a memorable experience.
We booked for 5 days, we wished we could've stayed longer, and we'll certainly come back!

Room Tip: Make sure you stay in the tree houses, or if you're staying in a cabin, make sure you ask for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

The treehouse option is quite enjoyable. They are all next to the sea so you get the sound of waves crashing which is quite nice. You have a view of the sea but through trees.

There is wifi at the restaurant which. The wifi was decent. The food was good to ok. The location was very nice - again in the forest next to the sea, quite a nice environment. It is quite nice to sit on the porch 20 feet up amongst the trees and relax.

There is a nice trail at the resort which is not marked incredibly well but it nice. It seems longer than they say but maybe that is because I lost the trail, I am not sure.

It is a bit expensive, for me, but I think the treehouses are worth it. The cabins I would likely pass on.

You can walk to the other hotel options, the Damai Center (which is a just a couple food stalls, 7-11 and small shops) and the cultural village. Damai Center main value seems to be for locals to have access to the beach as the resorts block off the beach for their guests. The cultural village is worth a visit.

Other reviews were not so kind to the other cabins so I avoided them (I wouldn't have stayed but a treehouse slot opened up just before I visited).

Room Tip: I recommend the treehouses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Our impromptu getaway to Kuching was made even more worthwhile and memorable with our positive experience at the Permai Rainforest Resort, We opted for the treehouse and were very pleased with our decision! The sound of the crashing waves and the amazing view of the beach from an elevated landscape were very soothing to our senses. It was a truly interesting avant-garde experience!

Room Tip: For those who want a change from the conventional hotel experience, go for the treehouse!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Gray langur monkeys were on hand to greet us at arrival which set the tone for our stay; rainforest location was quiet, romantic & with the sound of the nearby sea, very tranquil. We stayed in a Treehouse (highly recommended) which was clean, spacious, comfortable and very relaxing. The surrounding rainforest and resident birds & squirrels plus occasional visits from monkeys added to the ambience. The staff were friendly, helpful & efficient. The café had a decent breakfast plus a good range of tasty & inexpensive choices throughout the rest of the day ('til late). We did the evening mangrove trip (crocodiles, monkeys & fireflies) which was a lot of fun. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Treehouse highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed in one of the tree houses which are very comfortable considering the setting,staying here really does feel like a Robinson Crusoe experience it is right on a beautiful deserted beach with thick rainforest behind the tree houses the restaurant on site is open all day until 10pm and serves simple inexpensive food there is a path through the jungle on the site which is easily accessible and there is lots of wildlife on the site in the time I was there I saw a python, macaques and grey langur monkeys,I would recommend it just for the experience of sleeping so close to the elements it's magical

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Permai Rainforest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Permai Rainforest Resort

Address: Teluk Penyu, Kuching 93050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kuching
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Permai Rainforest Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Permai Rainforest Resort is an eco-resort set in pristine Borneo rainforest located by the beach at the foot of mystical Mount Santubong, Sarawak. Carefully designed to minimize impact on the natural environment, it offers a unique rainforest experience and a variety of activities from dolphin watching to high ropes courses and guided kayaking tours. Just 40 minutes from the Kuching, its an ideal way to experience Borneo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Permai Rainforest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Permai Rainforest Hotel Kuching
Permai Rainforest Resort Kuching, Sarawak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Permai Rainforest Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.