We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can you imagine a storm in a Treehouse?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Permai Rainforest Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Permai Rainforest Resort to your Saves list
Permai Rainforest Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Teluk Penyu, Kuching 93050, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in Kuching
wollongong
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Can you imagine a storm in a Treehouse?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Our visit to the Permai Resort, staying in a Treehouse, was amazing. We really were high in the canopy, and could hear the South China Sea lapping on the rocks below. We were lucky enough to have a tropical storm on our first night, such a great atmosphere on the edge of the jungle. Food at the Rainforest Cafe was excellent, local food served in a modern style. Staff were eager to please.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    122
    38
    13
    14
See reviews for
97
132
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Permai offers one of the best locations in Kuching. It has both the forest and the beach which is ideal for holiday away from the city. Permai has a double-storey cabin which is good for my group of 8 people! Although the booking of this cabin was tedious (you need either a Malaysian bank account e.g. Maybank to do a direct bank transfer or a credit card payment which requires a form to be filled in) and the time taken to arrange was pretty long via email, the arrangement and airport transfer were smooth eventually. Permai has a clean and beautiful beach with pretty sunset; a jungle trail which was really fun with simple obstacles and a waterfall; a jungle pool for swimming; nice clean and simple cabins (there are treehouses too!); and an excellent Rainforest Cafe which serves sumptuous home-cooked food. The price is affordable for the aforementioned but the tours are quite expensive especially the boat trips which we did not take in the end. We did canoeing instead which was fun! We even had a BBQ on our last night and the Cafe arranged everything for us and the food was great! The cafe manager was really helpful and advised us a lot on our BBQ and even went to our BBQ pit (Cabana) to ensure that everything is in order. Overall, a very fun and exciting trip with many activities to do and most importantly a great place to relax!

Room Tip: If you are travelling in twos, choose the treehouse! if in a big group, get a double-storey cabin!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here in a double room treehouse. The views of the sea are unbeatable and being right in the jungle itself whilst still having luxuries was a great experience. The staff are more than happy to arrange boat trips, etc., although these weren't the cheapest. I suspect this is because of the lack of competition in the area. Same goes for the restaurant - we only stayed a few days so were happy to eat there the whole time, but if you were staying longer you'd probably want to investigate some options further afield. The starting point for climbing Mount Santubong was about a half an hour walk away which was a great day out.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

8 of us bunk into a double storey cabin. The initial feel of the resort wasn't exactly impressive as it was a bit different from what we had expected. The people, the food as well as bringing ourselves back into nature changed our experience. We did a short 2 hrs jungle trail ourselves and manage to catch a waterfall that we could walked up really close. The journey was worthed it and we enjoyed ourselves. The staff were friendly and helpful in preparation, we ordered BBQ and guessed that made some difference to our stay. We especially loved the chicken wings that were nicely marinated. Finally a good relaxing day on the beach with some kayaking to a nearby shore gave us good view of mount santubong. A well spent and relaxing trip indeed.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chengdu, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

First of all I have to say that we made a great choice going for Permai Rainforest instead of the Damai Beach Resort. I called both on the same day and Damai told me that we would have to pay 38RM per day for the wifi, and the wifi only works at the reception. Well I didn't like the sound of it. So I called Permai and the nice young lady on the phone told me that they still have treehouse available for two nights. We were thrilled because all the booking sites had shown the treehouse were fully booked. We took the shuttle bus from Hotel Grant Margrita and 50 mins later we arrived this reception set back in the jungle. Check-in was fast and we were given the Treehouse No.1, the closest to the restraurant. The interior was lovely, equipped with everything we needed. We had a little but nice view on a beach and sea. It was so relaxing sitting on the terrace. The restaurant was nice, decent food at reasonable price, and an amazing view. Wifi is only available at the restaurant but that is all we needed. The resort on the left looked pretty dead, I would recommend Permai to everyone who goes to the Damai beach for the peacefulness.

Room Tip: Take the treehouse if going as a couple!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

After leaving ones car in the car park at the very end of the Damai peninsular one is faced with quite a long walk along a board walk through rainforest to the accommodation area , baggage can be transported for you , It was fascinating to be so quickly enveloped in jungle , to hear the noises of animals , and for me to see snakes frogs and monkeys within minutes of entering.I had booked months in advance so was lucky to have a tree house to stay in , they are set in the forest overlooking the ocean , they are pretty high and one needs to be fit , also a bit lonely on ones own , a honeymooners delight . there are many little coves to swim , safe and all to yourself , an excellent restaurant with good food reasonably priced , an evening spent sitting in the restaurant watching the sun setting over the South China sea is a moment to remember . A wonderful place for all those stalwart travelers who do not mind a little inconvenience .

Room Tip: Book early for the tree house .
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Great setting in the rainforest, the treehouses look pretty cool but unfortunately these were all booked up so we stayed in a cabin. This was very basic and reminded us a bit of a Guide Hut. It was quite dirty and looked like it could do with a spruce up, although we did have a very friendly lizard in our bathroom. The cabin had no AC only fans and the mosquito screens and windows did not close properly. The cafe is in. A great location with a lovey terrace and views. The food is cheap and tasty and there is a good range available. Willing to provide packed breakfasts and lunches, but even if you tell them what you want you might not get it! There is also a nice beach and the evening mangrove tour is worth the expense. Staff are all very friendly but not always that helpful, for example we booked and paid for a transfer to the airport only to turn up to find there was no one there to drive - in the end the chef had to take us in her friends car! Although the setting is lovely, it is about 45 minutes from Kuching and an hour from the airport. They do have a shuttle service but it is difficult to book so they recommend private taxis. These are quite expensive so be prepared to pay if you want to leave the resort, eg about £20 one way to Semenggoh orangutan reserve or Bako National park. However, there is an independent shuttle service to and from Kuching for only 10RM per person.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Permai Rainforest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Permai Rainforest Resort

Address: Teluk Penyu, Kuching 93050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kuching
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Permai Rainforest Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Permai Rainforest Resort is an eco-resort set in pristine Borneo rainforest located by the beach at the foot of mystical Mount Santubong, Sarawak. Carefully designed to minimize impact on the natural environment, it offers a unique rainforest experience and a variety of activities from dolphin watching to high ropes courses and guided kayaking tours. Just 40 minutes from the Kuching, its an ideal way to experience Borneo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and EasyToBook so you can book your Permai Rainforest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Permai Rainforest Hotel Kuching
Permai Rainforest Resort Kuching, Sarawak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Permai Rainforest Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.